New layer request

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

Nick M Singer
Guru Member
Posts: 828
Joined: Fri, Jun 17 2005, 12:23AM
Location: South Africa

New layer request

Postby Nick M Singer » Thu, May 18 2006, 12:13AM

Is it possible oh great Rolling Nest gurus, to create a new layer that defines the perimeter of a piece of stock thus enabling one to locate a pre machined item in the G900 or G901 and do further machining ops on it. For example if I had a panel pre cut that only needed some hole drilling and routing done to it (no outline cutting) all I need do is locate it in the relevant fence and off we go. What I am doing now is running the sequence without a cutter in the outline toolholder.

User avatar
Bill Rutherford
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 5:23AM
Location: Lancaster, NH
Contact:

Postby Bill Rutherford » Thu, May 18 2006, 5:29AM

I will definetly second that request, in fact I have a job to run now that that would help with. I would think the best spot to align the part would be against the fence for flip operations.
Bill Rutherford
North Woods Manufacturing
Full service CNC Machining
and Edge Banding
http://www.northwoodsmanufacturing.com

Nick M Singer
Guru Member
Posts: 828
Joined: Fri, Jun 17 2005, 12:23AM
Location: South Africa

Postby Nick M Singer » Thu, May 18 2006, 10:08AM

Hi Bill I agree that it would be nice to have it located in the flip op fence but that would require more development from the Thermwood guys. I find that when I nest these items they tend to locate into the G900 which is fine I suppose as a quick and dirty solution if we get our \"perimeter\" layer. Cant be too greedy now can we???

User avatar
Bill Rutherford
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 5:23AM
Location: Lancaster, NH
Contact:

Postby Bill Rutherford » Thu, May 18 2006, 12:14PM

hey, its Thermwood's fault that I am as lazy as I am. So now they have to help keep me lazy!!
Bill Rutherford

North Woods Manufacturing

Full service CNC Machining

and Edge Banding

http://www.northwoodsmanufacturing.com

User avatar
Jason Susnjara
Thermwood Team
Posts: 1722
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 1:26PM
Location: Thermwood
Contact:

Postby Jason Susnjara » Fri, May 19 2006, 9:23AM

Hi Nick,

I will talk to the programmers about this.

thanks,

Nick M Singer
Guru Member
Posts: 828
Joined: Fri, Jun 17 2005, 12:23AM
Location: South Africa

Postby Nick M Singer » Mon, May 22 2006, 12:08AM

Thanks Jason, Much obliged!!

David Hall
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 588
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:41PM
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Postby David Hall » Sat, May 27 2006, 10:52AM

Nick,
I usually approach this by putting the operations on the \"back\" of the part using backdrill, backpocket, backdado etc. Then run only the flip operation.

Reminder... the depth for back operations is measured from the front side of the part.

Regards
Dave
David Hall
Hall's Edge Inc.
eCabinets Machining Services
http://www.HallsEdge.com

David Hall
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 588
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:41PM
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Postby David Hall » Sat, May 27 2006, 11:03AM

I support the perimeter layer idea too. We use chain compout for manual nesting of some jobs. The outline layer is used only to position the parts on the sheet and then the outline operation is manually removed from the code.

If it's easier for the programmers, maybe a setting to \"supress outline operations\" would get the job done.

Would be nice if we could get chain compout to obey double pass size again like it originally did.


Regards,
Dave
David Hall

Hall's Edge Inc.

eCabinets Machining Services

http://www.HallsEdge.com


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests