V CARVE

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

John Tortorello
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri, Dec 30 2005, 8:40AM
Company Name: Commercial Millwork Inc
Location: 221 west division streetSyracuse,NY
Contact:

V CARVE

Postby John Tortorello » Wed, Oct 10 2012, 12:53PM

Just purchased V Care pro, parts are being machined towards the center of the table.
Is there anyone using V carve on there Thermwood who can help me?

John

User avatar
Brad McIntosh
Guru Member
Posts: 480
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 6:59PM
Company Name: CNC Automation
Location: St. Zotique, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: V CARVE

Postby Brad McIntosh » Wed, Oct 10 2012, 1:07PM

The issue is with your post and the reference between the model and the table. Can you upload the post processor that you are using?

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1260
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: V CARVE

Postby Josh Rayburn » Wed, Oct 10 2012, 1:23PM

Everything will be upside down compared to TWD's code because the TWD printouts automatically rotate themselves 180 degrees to give you the picture of operator's 0,0 instead of machine / programmer 0,0 coordinates. It's actually pretty annoying to be honest.
Brad, are you saying there's a way to get the post to do that rotation instead of flipping the printouts upside down?
jnr
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

User avatar
Brad McIntosh
Guru Member
Posts: 480
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 6:59PM
Company Name: CNC Automation
Location: St. Zotique, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: V CARVE

Postby Brad McIntosh » Wed, Oct 10 2012, 3:23PM

Josh, no... I was jumping the gun. Could be that he is nesting using V-Carve. I was figuring a carving or sign. What I should have said was -

"If John can send me a sample program and a copy of your post processor, I can better advise."

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1260
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: V CARVE

Postby Josh Rayburn » Wed, Oct 10 2012, 3:34PM

Gotcha Brad - and I didn't mean to hijack the post either, sorry guys. I was just a bit excited at the possibility I guess :)
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

Rob Davis
Guru Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Mon, May 23 2005, 5:43PM
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: V CARVE

Postby Rob Davis » Wed, Oct 10 2012, 4:13PM

Hijack ON -
Josh, 100% agree with annoying!
Hijack OFF

John Tortorello
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri, Dec 30 2005, 8:40AM
Company Name: Commercial Millwork Inc
Location: 221 west division streetSyracuse,NY
Contact:

Re: V CARVE

Postby John Tortorello » Thu, Oct 11 2012, 6:23AM

Brad, thank you for your response to my post.

The post processor I am using (in v carve) is Thermwood ATC 91000 (inch)(*.n )
When I create the G code(in V carve) I have to set the Z shift before sending it to the machine.(Program Name-CD Header final 2)
Below is some of the code it put out

(Program Name-CD Header final 2)
M98PSTRTTIME.SUBL1
G90
SET ZSHIFT = .6299
(Enter Material Thickness)
G09F8
G52L1
T4 M3
S16000
(V-Bit (60 deg 0.25")
G0 X0.0000 Y0.0000
G00 Z3.0000
M31
G00 X4.0727 Y1.4927 Z0.9862
G01 Z0.6563 F30.0
G01 X4.0761 Y1.4794 F100.0
G01 X4.0826 Y1.4629
G01 X4.0911 Y1.4485
G01 X4.1010 Y1.4363
G01 X4.1122 Y1.4263
G01 X4.1252 Y1.4180

I have a Thermwood cabinet shop 40 router that I bought in 2002.

Thanks again,
John

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: ProSource of Amarillo
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: V CARVE

Postby Kerry Fullington » Thu, Oct 11 2012, 6:30AM

Another HiJack,

Brad, How can I make PanelMetrix nest in the lower left corner of the table (fence) instead of the upper right corner?

Kerry

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1260
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: V CARVE

Postby Josh Rayburn » Thu, Oct 11 2012, 7:03AM

John,
You can try this post if you wish. I will caution you to look it over carefully before pushing the green button, as with any post - however it works very well for my CS-40 and I've made some additional modifications to it so the Zshift, Xshift and Yshift are added in automatically according to your material size.
The post will list all the tools used in the file, and it supports arcs.
This post will also rapid index (G00) to the max boundary of the material size and drop to safe height, then pause (M00) so you can verify that the material / blank is in the correct location before carving or cutting anything.
Note the G901 instead of G52L1. You can change this if you need to.

Change file extension from .txt to .pp and put it in the postp folder. C:/program data/vectric/vcarve pro/v6.x/postp
Make sure to select this post from the list before outputting from Vcarve.

Maybe this will help.
jnr
Attachments
JOSH POST 120211.txt
(5.11 KiB) Downloaded 311 times
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

John Tortorello
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri, Dec 30 2005, 8:40AM
Company Name: Commercial Millwork Inc
Location: 221 west division streetSyracuse,NY
Contact:

Re: V CARVE

Postby John Tortorello » Thu, Oct 11 2012, 9:39AM

Josh, I can't change the file extension.
I did rename it and put it where you said, I don't see it( it still comes up as a txt doc.

Is there something I am missing?

John

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1260
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: V CARVE

Postby Josh Rayburn » Thu, Oct 11 2012, 9:47AM

John, check your windows settings to show known file extensions. That should allow you to change it.
jnr
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

John Tortorello
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri, Dec 30 2005, 8:40AM
Company Name: Commercial Millwork Inc
Location: 221 west division streetSyracuse,NY
Contact:

Re: V CARVE

Postby John Tortorello » Thu, Oct 11 2012, 12:27PM

Ok Josh, I did change the ext. put it in V carve.....still don't see it.
I tried rebooting the system, nothing.

I can see it in there when I look in the c drive progam data ect.


John

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1260
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: V CARVE

Postby Josh Rayburn » Thu, Oct 11 2012, 12:39PM

Not sure why it wouldn't show up John - you can try the Vectric forum also. It should be in the drop-down menu when you click 'save toolpath' and it should be called "josh post 120211 (.nc)"
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

John Tortorello
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri, Dec 30 2005, 8:40AM
Company Name: Commercial Millwork Inc
Location: 221 west division streetSyracuse,NY
Contact:

Re: V CARVE

Postby John Tortorello » Mon, Oct 15 2012, 8:59AM

Josh, thank you for the post.
I did finally get it to work, the file was there as Josh Post 120211 not what I renamed it as.
Is there a way to get it to read the waste board thickness?

Thanks again,
John

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1260
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: V CARVE

Postby Josh Rayburn » Mon, Oct 15 2012, 9:09AM

John,
The name of the post as Vectric reads it is actually in the post itself, it doesn't look at the filename.
There is no way to get it to read the wasteboard thickness, you'll have to change that each time.
jnr
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests