random E stops

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

Thomas strembitsky
Senior Member
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri, Jul 27 2012, 12:30PM
Company Name: true form cabinets
Country: CANADA
Contact:

random E stops

Postby Thomas strembitsky » Thu, Jul 14 2016, 4:22PM

this just started happening but in the middle of cutting the cnc will randomly put its self into e-stop. is there anything I can do diagnose this issue? the e stop button isn't depressed. it happens when the machine gets to the upper left of the table. we are running a CS43
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6400 @ 2.70GHz 8.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950
Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
http://www.trueform.ca
CS43 cnc

Clint Buechlein
Thermwood Team
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri, May 15 2015, 1:21PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corp
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: random E stops

Postby Clint Buechlein » Fri, Jul 15 2016, 7:51AM

Thomas,

When it goes into e-stop, go to Maintenance, PLC, PLC Screen and see if there is an error message displayed. And when you say upper left, do you mean where the spindle homes at? Everyone defines upper/lower and left/right differently so just want to clarify. My first thought is that it is trying to go into the tool changer safety zone.

-Clint-

Thomas strembitsky
Senior Member
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri, Jul 27 2012, 12:30PM
Company Name: true form cabinets
Country: CANADA
Contact:

Re: random E stops

Postby Thomas strembitsky » Fri, Jul 15 2016, 10:13AM

when I say upper left I'm using the control nesting version of upper left
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6400 @ 2.70GHz 8.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950
Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
http://www.trueform.ca
CS43 cnc

Thomas strembitsky
Senior Member
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri, Jul 27 2012, 12:30PM
Company Name: true form cabinets
Country: CANADA
Contact:

Re: random E stops

Postby Thomas strembitsky » Thu, Jul 21 2016, 10:25AM

okay it happened again and now I have the error message
Attachments
the error message when frozen.PNG
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6400 @ 2.70GHz 8.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950
Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
http://www.trueform.ca
CS43 cnc

Clint Buechlein
Thermwood Team
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri, May 15 2015, 1:21PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corp
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: random E stops

Postby Clint Buechlein » Thu, Jul 21 2016, 11:14AM

Thomas,

A few things to try and possible issues. The first thing to try is to see if its a tool holder issue. If it seems like the issue is happening with the same tool holder every time that could point to the issue. If it isn't tool holder related, then next possible issue is the drawbar switch needs to be adjusted, or it has a bad connection. There are other possible reasons for the error, but those are the most common

-Clint-

Thomas strembitsky
Senior Member
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri, Jul 27 2012, 12:30PM
Company Name: true form cabinets
Country: CANADA
Contact:

Re: random E stops

Postby Thomas strembitsky » Thu, Jul 21 2016, 2:30PM

I swapped out the tool holder for our outline cutter and ill see how that goes for us. how would I check the drawbar switch?
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6400 @ 2.70GHz 8.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950
Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
http://www.trueform.ca
CS43 cnc

Thomas strembitsky
Senior Member
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri, Jul 27 2012, 12:30PM
Company Name: true form cabinets
Country: CANADA
Contact:

Re: random E stops

Postby Thomas strembitsky » Thu, Jul 21 2016, 5:00PM

the issue has returned again i'm attaching a copy of the plc history text file.

seem we have been having the "Z Draw Bar 1 UP switch not closed 1 second after Drawbar DOWN output turned OFF (Output 9 OFF & Input 18 open "
error periodically but then it started happening a lot around may of this year and the machine will go into e stop when it gets the " Z Draw Bar 1 not UP while spindle moving (Input 18 open or 17 closed" error twice with in a minute
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6400 @ 2.70GHz 8.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950
Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
http://www.trueform.ca
CS43 cnc

Thomas strembitsky
Senior Member
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri, Jul 27 2012, 12:30PM
Company Name: true form cabinets
Country: CANADA
Contact:

Re: random E stops

Postby Thomas strembitsky » Thu, Jul 21 2016, 5:19PM

PLC History.txt
(389.62 KiB) Downloaded 39 times
PLC History.txt
(389.62 KiB) Downloaded 39 times
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6400 @ 2.70GHz 8.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950
Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
http://www.trueform.ca
CS43 cnc

Clint Buechlein
Thermwood Team
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri, May 15 2015, 1:21PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corp
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: random E stops

Postby Clint Buechlein » Fri, Jul 22 2016, 10:54AM

Thomas,

The next most likely thing to do is adjust the drawbar switch. It is located behind a cover on the spindle and labeled with a #1. The sensor has a lock nut and an adjustment screw that is on an eccentric. Loosen the locknut and adjust the screw until the input turns off on the input/output screen. You can verify which input it is from the I/O List. Once it turns off, slowly turn back the other direction until it comes back on again, then go an additional three degrees or so and tighten the lock nut.

Depending on your level of comfort working on the machine, it may be worth it to have service take a look as this involves disassembly the front of the spindle.

-Clint-


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests