91000 G2 Supercontrol Monitor

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1262
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

91000 G2 Supercontrol Monitor

Postby Josh Rayburn » Tue, Sep 04 2012, 6:36AM

Are there any special considerations for replacing the existing monitor that came with our controller?
Must it be replaced with an identical monitor, or would it work with anything that fits in the box?
jnr
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

User avatar
Gerry A Brown
Senior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri, May 27 2005, 8:56AM
Company Name: Old Style Woodwork
Country: CANADA
Location: Southern Alberta

Re: 91000 G2 Supercontrol Monitor

Postby Gerry A Brown » Thu, Sep 06 2012, 9:52AM

Hi Josh,

We are running a 2007 CS45 & our machine has only VGA outputs as I recall the last time I had the box open. If you open it up & look where the display connects to the video card you can see what type of ports are available. DVI is more common these days . Hear is a page with the connector types explained with photos.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_video_connectors
I think that the connector and the size say should be the only concern.

Gerry

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1262
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: 91000 G2 Supercontrol Monitor

Postby Josh Rayburn » Thu, Sep 06 2012, 10:17AM

Thanks Gerry, I did check it out and it is indeed a VGA connector which I expected - our old girl might have been around before DVI and dual-link and all this other modern stuff.....I was mostly worried about dust getting inside the cabinet more than anything else, and with all the other important stuff "under the hood" it was worth asking :)
jnr
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

User avatar
Gerry A Brown
Senior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri, May 27 2005, 8:56AM
Company Name: Old Style Woodwork
Country: CANADA
Location: Southern Alberta

Re: 91000 G2 Supercontrol Monitor

Postby Gerry A Brown » Thu, Sep 06 2012, 11:23AM

Hi Josh,

I know what you mean about asking first. I have learned enough lessons the other way :roll:
You didn't try to squeeze one of those new 27" displays in there :joker:

Gerry

FredHirsch
Senior Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Tue, Oct 03 2006, 6:51PM
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: 91000 G2 Supercontrol Monitor

Postby FredHirsch » Thu, Sep 06 2012, 1:44PM

Josh,
Just went through this. Any monitor that will fit will work fine. I wound up buying from Thermwood, but even they suggested hitting an electronics store in town.
Fred
Fred Hirsch

Rick Palechuk
Wizard Member
Posts: 1896
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 7:54PM
Company Name: Milltech Millworks Ltd.
Country: CANADA
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Re: 91000 G2 Supercontrol Monitor

Postby Rick Palechuk » Thu, Sep 06 2012, 2:26PM

Josh, you can get an adapter for VGA to DVI.

User avatar
Gerry A Brown
Senior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri, May 27 2005, 8:56AM
Company Name: Old Style Woodwork
Country: CANADA
Location: Southern Alberta

Re: 91000 G2 Supercontrol Monitor

Postby Gerry A Brown » Thu, Sep 06 2012, 3:20PM

I thought you could adapt DVI to VGA but not VGA to DVI?

Gerry

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1262
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: 91000 G2 Supercontrol Monitor

Postby Josh Rayburn » Fri, Sep 07 2012, 6:40AM

You're right Gerry, there are adapters available for DVI-VGA.
As it turns out the monitor wasn't the problem anyways, so I guess I'll stick with my phosphor-burned CRT until I have to change it. :)
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests