Flips not lining up?

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

Ian Richardson
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri, Feb 15 2013, 5:21PM
Company Name: Millworx
Country: CANADA

Flips not lining up?

Postby Ian Richardson » Fri, Jul 24 2015, 3:06PM

I've attached a couple of pictures to help explain my problem. A few weeks ago I built a couple of cabinets with plexi glass dividers inbetween shelves. The client wanted another one only slightly modified in dimensions. Now when I do a flip operation the dividers don't line up. Not sure if something happened to the machine (I'm not the operator). Can anyone point me in the direction to fix this? It looks like the grooves are out about .09". I did a test cut by cutting a panel 48" x 90", nested to the edge. Checked for square and its out maybe .032" on the diagonal.
Any ideas.
Thanks
Ian (CS 46)
Attachments
2015-07-24 14.22.01.jpg
2015-07-24 14.58.42.jpg

Ian Richardson
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri, Feb 15 2013, 5:21PM
Company Name: Millworx
Country: CANADA

Re: Flips not lining up?

Postby Ian Richardson » Sat, Jul 25 2015, 11:38AM

Just a quick edit. Actual amount out is .068"

Chris Armstrong
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue, May 19 2015, 7:44PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Country: AUSTRALIA

Re: Flips not lining up?

Postby Chris Armstrong » Thu, Jul 30 2015, 11:47PM

we have the same problem here when we do flip operations its out about the same distance. generally when we have to flip the cut is on the opposite side to the 0 point so we just nudge it down to suit. but i will follow this post to see if anyone knows a fix

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1262
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: Flips not lining up?

Postby Josh Rayburn » Fri, Jul 31 2015, 6:09AM

Can you gentlemen post an CN export file?
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

Will Williamson
Guru Member
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu, Dec 08 2005, 6:10PM
Company Name: Williamson Finewoodwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Capac MI
Contact:

Re: Flips not lining up?

Postby Will Williamson » Fri, Jul 31 2015, 12:30PM

Why not try changing your G902 fixture location by that amount.and see the results.
Believe me you can fool with it all day.
That is why I use a large right angle 30 x 80 x 6 inches wide. It looks looks a large framing square with a hole drilled in the inside corner.
When the machine locates, over the inside corner drill location, I block stop the machine and and write down the x,y location of the drill center.
This will be my G902 Location
I seldom cut cabinet parts, but the last time I did, I also changed my G901 to the same X,Y, fixture as the G902 This way I use the large square to locate for the G901 also
Every thing came out perfect
I also use dowels to locate the large square to the spoil board
Will

http://www.willmade.com

KEG/Intel Core i 7 CPU K875 @ 2.93 GHZ/12G Ram
Dual boot XP PRO/Windows 7 Nvidia Quatro 600 1Gig Ram

Mike Murray
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu, May 22 2014, 10:07AM
Company Name: VCSS
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: Flips not lining up?

Postby Mike Murray » Thu, Aug 20 2015, 12:48PM

Hi Will, I thought about something just like that. I do have the aluminum one that came with machine, but it can still be inaccurate. Please post a picture of your fixture in use so I know I am on the same page.THANKS

Will Williamson
Guru Member
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu, Dec 08 2005, 6:10PM
Company Name: Williamson Finewoodwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Capac MI
Contact:

Re: Flips not lining up?

Postby Will Williamson » Thu, Aug 20 2015, 3:01PM

Hi Mike
I,m out of town right now I will email you early next week.
In addition I use dowels to locate the square. As I was putting a 1/2 inch circle in the inside corner for sawdust.
I realized that this X,Y would be my new G902 location. That worked so good I changed my G901 to the same location as my G902'
Never had another miss cut.
Will

http://www.willmade.com

KEG/Intel Core i 7 CPU K875 @ 2.93 GHZ/12G Ram
Dual boot XP PRO/Windows 7 Nvidia Quatro 600 1Gig Ram

Will Williamson
Guru Member
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu, Dec 08 2005, 6:10PM
Company Name: Williamson Finewoodwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Capac MI
Contact:

Re: Flips not lining up?

Postby Will Williamson » Wed, Aug 26 2015, 7:40PM

Here are the pictures
Attachments
SAM_0759.JPG
SAM_0758.JPG
SAM_0757.JPG
Will

http://www.willmade.com

KEG/Intel Core i 7 CPU K875 @ 2.93 GHZ/12G Ram
Dual boot XP PRO/Windows 7 Nvidia Quatro 600 1Gig Ram

User avatar
Brad McIntosh
Guru Member
Posts: 484
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 6:59PM
Company Name: CNC Automation
Location: St. Zotique, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Flips not lining up?

Postby Brad McIntosh » Thu, Aug 27 2015, 7:31AM

We have been directing our clients to use a "flip fence" exactly like that for almost 20 years. It was necessary to perform back machining operations for mullion doors produced with Panelmetrix.

We currently provide our clients with a small program that will allow them to create a "flip fence" when ever needed - like when one gets lost, damaged, etc.

David Egnoski
Senior Member
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 1:05PM
Company Name: Richmond Cabinet
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Delavan, WI

Re: Flips not lining up?

Postby David Egnoski » Thu, Aug 27 2015, 9:14AM

Brad,

Would you mind posting the dimensions for your square? What material do you recommend for the square?

Thank you.
Dave Egnoski
Richmond Cabinet & Millwork


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests