control nesting

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

CameronEchols
Junior Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon, Aug 08 2005, 5:37PM
Location: mesa AZ

control nesting

Postby CameronEchols » Thu, Apr 27 2006, 4:34PM

I wish I was able to name my files when you write your cnc code before it writes it. Some times when I have jobs with the same names in them it writes the cnc files over another existing one.

User avatar
Jason Susnjara
Thermwood Team
Posts: 1722
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 1:26PM
Location: Thermwood
Contact:

Postby Jason Susnjara » Fri, Apr 28 2006, 8:07AM

Hi Cameron,

The name comes from the twd file. You can change the twd file name to a different name before creating the cnc file.

thanks,

User avatar
Brian Shannon
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 974
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 10:50PM
Location: Los Alamos, CA

Postby Brian Shannon » Fri, Apr 28 2006, 9:19AM

I think what Cameron is saying is that if you go back in RN and make any changes(nest direction,etc.) It would be nice when RN writes the CNC file if it would ask if you want to overwrite the existing file of the same name.

User avatar
Glenn Van Reason
Guru Member
Posts: 459
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 4:00PM
Company Name: TBA
Country: AUSTRALIA
Location: ORANGE NSW AUSTRALIA every now and then between trips lol

Postby Glenn Van Reason » Sat, Apr 29 2006, 6:41PM

I get this problem a lot, to get around I use the flie browser to rename the first cnc file before doing the second nest. Sometimes just by adding \"old\" of \"first\" after the file name. That way the second nest will write a new file and I can get the old file back if I need to.
i.e.
\"Customer.cnc\" rename to \"Customer Old.cnc\"


Handy if I get an error and a renest fixes it, I still have the old corrupt file to send the Thermwood for them to look at.
This message made from recycled electrons.

Ryan Hochgesang
Thermwood Team
Posts: 681
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 8:41AM
Location: Thermwood

Postby Ryan Hochgesang » Tue, May 02 2006, 8:29AM

Hey guys,

A few wks or mnths ago I had a similar request from a customer and have since submitted having this option, to our software programmers here at Thermwood. I was informed that this is something that will possibly be implemented in the future. Thanks for the input!
Ryan Hochgesang
Software Support

User avatar
Audrey Racine
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 141
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 6:31AM
Location: Canada, Quebec city

Postby Audrey Racine » Tue, May 02 2006, 9:07AM

Hi everyone,

I thinks this could be something good to have it is a good idea!

Thanks Ryan for telling the programmers


Audrey

CameronEchols
Junior Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon, Aug 08 2005, 5:37PM
Location: mesa AZ

Postby CameronEchols » Tue, May 02 2006, 12:24PM

That would be great I am careful about renaming files before writing similar named files. I have had my employee's write over some of my files that take 30 min to write and that aggravates me.


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests