issue with lock dados

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

Thomas strembitsky
Senior Member
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri, Jul 27 2012, 12:30PM
Company Name: true form cabinets
Country: CANADA
Contact:

issue with lock dados

Postby Thomas strembitsky » Wed, May 13 2015, 5:07PM

hi I just noticed this on our last few cuts and also when going to assemble the cutting for the outline pass seems to be cutting deeper on top of the tongue. im running control nesting 5.84 and ecabinets build 17
ive attached a few photos too[
Attachments
Photo 2015-05-07, 10 45 01 AM.jpg
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6400 @ 2.70GHz 8.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950
Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
http://www.trueform.ca
CS43 cnc

Thomas strembitsky
Senior Member
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri, Jul 27 2012, 12:30PM
Company Name: true form cabinets
Country: CANADA
Contact:

Re: issue with lock dados

Postby Thomas strembitsky » Wed, May 13 2015, 5:08PM

second picture
Attachments
Photo 2015-05-07, 11 01 20 AM.jpg
Photo 2015-05-07, 11 01 15 AM.jpg
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6400 @ 2.70GHz 8.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950
Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
http://www.trueform.ca
CS43 cnc

Forrest Chapman
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1079
Joined: Mon, May 30 2005, 2:26PM
Location: Anderson SC.
Contact:

Re: issue with lock dados

Postby Forrest Chapman » Thu, May 14 2015, 7:39AM

If you are doing flip ops on these parts, it looks like the sheet or parts are slightly miss aligned when flipped.

Forrest

User avatar
Jeremy Schiffer
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 944
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 9:36PM
Location: Carnesville, GA
Contact:

Re: issue with lock dados

Postby Jeremy Schiffer » Thu, May 14 2015, 8:25AM

If they're not flip-ops, look to see that the bit diameter in your tool table hasn't gotten changed.
http://www.corlanecabinetry.com

Intel Core i7-5820 3.3GHz, 16GB RAM, NVidia Quadro K2200 4GB, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit

Forrest Chapman
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1079
Joined: Mon, May 30 2005, 2:26PM
Location: Anderson SC.
Contact:

Re: issue with lock dados

Postby Forrest Chapman » Thu, May 14 2015, 4:08PM

If you look closely at both photos the tool cuts deep on 1 of the tenons and shallow on the other by what looks to be the same amount. That tells me the part shifted when flipped. Happens to us every once in a while if the operator gets sloppy when flipping a sheets. If you are doing flip ops first take a look at your pins to see if one is damaged.

Forrest

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: ProSource of Amarillo
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: issue with lock dados

Postby Kerry Fullington » Sat, May 16 2015, 10:49AM

This has always been a flip op problem with us.

User avatar
Scott G Vaal
Thermwood Team
Posts: 1741
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:44PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Location: Thermwood Corp: Dale, Indiana
Contact:

Re: issue with lock dados

Postby Scott G Vaal » Fri, May 22 2015, 8:01AM

Thomas,

This certainly appears to be a fence/pop-up pin location issue. If the values to the pins are incorrect, you will see twice the error when flipping sheets. If a pin or the machine has become out of alignment, this can cause what you are seeing. You may want to verify your fixture offset value (or fence macro value if doing it the older way). You may want to also ensure that the machine and pins are square to each other. I have always found that the best way to get/confirm the pin locations is to put a sheet of material into the pins that has been trimmed on 2 edges by the machine. Place this sheet into the pins, turn on vacuum, then lower the pins as you would do in normal production. Next, touch off the edges with a known diameter tool or solid pin and subtract the radius of the tool/pin. This can also be done using a dial indicator etc, but this method works very well and does not require special tools. If this is not your issue or you need more help with this, please feel free to contact us or CNC Automation for help.
Regards,

Scott Vaal
-Thermwood/eCabinet Systems-
Dell Precision / Xeon E3-1240 / 8GB RAM /NVIDIA Quadro K2000


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest