Spindle off?

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

Dave Burtchell
Junior Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu, Jun 30 2005, 10:04PM

Spindle off?

Postby Dave Burtchell » Sat, Apr 08 2006, 11:45AM

Hi,

I made up a spring loaded dry erase pen that fits in a 1/2\" collet to check some part shapes I digitized before commiting some expensive sheet goods. My question is: what's the easiest way to run the program with the spindle off? It works ok putting parentheses around S# M3 and M5. I was wondering if just setting the tool rpm to \"0\" would work. Any other options?

Thanks,
Dave

User avatar
Thom Davies
Guru Member
Posts: 530
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 6:44PM
Company Name: Dawn Group
Country: NEW ZEALAND
Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Contact:

Postby Thom Davies » Sun, Apr 09 2006, 2:16PM

Hey Dave

I think there is a button which is called dry run on. I think this is what you want but don't know how to run it as i have not tried it yet.

Thanks

Thom Davies.
[url=http://www.colinmcraesport.com]
Image
[/url]

Ryan Hochgesang

Postby Ryan Hochgesang » Mon, Apr 10 2006, 11:45AM

Dave,

Parenthisis around the M3 and around the S# works. As well as leaving out the S# altogehter. I Prefer to actually run through the program in RUN mode rather than the Dry run option, because the dry run mode will not actually move the machine through the motions.

Michael Kowalczyk
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 11:35AM
Location: Houston, Texas

Postby Michael Kowalczyk » Wed, Apr 12 2006, 12:07PM

Ryan,
I stopped using the DRY RUN function several years ago because it seems to have a problem with tool changes. I just add 2 inches to the Z shift and run the file. This gives me an accurate time study and allows me to see if I need to modify the order of operation.
Michael Kowalczyk, GM

HP-Elite Quad Core Q6700-4 MB ram, Nvidia GeForce 512 MB Dual HP 22" flat panels, Windows 7 ultimate 64bit SP1

Ryan Hochgesang

Postby Ryan Hochgesang » Thu, Apr 13 2006, 10:56AM

The DRY RUN feature will exicute all IO's when cycling, this is why you see the tool get dropped from the router. Setting the z shift value at a higher amt and actually cycling the program in RUN mode is the best way to get a true time study and program proof.


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests