Black screen

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

Stephen Tinkler
Junior Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu, Aug 16 2007, 4:20AM
Location: County Durham, United Kingdom

Black screen

Postby Stephen Tinkler » Fri, Aug 14 2020, 8:14AM

Hi all used machine this morning then screen went black, turned it off then on it stayed on for a few minutes then black and came up " entering into sleep mode" then black screen,but now when i turn the machine on "No Video Input" floating about, i have replace the CMOS battery as this has sorted this out in the past but hasn't this time. has anyone come across this problem [Gen2 control].

Cheers Stephen

Clint Buechlein
Thermwood Team
Posts: 493
Joined: Fri, May 15 2015, 1:21PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corp
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: Black screen

Postby Clint Buechlein » Fri, Aug 14 2020, 8:41AM

Stephen,

Give a call into our tech services department so they can help you sort what is going on.

-Clint-

Stephen Tinkler
Junior Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu, Aug 16 2007, 4:20AM
Location: County Durham, United Kingdom

Re: Black screen

Postby Stephen Tinkler » Fri, Aug 14 2020, 8:57AM

Clint Buechlein wrote:Stephen,

Give a call into our tech services department so they can help you sort what is going on.

-Clint-


Hi Clint the services department in the states or AMS in the UK?

Cheers Stephen

Clint Buechlein
Thermwood Team
Posts: 493
Joined: Fri, May 15 2015, 1:21PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corp
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: Black screen

Postby Clint Buechlein » Fri, Aug 14 2020, 10:00AM

Typically there in the UK, but for something like this they will end up having to talk to us in the states. You can also email service@thermwood.com

-Clint-

Will Williamson
Guru Member
Posts: 425
Joined: Thu, Dec 08 2005, 6:10PM
Company Name: Williamson Finewoodwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Capac MI
Contact:

Re: Black screen

Postby Will Williamson » Sat, Aug 15 2020, 7:59AM

Replace the onboard battery, on the mother board, if that doesn't work let me know I have a couple more fix's
Will

http://www.willmade.com

KEG/Intel Core i 7 CPU K875 @ 2.93 GHZ/12G Ram
Dual boot XP PRO/Windows 7 Nvidia Quatro 600 1Gig Ram

Stephen Tinkler
Junior Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu, Aug 16 2007, 4:20AM
Location: County Durham, United Kingdom

Re: Black screen

Postby Stephen Tinkler » Mon, Aug 17 2020, 2:42AM

Will Williamson wrote:Replace the onboard battery, on the mother board, if that doesn't work let me know I have a couple more fix's


Hi Will that hasn't worked, what other fix's have you?

Cheers Stephen

Will Williamson
Guru Member
Posts: 425
Joined: Thu, Dec 08 2005, 6:10PM
Company Name: Williamson Finewoodwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Capac MI
Contact:

Re: Black screen

Postby Will Williamson » Mon, Aug 17 2020, 6:42AM

Did you push the small black button next to the battery to reset the bios?
Take the memory sticks out and spray the contacts with electrical contact cleaner and put them back in and pull then out a couple of times
that worked great for me last time
Will

http://www.willmade.com

KEG/Intel Core i 7 CPU K875 @ 2.93 GHZ/12G Ram
Dual boot XP PRO/Windows 7 Nvidia Quatro 600 1Gig Ram

Stephen Tinkler
Junior Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu, Aug 16 2007, 4:20AM
Location: County Durham, United Kingdom

Re: Black screen

Postby Stephen Tinkler » Mon, Aug 17 2020, 6:49AM

Hi Will i have pressed the button we have 2 together on our motherboard! i'll give the memory sticks ago.

Cheers Stephen

Stephen Tinkler
Junior Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu, Aug 16 2007, 4:20AM
Location: County Durham, United Kingdom

Re: Black screen

Postby Stephen Tinkler » Mon, Aug 17 2020, 7:56AM

Hi Will that hasn't worked have you any other suggestions?

Cheers Stephen

User avatar
Jeremy Schiffer
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1059
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 9:36PM
Location: Carnesville, GA
Contact:

Re: Black screen

Postby Jeremy Schiffer » Mon, Aug 17 2020, 9:09AM

Unlplug the monitor from the video card, remove and reinsert the video card, and plug the monitor back in.
http://www.corlanecabinetry.com

Intel Core i7-5820 3.3GHz, 16GB RAM, NVidia Quadro K2200 4GB, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit

Will Williamson
Guru Member
Posts: 425
Joined: Thu, Dec 08 2005, 6:10PM
Company Name: Williamson Finewoodwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Capac MI
Contact:

Re: Black screen

Postby Will Williamson » Mon, Aug 17 2020, 9:52AM

with the side open plug another monitor in and try it
Will

http://www.willmade.com

KEG/Intel Core i 7 CPU K875 @ 2.93 GHZ/12G Ram
Dual boot XP PRO/Windows 7 Nvidia Quatro 600 1Gig Ram

User avatar
Jeremy Schiffer
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1059
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 9:36PM
Location: Carnesville, GA
Contact:

Re: Black screen

Postby Jeremy Schiffer » Tue, Aug 18 2020, 8:34AM

With an open hand, whack the side of the controller several times. Won't necessarily fix anything, but sometimes it makes me feel better.
http://www.corlanecabinetry.com

Intel Core i7-5820 3.3GHz, 16GB RAM, NVidia Quadro K2200 4GB, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit

Will Williamson
Guru Member
Posts: 425
Joined: Thu, Dec 08 2005, 6:10PM
Company Name: Williamson Finewoodwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Capac MI
Contact:

Re: Black screen

Postby Will Williamson » Tue, Aug 18 2020, 10:50AM

I battled that problem, for 2 years and pulling the memory chips in and out finally solved it.
Will

http://www.willmade.com

KEG/Intel Core i 7 CPU K875 @ 2.93 GHZ/12G Ram
Dual boot XP PRO/Windows 7 Nvidia Quatro 600 1Gig Ram

Will Williamson
Guru Member
Posts: 425
Joined: Thu, Dec 08 2005, 6:10PM
Company Name: Williamson Finewoodwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Capac MI
Contact:

Re: Black screen

Postby Will Williamson » Tue, Aug 18 2020, 12:22PM

One more thing, check the voltage of the battery, you installed, if it is over 3.3 or under 3 you need to try another battery
I bought some ikea batteries and they were over 3.3 volts and they would not work.

So i installed them in a small flash lite and ran them down a little and they worked

More than likely in my case it was the bad memory connection all along, because since I cleaned them,
I have had no problem, been a few month now, My machine is a is a 2005 CS 45

Also clean all connections, to the mother board and the hard drive with contact cleaner
It was recommended, that I replace the mother board, on several occasions

Since this issue my tech said that when trouble shooting mother boards
Pull all the cards out video, modem, ext. and leave 1 stick of memory in just the bare minimum to run
then start plugging things back in one at a time, cleaning connections as you go

Good Luck
Will

http://www.willmade.com

KEG/Intel Core i 7 CPU K875 @ 2.93 GHZ/12G Ram
Dual boot XP PRO/Windows 7 Nvidia Quatro 600 1Gig Ram

Stephen Tinkler
Junior Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu, Aug 16 2007, 4:20AM
Location: County Durham, United Kingdom

Re: Black screen

Postby Stephen Tinkler » Wed, Sep 30 2020, 6:50AM

Hi all it was the power supply :beer:


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests