Problem with cuts

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: ProSource of Amarillo
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Problem with cuts

Postby Kerry Fullington » Tue, Oct 09 2012, 8:36AM

This problem started yesterday

2012-10-08 17.23.56.jpg


Cuts start at the correct place then move on the Y axis about 3/32 making the parts too small. It also raises the Z axis when it moves in leaving a 3/32" skin.

This happens on the top of the parts in viewing them from the machine fence.

This also happened on files written by PanelMetrix

2012-10-08 14.38.08.jpg


Need Help as soon as possible.

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1262
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: Problem with cuts

Postby Josh Rayburn » Tue, Oct 09 2012, 9:19AM

Kerry can you post that code file?
jnr
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: ProSource of Amarillo
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: Problem with cuts

Postby Kerry Fullington » Tue, Oct 09 2012, 12:34PM

Josh,

Here is the CNC file and a Control Nesting Export.
Attachments
Dixon.zip
(439.9 KiB) Downloaded 118 times

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1262
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: Problem with cuts

Postby Josh Rayburn » Tue, Oct 09 2012, 12:41PM

Kerry, are ALL parts affected or just a few?
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1262
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: Problem with cuts

Postby Josh Rayburn » Tue, Oct 09 2012, 1:00PM

Kerry,
All the code I'm looking at seems correct to me. I don't see anything in the outline code that asks the router to move up and leave that skin. I also don't see anything other than rectangles with straight edges and the typical humps for the side tenons. I reverse plotted the first sheet of code to verify and I see nothing unusual, and certainly nothing that looks like the picture you posted.
I didn't load up the export because if the code is correct then I didn't see the need to check anything in CN.

You will have to contact TWD Machine Support I'm afraid - the number is 1-800-221-3865 in case you need it.

I'd be interested to hear what the problem is. We've had some pretty strange things happen with our router, but I haven't seen that one.
Sorry I can't be of any help -
jnr
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1262
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: Problem with cuts

Postby Josh Rayburn » Tue, Oct 09 2012, 1:18PM

Ooooooohh I spoke to soon

Starting at Line# 1602 -

G01Z-0.2500F150.00
G01X27.5028Y3.9403Z-0.6600F500
G01X27.5028Y4.9403Z-0.6600F500
G01X27.5028Y4.9403Z-0.6600F500
G01X27.5028Y4.9403Z-0.6600F500
G01X27.5028Y4.9403Z-0.6600F500
G01X27.5028Y4.9403Z-0.6600F500
G01X27.5028Y4.9403Z-0.6600F500
G01X26.7826Y4.9403Z-0.6600F500
G01X26.7826Y4.9403Z-0.6500F500
G01X26.2231Y4.9403Z-0.6500F500
G01X26.2231Y4.9403Z-0.6600F500
G01X19.1176Y4.9403Z-0.6600F500
G01X19.1176Y4.9403Z-0.6500F500
G01X18.5581Y4.9403Z-0.6500F500
G01X18.5581Y4.9403Z-0.6600F500
G01X6.4526Y4.9403Z-0.6600F500
G01X6.4526Y4.9403Z-0.6500F500
G01X5.8931Y4.9403Z-0.6500F500
G01X5.8931Y4.9403Z-0.6600F500
G01X5.1728Y4.9403Z-0.6600F500
G01X5.1728Y0.9403Z-0.6600F500
G01X5.8931Y0.9403Z-0.6600F500
G01X5.8931Y0.9403Z-0.6500F500
G01X6.4526Y0.9403Z-0.6500F500
G01X6.4526Y0.9403Z-0.6600F500
G01X26.2231Y0.9403Z-0.6600F500
G01X26.2231Y0.9403Z-0.6500F500
G01X26.7826Y0.9403Z-0.6500F500
G01X26.7826Y0.9403Z-0.6600F500
G01X27.5028Y0.9403Z-0.6600F500
G01X27.5028Y3.9403Z-0.6600F500

now that ain't right at all...
Let me see if I can reproduce this in CN now.
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: ProSource of Amarillo
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: Problem with cuts

Postby Kerry Fullington » Tue, Oct 09 2012, 1:20PM

Josh,

What is even stranger is that similar parts get the same bobble even on different sheets.
Here are three fixed shelves stacked and notice the cuts.

2012-10-09 12.59.30.jpg


and three end panels

2012-10-09 12.46.12.jpg

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1262
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: Problem with cuts

Postby Josh Rayburn » Tue, Oct 09 2012, 1:35PM

Oh no, those were actually tabs. I forgot because I never use them. I realized when I saw the nest in CN.
So the code looks correct (again) haha!
Kerry can you give me a list of specific parts that I can check? This code file is 23 sheets and if it's not every part then it would be helpful to narrow things down a bit. It might have nothing to do with the code but I'd love to check it out anyway.
jnr
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1262
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: Problem with cuts

Postby Josh Rayburn » Tue, Oct 09 2012, 1:54PM

Well I filtered out all of the fixed shelves since you mentioned them. I wrote code and plotted the sheet - I can't see the problem. Here's a .dxf of what I got. Change to .dxf from .txt
Attachments
kerry fixed shelves.txt
(208.77 KiB) Downloaded 117 times
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: ProSource of Amarillo
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: Problem with cuts

Postby Kerry Fullington » Tue, Oct 09 2012, 7:59PM

Josh,

Thanks for all the trouble you went to. Late this afternoon we found that there was movement in the spindle. (I wasn't pulling hard enough) The plate behind the spindle had loose bolts in it. We cut a small job after getting it all back together and it looks ok. I still can't understand how the machine cut multiple parts with identical mis-cuts but I guess it could happen. (there were six decks, six tops and six fixed shelves that had identical cuts when stacked)
I hope this fixes a problem we had with bad tenons on flip operations and problems with our cut through.

Thanks Josh, Jason, Ryan and Scott for your help.

User avatar
Neville Bastian
Guru Member
Posts: 589
Joined: Fri, May 20 2005, 6:48PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Location: Albany Western Australia
Contact:

Re: Problem with cuts

Postby Neville Bastian » Wed, Oct 10 2012, 1:35AM

Kerry,
This has happened to us a few times. We used locktite to put the screws back but they worked loose again. Don't be suprised if in 6 months they come loose again.
The problem is they are loose when the spindle is down. When you check the slop, the spindle is retracted. They are a pig of a thing to get to.
Glad you found it so soon. It took us a couple of months thinking it was a software issue. All the sheets we cut twice as on the second cut there was no resistance to deflect the spindle. :wall:
I love CNC's
Nev
Neville Australia

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1262
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: Problem with cuts

Postby Josh Rayburn » Wed, Oct 10 2012, 7:10AM

Holy smokes Kerry that's a heck of a problem to find. Oh, I was determined to find something in the code that was causing that problem, but it just wasn't there - I never doubted TWD's ability to create clean code but it just seemed like such an odd problem, who would have thought of loose bolts!
Glad you found it!
jnr
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests