MY FIRST DXF

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

Joe Soto
Guru Member
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 7:50PM
Company Name: Fancyridge Wood Products LLC
Location: Greensburg, Ky

MY FIRST DXF

Postby Joe Soto » Mon, Jun 26 2006, 8:55AM

Hello everyone, I am trying to cut out a simple sign out of sign board, my problem is in the outline cut (no common close point) could someone look at it and tell me what I am doing wrong? It should be a square with a small border then the image 1in thick.
Thanks
Joe Soto

User avatar
Jason Susnjara
Thermwood Team
Posts: 1722
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 1:26PM
Location: Thermwood
Contact:

Postby Jason Susnjara » Mon, Jun 26 2006, 1:59PM

Hi Joe,

The reason the file called library signlayered.dxf gives you the error is because of the lines within the cutout of the person. If you look at the image below you will see that the red lines do not have closed entities. Your best bet would be to delete those red lines within the geometry. Just for a test, I deleted the red lines that you see below and then tried to nest the dxf file and it worked.
Attachments
dxf file.JPG
dxf file.JPG (92.4 KiB) Viewed 1476 times

Nick M Singer
Guru Member
Posts: 828
Joined: Fri, Jun 17 2005, 12:23AM
Location: South Africa

Postby Nick M Singer » Tue, Jun 27 2006, 12:16AM

Can you use the same layer name more than once Jason?

User avatar
Jason Susnjara
Thermwood Team
Posts: 1722
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 1:26PM
Location: Thermwood
Contact:

Postby Jason Susnjara » Tue, Jun 27 2006, 6:55AM

Nick,

You can only have 1 \"Outline\", but you can have multiple \"dados\", \"drills\", \"centertlines\", etc...

Nick M Singer
Guru Member
Posts: 828
Joined: Fri, Jun 17 2005, 12:23AM
Location: South Africa

Postby Nick M Singer » Thu, Jul 06 2006, 6:36AM

Is that with the provision that one geometry does not run above the other?

User avatar
Jason Susnjara
Thermwood Team
Posts: 1722
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 1:26PM
Location: Thermwood
Contact:

Postby Jason Susnjara » Thu, Jul 06 2006, 11:58AM

Nick,

I think there is a bug with using geometry on top of one another but it should work soon if it hasn't allready been fixed.

User avatar
Bill Rutherford
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 5:23AM
Location: Lancaster, NH
Contact:

Postby Bill Rutherford » Thu, Jul 06 2006, 3:11PM

Nick,
As far as I know the bug with recogonizing overlapping geometry regardless of the layer still exists. The answer is to offset the geomety by .001 between layers. Usually .001 will no cause a problem with parts.
Bill Rutherford
North Woods Manufacturing
Full service CNC Machining
and Edge Banding
http://www.northwoodsmanufacturing.com

Nick M Singer
Guru Member
Posts: 828
Joined: Fri, Jun 17 2005, 12:23AM
Location: South Africa

Postby Nick M Singer » Thu, Jul 06 2006, 11:57PM

Thanks Jason and Bill. Iwill test it again. I suppose a 0.001 offset is no big deal, I am overjoyed when my staff achieve accuracies of 1mm


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests