Tool stuck in spindle

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

User avatar
Paul Ford
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 1:18AM
Location: Rotorua - NewZealand
Contact:

Tool stuck in spindle

Postby Paul Ford » Mon, Jan 07 2008, 2:20PM

Hi all,
We have a cabinetshop 40 here and didnt think to remove the tool out of the spindle before going on holiday for 2 weeks.
There must be a bit of moisture build up or something and for some reason we cant get the tool out of the spindle.
Just wondering if there is a way to manually get the tool out.... The main pressure to the machine is at 100psi and the pressure to the spindle is at 58psi.
Any tips are much appreciated!
Thanks,
Paul.

Michael Kowalczyk
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 11:35AM
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: Tool stuck in spindle

Postby Michael Kowalczyk » Mon, Jan 07 2008, 3:07PM

Hey Paul,
When this has happened to us, we just gave it the "Shock Treatment" meaning I would tap a smooth headed hammer, ball pean, on the right hand side of the "Z" plate as it was attempting a tool change. If you have line boring you may have to find a solid area on the"Z" plate that is accessible. I found that if you see any discoloration on your tool-holder that this can happen. We clean all our active and inactive tool-holders with WD-40 and a fine scotch brite pad. Then clean with a paper towel. They look just like new when done and maintained this way. Now this just treats the symptom's and prolongs the inevitable so I would make sure you have your air coming in nice and dry. If your compressed air is dry but you have a lot of humidity where you are, since it is summer down under, keeping them clean will help tremendously. Being in Houston,Texas means 90%+ humidity almost 1/2 of the year and this is how we cope with it.
Michael Kowalczyk, GM

HP-Elite Quad Core Q6700-4 MB ram, Nvidia GeForce 512 MB Dual HP 22" flat panels, Windows 7 ultimate 64bit SP1

User avatar
Paul Ford
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 1:18AM
Location: Rotorua - NewZealand
Contact:

Re: Tool stuck in spindle

Postby Paul Ford » Mon, Jan 07 2008, 3:16PM

Hi Michael,
Thank you very much for the tip, I will give it a try and let you know how I get on.
We clean the collets and turrets weekly with wd40 and scotch bright pad and we have a dryer which dries the air to the machine.
Thanks heaps!! :)

Michael J Starry
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue, Oct 03 2006, 9:40AM
Location: Brainerd, MN
Contact:

Re: Tool stuck in spindle

Postby Michael J Starry » Mon, Jan 07 2008, 3:46PM

Doesn't your machine have the tool lockout switch? If it does, flip that, then hold the green button to release the tool. It sometimes takes a while, but it will release manually then. If needed, a small and light rubber mallet tapped very lightly on the tool as you hold said green button will release it. You shouldn't need to perform this while it is actually executing a tool change. Just flip the tool lockout switch and depress the green button on the spindle. Hold until it releases.

User avatar
Paul Ford
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 1:18AM
Location: Rotorua - NewZealand
Contact:

Re: Tool stuck in spindle

Postby Paul Ford » Mon, Jan 07 2008, 3:58PM

Hi Michael, I have tried that. I havent tried tapping it with a rubber mallet at the same time however! Thanks for the tip. :D

User avatar
Paul Ford
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 1:18AM
Location: Rotorua - NewZealand
Contact:

Re: Tool stuck in spindle

Postby Paul Ford » Mon, Jan 07 2008, 5:21PM

Thank you all for your help, I got the tool out by giving it a tap while pushing the button. Seems to me that the operator has been miss behaving and hadn't cleaned the turret for a while so it had a fairly decent dust/moisture buildup on it.

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Re: Tool stuck in spindle

Postby DanEpps » Mon, Jan 07 2008, 5:30PM

Glad that worked for you Paul and you didn't have to get out the "Big Hammer." :joker: You might have to use it on the operator though to keep it from happening again. :wink:

User avatar
Paul Ford
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 1:18AM
Location: Rotorua - NewZealand
Contact:

Re: Tool stuck in spindle

Postby Paul Ford » Tue, Jan 08 2008, 6:31PM

Thanks Dan,
I might just put his finger inside the head of the machine and turn the router on to clean it out next time :wink:

User avatar
Thom Davies
Guru Member
Posts: 530
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 6:44PM
Company Name: Dawn Group
Country: NEW ZEALAND
Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Tool stuck in spindle

Postby Thom Davies » Tue, Jan 08 2008, 7:00PM

LOL u could try that paul but he'd need a retenshion Knob @ the end of his finger so the therm will work! or it would come up with drawer bar still open! lol

User avatar
Paul Ford
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 1:18AM
Location: Rotorua - NewZealand
Contact:

Re: Tool stuck in spindle

Postby Paul Ford » Tue, Jan 08 2008, 7:06PM

Haha good point thom! Oh well, bring out the makita!!!

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Re: Tool stuck in spindle

Postby DanEpps » Tue, Jan 08 2008, 7:19PM

Have either of you seen the TV commercial by DeWalt where a guy is drilling through a concrete wall and another guy walks by on the other side of the wall and...well, see for yourselves. :joker:
Attachments
PowerDrill.zip
(960.58 KiB) Downloaded 185 times

User avatar
Paul Ford
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 1:18AM
Location: Rotorua - NewZealand
Contact:

Re: Tool stuck in spindle

Postby Paul Ford » Tue, Jan 08 2008, 7:26PM

Now that guy needs a hammer!!! :joker:

jason galbraith
Senior Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed, Dec 10 2008, 3:29PM
Company Name: Eastcoast Ultimate
Country: AUSTRALIA
Contact:

Re: Tool stuck in spindle

Postby jason galbraith » Sun, Aug 21 2011, 7:36PM

The rubber hammer tapping worked a treat. Just make sure to have a bin full of rags underneath the spindle cos it shoots those bits out like a cannon.
Core i7-2600 @ 3.70Ghz - 8 GB ram - Win 7 Ultimate 64bit - 2 x 24" ASUS monitors - Nvidia 600 Quadro 1GB graphics
www.eastcoastultimate.com.au


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests