G Coding

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Jim Bullis

Neville Bastian
Guru Member
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry

G Coding

Post by Neville Bastian »

When I bought my Thermwood last year I was given a few Gcode programs like cutting circles for vanity basins, flycutting the sheets and what we call here mason mitres for postformed counter tops. My Aussie Thermwood sales man did promise me a few more programs but he went out of business halfway through the install process. Thus I missed out on these programs.
Is there a set of programs that Thermwood give out as standard? Can they be downloaded?

Could we not have a section in the forum which is a bit like when you share Ecabinets design where we could share Gcode programs that we have written. I probably won't be adding many in because I am not that good at writing the programs but others are really talented. Some may like to share their pride and joys?

Could the powers to be, think about setting this up? Maybe they could vet the programs first then upload them for us. If the creators name is on the program we could then shoot of a thank you note. I would be quite willing to pay for the program or maybe the creator has a favourite charity he likes to support that we voluntary send funds to.

Just a thought that may allow us to make more efficient use of the thermwood.
Regards

Neville
Neville Australia
Paul Ford
eCabinets Beta Tester

Re: G Coding

Post by Paul Ford »

Hi Neville,
Doug wrote all those programs himself, there were quite a few other ones that he had been working on for quite some time. I have copies of most of them but don't have access to them anymore as I lost the CD...
However, the Gcode sharing section sounds like a fantastic idea!
Ryan Hochgesang

Post by Ryan Hochgesang »

Hey everyone,