x axis error

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

Alex Bowler
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon, Mar 26 2012, 10:40PM
Company Name: cutshop
Country: NEW ZEALAND

x axis error

Postby Alex Bowler » Thu, Jul 26 2012, 5:09PM

Hi could anyone let me know why i am getting an x axis error on this file ?
Attachments
x axis.zip
(1.96 MiB) Downloaded 119 times

Dennis Englert

Re: x axis error

Postby Dennis Englert » Fri, Jul 27 2012, 9:35AM

I believe that if you change your fixture offset of G901 to G52L1 for the popup pins associated with the corner of your sheet, it will work. I do not get an out-of-bounds error on any axes, but I'm using the desktop version of the control.


Dennis

Alex Bowler
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon, Mar 26 2012, 10:40PM
Company Name: cutshop
Country: NEW ZEALAND

Re: x axis error

Postby Alex Bowler » Sun, Jul 29 2012, 3:31PM

Hi,

I thought i already had it set to use G52L1, i am still learning g code but i though that this section of code referenced
the fixture offset G52L1 and set material dimensions.

SET ZSHIFT=18.0000
[ADJFIXOFF, 1, -2420.0000]
[ADJFIXOFF, 2, -1215.0001]
G52L1
[CLSQCP]
[SETQCPPOS(0)]
[QCP ON]
[SETQCPRANGE(100)]

Is there another setting that i should change as well ?

User avatar
Brad McIntosh
Guru Member
Posts: 480
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 6:59PM
Company Name: CNC Automation
Location: St. Zotique, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: x axis error

Postby Brad McIntosh » Sun, Jul 29 2012, 9:31PM

What are the X and Y coordinates recorded in entry # 1 in the Fixture Offset Table on the machine? Do they correspond to the coordinates of the corner of your table closest to the pop-up pins?

Alex Bowler
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon, Mar 26 2012, 10:40PM
Company Name: cutshop
Country: NEW ZEALAND

Re: x axis error

Postby Alex Bowler » Wed, Aug 01 2012, 6:40PM

Hi

Yes the co ordinates for fixture offset 1 are 3670.5 x 2152 y which is the corner closest to pop up pins.

User avatar
Brad McIntosh
Guru Member
Posts: 480
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 6:59PM
Company Name: CNC Automation
Location: St. Zotique, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: x axis error

Postby Brad McIntosh » Thu, Aug 02 2012, 7:48AM

Alex,

  • Your program has MAX X position of for T1 (Outline tool) of 2414.7649 mm
  • If your G51L1 has a X component of 3670.5 mm
  • And your X Axis Adjust (Shift) is -2420

Assuming you are using a 1/2" tool (~12.7 mm dia) then the cutter compensation would shift this MAX X to an actual position of 2,421.1149 mm (2414.7649+6.35) as it went around the parts at the end of the sheet.

This would put the center of the tool 1.1149 mm (2,421.1149-2420) past the pop-up pins at an MACHINE absolute X axis position of 3,671.6149 mm.

You need to check what your absolute limit is for your X axis. (Check the OUT LIMITS.)

Alex Bowler
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon, Mar 26 2012, 10:40PM
Company Name: cutshop
Country: NEW ZEALAND

Re: x axis error

Postby Alex Bowler » Thu, Aug 02 2012, 3:08PM

Hi thanks for your help were can i check out limits?

Alex Bowler
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon, Mar 26 2012, 10:40PM
Company Name: cutshop
Country: NEW ZEALAND

Re: x axis error

Postby Alex Bowler » Thu, Aug 02 2012, 3:54PM

Hi

I think i found them:

Inlimit
x-200.9140
y-0.2540
z-0.2540

Outlimit
x 3670.5540
y 2527.5540
z 246.6340

We use a 9.52mm router bit as well, are these limits set correctly?


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest