Waste Baord issues

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

Rob Davis
Guru Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Mon, May 23 2005, 5:43PM
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Waste Baord issues

Postby Rob Davis » Wed, Sep 26 2018, 3:48PM

Apparently we have done something to make our machine think our waste board is 0.060" thicker than it actually is. So everything is not deep enough. We are faking the machine by entering a waste board into the "machine variables" table in drop down menu.
How do we fix this mess we've created so we don't have to fake the machine? I think we've gone brain dead here because this seems so simple but we are stumped. We tried to fly-cut, enter new waste board, enter 0.75" then fly cut until we hit the board. But tools are still off. Do we need to measure tools first? We don't think tool measurement should even factor into this but does it?

Thomas strembitsky
Guru Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri, Jul 27 2012, 12:30PM
Company Name: true form cabinets
Country: CANADA
Contact:

Re: Waste Baord issues

Postby Thomas strembitsky » Thu, Sep 27 2018, 12:03PM

Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6400 @ 2.70GHz 8.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950
Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
http://www.trueform.ca
CS43 cnc

Thomas strembitsky
Guru Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri, Jul 27 2012, 12:30PM
Company Name: true form cabinets
Country: CANADA
Contact:

Re: Waste Baord issues

Postby Thomas strembitsky » Thu, Sep 27 2018, 12:04PM

it might not be the board that's an issue its that the toolman file is corrupt and thinks the daylight value is different then reality
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6400 @ 2.70GHz 8.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950
Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
http://www.trueform.ca
CS43 cnc

Clint Buechlein
Thermwood Team
Posts: 396
Joined: Fri, May 15 2015, 1:21PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corp
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: Waste Baord issues

Postby Clint Buechlein » Thu, Sep 27 2018, 2:03PM

Rob,

If it were me I would try to determine why it thinks it is .060" higher before doing anything. A light crash of the machine could dislodge the spindle throwing everything off. Below are steps to reset tool sensor and everything to get it back in to the correct state.

1. Make sure a tool is loaded in the spindle and remove the dust shield.
2. Pull back your waste board and table board to expose the white pegs below.
3. Teach the machine so that you can pinch a piece of paper between the tip of the tool and one of the pegs.
4. Once the paper is pinched, raise Z up .75".
5. Write down the value you have found for Z. It should be a negative value. This is true daylight for the tool.
6. Send the machine home.
7. Choose File, and then Open.
8. On the D drive, go to the Data folder, and look for a file named Tool Switch Setup (or similar).
9. Press Cycle Start.
10. The screen that opens will ask you for the value you found and wrote down. Make sure to enter the negative sign.
11. Once you press enter the tool measurement dialog will open.
12. Pick the tool you used to find the Z value (should still be your active tool).
13. Once the tool measures and returns home, SWITCHSPOIL will be rewritten in Machine Variables.
14. Remeasure all of your tools.
15. Put your table board back in place and remove the waste board. Now would be a good time to flip the table board over if you haven't in a while.
16. Use calipers and measure the thickness of your table board.
17. Go to Flycut System and make sure you are on the Table Board tab.
18. Choose New Table Board.
19. Enter the value you measured the board at. Add an extra .010" to it just in case.
20. Flycut the table board.
21. Go back to step 16 and do the same thing to the waste board.

That should set switch spoil correctly and all board thicknesses correctly. You should have a correct cut depth now, barring mechanical or programming issues.

-Clint-

Rob Davis
Guru Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Mon, May 23 2005, 5:43PM
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Waste Baord issues

Postby Rob Davis » Thu, Sep 27 2018, 2:31PM

Thanks all. We're working on it.


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests