Is anyone using Autodesk Inventor successfully?

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

Michael Kowalczyk
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 11:35AM
Location: Houston, Texas

Is anyone using Autodesk Inventor successfully?

Postby Michael Kowalczyk » Fri, Jun 12 2015, 3:18PM

just checking to see if anyone using Autodesk Inventor successfully with your thermwood?
Michael Kowalczyk, GM

HP-Elite Quad Core Q6700-4 MB ram, Nvidia GeForce 512 MB Dual HP 22" flat panels, Windows 7 ultimate 64bit SP1

Will Williamson
Guru Member
Posts: 396
Joined: Thu, Dec 08 2005, 6:10PM
Company Name: Williamson Finewoodwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Capac MI
Contact:

Re: Is anyone using Autodesk Inventor successfully?

Postby Will Williamson » Sat, Jun 13 2015, 8:01AM

Were you looking at this for a 3 D modeling solution? What software are you using with it for the Tool pathing?
I have been looking at Solidworks for 3D modeling. For either one you still need a separate tool path software.
I was hoping that since Auto Desk bought Artcam they woud venture into tool pathing
Will

http://www.willmade.com

KEG/Intel Core i 7 CPU K875 @ 2.93 GHZ/12G Ram
Dual boot XP PRO/Windows 7 Nvidia Quatro 600 1Gig Ram

Forrest Chapman
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1079
Joined: Mon, May 30 2005, 2:26PM
Location: Anderson SC.
Contact:

Re: Is anyone using Autodesk Inventor successfully?

Postby Forrest Chapman » Sat, Jun 13 2015, 11:30AM

Michael, I have a friend that uses Inventor and seems to like it but doesn't cam or link to the machine with it. He sends me the files and I use solidworks and Bobcam for SWs to cam and send to machine. Solidworks is a very good program and I was able to learn it in a very short time. The Bobcam plugin is also a really good cam program and at a very good cost. If you want a better deal on SWs you can buy the oem stripped down version from Bobcad for about half cost but you won't get the drawings package.

Forrest

Michael Kowalczyk
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 11:35AM
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: Is anyone using Autodesk Inventor successfully?

Postby Michael Kowalczyk » Mon, Jun 15 2015, 1:28PM

Will Williamson wrote:Were you looking at this for a 3 D modeling solution? What software are you using with it for the Tool pathing?
I have been looking at Solidworks for 3D modeling. For either one you still need a separate tool path software.
I was hoping that since Auto Desk bought Artcam they woud venture into tool pathing


inventor has what is called HSM; have not seen it work so i can't comment on it.

Solidworks does not do wood joints as far as i know unless you build them from scratch each time. not parametric or associative
Michael Kowalczyk, GM

HP-Elite Quad Core Q6700-4 MB ram, Nvidia GeForce 512 MB Dual HP 22" flat panels, Windows 7 ultimate 64bit SP1

Forrest Chapman
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1079
Joined: Mon, May 30 2005, 2:26PM
Location: Anderson SC.
Contact:

Re: Is anyone using Autodesk Inventor successfully?

Postby Forrest Chapman » Mon, Jun 15 2015, 4:19PM

I looked at Topsolid at the last IWF. They have a woodworking module that is one of the coolest programs I've seen in a long time. Basically its a 3D modeling program with industry specific features like custom joinery. The cam side is built in. I don't have any idea as to cost but its worth a look if your in the market.

Forrest

Michael Kowalczyk
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 11:35AM
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: Is anyone using Autodesk Inventor successfully?

Postby Michael Kowalczyk » Mon, Jun 15 2015, 6:33PM

Forrest Chapman wrote:I looked at Topsolid at the last IWF. They have a woodworking module that is one of the coolest programs I've seen in a long time. Basically its a 3D modeling program with industry specific features like custom joinery. The cam side is built in. I don't have any idea as to cost but its worth a look if your in the market.

Forrest

Forrest thanks. Topsolid wood is 20K plus post idid about a 2 hour goto meeting and threw everything I could thinkof and it was able to xdo it awesome program except for the price
Michael Kowalczyk, GM

HP-Elite Quad Core Q6700-4 MB ram, Nvidia GeForce 512 MB Dual HP 22" flat panels, Windows 7 ultimate 64bit SP1

Michael Kowalczyk
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 11:35AM
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: Is anyone using Autodesk Inventor successfully?

Postby Michael Kowalczyk » Tue, Jun 16 2015, 5:31PM

Hey Forest,
Downloaded inventor pro 2016 and woodwork add on very interesting capabilities. joinery options are unlimited except for CNC limitations or you will need a 5 axis or manual labor to complete a sliding dove tail will be doing a another webinar on Tuesday next week with both options and CAMming options also. May do subscription option. will let you know.
Michael Kowalczyk, GM

HP-Elite Quad Core Q6700-4 MB ram, Nvidia GeForce 512 MB Dual HP 22" flat panels, Windows 7 ultimate 64bit SP1

Forrest Chapman
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1079
Joined: Mon, May 30 2005, 2:26PM
Location: Anderson SC.
Contact:

Re: Is anyone using Autodesk Inventor successfully?

Postby Forrest Chapman » Wed, Jun 17 2015, 12:08PM

Thanks Michael, will look into it myself. I would like to find a 3D modeling program to build my mdf door library in. I'm currently using CV and would like to dump the program.

Forrest

Forrest Chapman
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1079
Joined: Mon, May 30 2005, 2:26PM
Location: Anderson SC.
Contact:

Re: Is anyone using Autodesk Inventor successfully?

Postby Forrest Chapman » Mon, Jun 22 2015, 10:27AM

Mike, it looks like "inventor for wood" is very similar to "topsolid for wood". Have you been quoted on it yet?

Forrest

Michael Kowalczyk
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 11:35AM
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: Is anyone using Autodesk Inventor successfully?

Postby Michael Kowalczyk » Mon, Jun 22 2015, 6:32PM

yes I have and it still bust the budget. Looking at solid works now. can do most of what I need now and in the near future. lots of support just have to make sure the cam side is what i want. will look at bobCAD for SW and compare to master cam for SW
Michael Kowalczyk, GM

HP-Elite Quad Core Q6700-4 MB ram, Nvidia GeForce 512 MB Dual HP 22" flat panels, Windows 7 ultimate 64bit SP1

Michael Kowalczyk
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 11:35AM
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: Is anyone using Autodesk Inventor successfully?

Postby Michael Kowalczyk » Sun, Aug 30 2015, 2:14PM

no go on Solid Works..can not handle wood joinery. Looks like Top Solid Wood nay be in my signature shortly and it can do just about anything.
Michael Kowalczyk, GM

HP-Elite Quad Core Q6700-4 MB ram, Nvidia GeForce 512 MB Dual HP 22" flat panels, Windows 7 ultimate 64bit SP1

Will Williamson
Guru Member
Posts: 396
Joined: Thu, Dec 08 2005, 6:10PM
Company Name: Williamson Finewoodwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Capac MI
Contact:

Re: Is anyone using Autodesk Inventor successfully?

Postby Will Williamson » Tue, Sep 01 2015, 3:47PM

Hi Mike does Top solid for wood have built in toolpathing ?
Will

http://www.willmade.com

KEG/Intel Core i 7 CPU K875 @ 2.93 GHZ/12G Ram
Dual boot XP PRO/Windows 7 Nvidia Quatro 600 1Gig Ram

Michael Kowalczyk
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 11:35AM
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: Is anyone using Autodesk Inventor successfully?

Postby Michael Kowalczyk » Tue, Sep 01 2015, 3:57PM

well it can come with its own CAM and it is fully associative. or an interface is available to work with Enroute. there are several youtube vids showing it. PM me your info and once I get mine we can talk.
Michael Kowalczyk, GM

HP-Elite Quad Core Q6700-4 MB ram, Nvidia GeForce 512 MB Dual HP 22" flat panels, Windows 7 ultimate 64bit SP1


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests