control upgrade

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

Will Williamson
Guru Member
Posts: 399
Joined: Thu, Dec 08 2005, 6:10PM
Company Name: Williamson Finewoodwork
Location: Capac MI

Re: control upgrade

Postby Will Williamson » Mon, Aug 22 2016, 12:41PM

Looks like I have the same issue, latest control nesting will not execute from D/ data. But it did from the usb drive.

KEG/Intel Core i 7 CPU K875 @ 2.93 GHZ/12G Ram
Dual boot XP PRO/Windows 7 Nvidia Quatro 600 1Gig Ram

Clint Buechlein
Thermwood Team
Posts: 228
Joined: Fri, May 15 2015, 1:21PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corp

Re: control upgrade

Postby Clint Buechlein » Tue, Aug 23 2016, 10:10AM

For those using a machine with Windows XP, we are beginning now to create two separate releases. One for those with XP, and one for those without. David has tried the XP version on his machine with success, but I would like feedback from others if they experience an issue with the install not working properly. Below is a screenshot for the location of the alternate install.

If you have an issue with the install, we will need a log file of the installation from you to aid in diagnosing the issue. If you are uncertain of how to create a log file, instructions can be found via Google, or email us here at Thermwood and we can assist you.

Control Nesting.JPG

David Egnoski
Senior Member
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 1:05PM
Company Name: Richmond Cabinet
Location: Delavan, WI

Re: control upgrade

Postby David Egnoski » Wed, Aug 31 2016, 7:13AM

Thanks to all for the input and especially to Thermwood folks for working hard to fix the install problem.

It looks like I'll be using the desktop version of CN. Seems to make the most sense right now.
Dave Egnoski
Richmond Cabinet & Millwork

Mike Murray
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu, May 22 2014, 10:07AM
Company Name: VCSS

Re: control upgrade

Postby Mike Murray » Mon, Sep 19 2016, 11:45AM

I just upgraded to the new qcore and the heavier pins. Fly cutting is now so simple, with automatic tool reset values, and as a bonus, it eliminated a step in running CV files for us. We formally had a wasteboard thicknoess in our post that had to be updated for every file, that is now removed from the post and is picked up automatically by the machine.

Dave Burtchell
Junior Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu, Jun 30 2005, 10:04PM

Re: control upgrade

Postby Dave Burtchell » Wed, Oct 19 2016, 8:12PM

Info on the QCore says it's "Configured to perform 5 axis simultaneous motions". What does this mean? Does this make our CS40 into a true 3-axis machine? All three axis' can move at the same time?

Can you manually set a wasteboard thickness?
also, where can I find info on the "heavier pins"?
Guess I should look at the website.


Forrest Chapman
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1104
Joined: Mon, May 30 2005, 2:26PM
Location: Anderson SC.

Re: control upgrade

Postby Forrest Chapman » Thu, Oct 20 2016, 7:52AM

Dave, my 2002 C40 does that now. If your not doing a lot of contour machining you won't see it. If you spiral into a cut you can see it moving all 3 axis at once.


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest