skiping holes

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

Forrest Chapman
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1091
Joined: Mon, May 30 2005, 2:26PM
Location: Anderson SC.
Contact:

skiping holes

Postby Forrest Chapman » Fri, Sep 29 2006, 9:22AM

Hey Guys,

This is nothing new but just wondering if its being fixed. When I run parts with shelf holes the router bores 4 holes of five for all the patterns then comes back and bores the last hole in all the sets. I'm on 4.94 RN.

Forrest

Michael S Murray
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 933
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 2:48PM
Location: Logansport, In
Contact:

Postby Michael S Murray » Fri, Sep 29 2006, 9:36AM

Hey Forrest, I am running the latest update and do not have that problem.
Mike

Mark Hesketh
Guru Member
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri, Aug 25 2006, 9:12AM
Company Name: Paris Kitchens
Country: CANADA
Location: Paris, ontario

Postby Mark Hesketh » Fri, Sep 29 2006, 12:33PM

i run into that problem all the time. we use dowel construction, so we have lots of holes all over our parts, and the machine is constantly jumping around to drill them in no order that i can figure out, and deffinately not optimizing cut-time. it's just one of those things i shake my head at some times.

Michael S Murray
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 933
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 2:48PM
Location: Logansport, In
Contact:

Postby Michael S Murray » Fri, Sep 29 2006, 12:37PM

Forrest I guess I took for granted you were talking about a drill bank,mine is fine with latest update in rolling nest.
Mike

User avatar
Jason Susnjara
Thermwood Team
Posts: 1722
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 1:26PM
Location: Thermwood
Contact:

Postby Jason Susnjara » Fri, Sep 29 2006, 1:14PM

Hi Forrest,

Since you have a drill bank, can you send me the cnc file for one of these problem jobs that skips the hole?

Hi Mark,

The way the holes are supposed to drill is after the machine drills the first hole, it should go to the next closest hole. If you do not think that this is the case, send me the .cnc file for a program that does it incorrectly.

thanks,

User avatar
Larry Epplin
Thermwood Team
Posts: 645
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:44PM
Location: Thermwood

Postby Larry Epplin » Fri, Sep 29 2006, 1:27PM

Also make sure your Drill Bank Boundaries are set properly.

User avatar
Brian Shannon
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 979
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 10:50PM
Location: Los Alamos, CA

Postby Brian Shannon » Fri, Sep 29 2006, 1:48PM

Forrest,

I drill my shelf holes individually with a 5mm bit. I am running RN 5.01 and just checked it. Same results as you are getting. My cabinet was NOT created in eCab V5 Build 10. I don't know if that would change anything.


Brian

Rob Davis
Guru Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Mon, May 23 2005, 5:43PM
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Postby Rob Davis » Fri, Sep 29 2006, 3:51PM

We do not have a drill bank and use a 5mm or 3mm drill for shelf holes. We have had this problem for as long as I remember. It has been on this forum before. We have found it to do this regardless of how many holes you drill. It is always only the last hole in the line. 5 holes or 30 holes, same result. It is not the end of the world but still makes you scratch your head when it is running!

Forrest Chapman
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1091
Joined: Mon, May 30 2005, 2:26PM
Location: Anderson SC.
Contact:

Postby Forrest Chapman » Fri, Sep 29 2006, 5:43PM

Guys,

Very sorry to start a conversation and leave you hanging. I do not have a drill bank and this is something that has been around for a while. It will drill 4 of the 5 holes in all the patterns and then come back and drill the fifth hole in all the patterns. Not a big deal just a little annoying. I also noticed that it started drilling some of my 5mm KD holes twice.

Will upgrade this weekend and see what happens.

Forrest

User avatar
Bill Rutherford
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 5:23AM
Location: Lancaster, NH
Contact:

Postby Bill Rutherford » Sat, Sep 30 2006, 5:50AM

I am still running 4.94 (No time to upgrade) and we see this on a regular basis. If there are three adjustable shelves each with 5 sets of holes, it will drill 4 sets of holes for each then go back and add the fifth set. This issue has been around so long, I really don't even notice it anymore, but it is something that should be dealt with at some point.
Bill Rutherford
North Woods Manufacturing
Full service CNC Machining
and Edge Banding
http://www.northwoodsmanufacturing.com

Brent Bogardus
Junior Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon, Dec 26 2005, 11:05PM

Postby Brent Bogardus » Sun, Oct 01 2006, 11:38PM

I have also had this problem for quite a while and just thought I had something set up wrong. Today I cut some end panels that had rows of 60 5mm holes. The machine drilled 59 holes up the x axis, moved over about 12 inches on the y axis drilled 59 holes down the x axis, moved over to the next panel did the same thing 59 holes. After that it came back and drilled the 60th hole on each of the four rows. Glad to hear it's not just me.

Brent Bogardus
Junior Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon, Dec 26 2005, 11:05PM

Postby Brent Bogardus » Sun, Oct 01 2006, 11:39PM

I have also had this problem for quite a while and just thought I had something set up wrong. Today I cut some end panels that had rows of 60 5mm holes. The machine drilled 59 holes up the x axis, moved over about 12 inches on the y axis drilled 59 holes down the x axis, moved over to the next panel did the same thing 59 holes. After that it came back and drilled the 60th hole on each of the four rows. Glad to hear it's not just me.

Mark Hesketh
Guru Member
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri, Aug 25 2006, 9:12AM
Company Name: Paris Kitchens
Country: CANADA
Location: Paris, ontario

Postby Mark Hesketh » Mon, Oct 02 2006, 8:05AM

all of my programs have the problem of the machine jumping all over the sheet to cut the holes in absolutely no logical order that i can figure out. here is the cnc file i just ran, try the very first sheet, it goes all over the place.
apparently i cannot upload a cnc file, so here it is in a zip file...
Attachments
holes.zip
(23.12 KiB) Downloaded 106 times

CameronEchols
Junior Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon, Aug 08 2005, 5:37PM
Location: mesa AZ

Postby CameronEchols » Mon, Oct 02 2006, 12:51PM

I have this problem also seems to waste a lot of time jumping around

Rob Frenette
Junior Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu, Nov 17 2005, 8:19PM
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Postby Rob Frenette » Mon, Oct 02 2006, 1:30PM

Hi Guys

Same problem on my machine.

RN 4.94
Rob Frenette
_______________

Calmark Cabinetry & Woodwork Ltd
Specializing in CNC Machining & Edgebanding


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests