Vacuum Gauge

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

User avatar
Neville Bastian
Guru Member
Posts: 589
Joined: Fri, May 20 2005, 6:48PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Location: Albany Western Australia
Contact:

Vacuum Gauge

Postby Neville Bastian » Tue, Oct 21 2008, 7:24PM

I have two 300 cfm pumps going most of the time and I'm sure most times one would be sufficient.
I was thinking of fitting a gauge that told me what my hold down was and allow me to know when the second pump should be used.
Has anyone else fitted a gauge for this purpose?
Maybe the guys in the tech department could tell me what you could do if money wasn't a issue and then maybe a user could mention their thoughts on a low cost alternative?

Regards

Neville
Neville Australia

Gary Urlacher
Junior Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon, Jun 02 2008, 11:39AM

Re: Vacuum Gauge

Postby Gary Urlacher » Wed, Oct 22 2008, 8:33AM

I have a vacuum gage installed on the output of the pump. I rely on it alot to see what is going on.
I find with my pump that if it has been running for quite some time, the vacuum is better so I often monitor that
gage when small parts are on the nest such as drawer parts etc. If the vacuum gage is getting to what I think is low,
I adjust the feed rate and that helps with small parts.

In your case, you could start the second pump.

I really recommend you install a gage and I am taken back by the fact you do not have one. It really lets you know what is going on.
They are cheap and simple to install.

Cheers

Gary

User avatar
Neville Bastian
Guru Member
Posts: 589
Joined: Fri, May 20 2005, 6:48PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Location: Albany Western Australia
Contact:

Re: Vacuum Gauge

Postby Neville Bastian » Wed, Oct 22 2008, 8:47AM

Hi Gary,
Thanks for the tip.
So you have that on the outlet of your pump? Do you mean on your exhaust end? Maybe I misunderstood you.
The Gauge you have, is it anything special or a automotive type vacuum gauge?

Maybe a photo would be a neat thing to insert in your reply.

Thanks Neville
Neville Australia

Gary Urlacher
Junior Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon, Jun 02 2008, 11:39AM

Re: Vacuum Gauge

Postby Gary Urlacher » Wed, Oct 22 2008, 10:12AM

I have it on the metal fitting that is really the vacuum inlet of the pump.
It is not an automotive type gage. Mine is filled with fluid as well but I am not sure what that does.

It just taps into the vacuum line that runs to the router. You can get these gages from the pump manufactuer.

You will need to install a Tee fitting or something like that on the inlet side of the pump or purchase a fitting
from the people you get the gage from.


Gary

User avatar
Damon Nabors
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 923
Joined: Wed, Apr 05 2006, 5:50PM
Location: Marion, Ar.
Contact:

Re: Vacuum Gauge

Postby Damon Nabors » Wed, Oct 22 2008, 2:20PM

Mine has one also. Most higher quality gauges are liquid filled to prevent excessive needle movement from vibration and such.
Damon Nabors

Gary Urlacher
Junior Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon, Jun 02 2008, 11:39AM

Re: Vacuum Gauge

Postby Gary Urlacher » Thu, Oct 23 2008, 12:43AM

That makes sense.

Gary

Dave Burtchell
Junior Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu, Jun 30 2005, 10:04PM

Re: Vacuum Gauge

Postby Dave Burtchell » Thu, Oct 23 2008, 3:50PM

Neville,

We have a CS40. It has a 4" steel riser pipe bolted to the back of the gantry. It makes a 90* bend just before it changes to the plastic hose that loops under the table. We drilled and tapped 1/4"NPT and fitted a vac guage right at the elbow so it faces the operator. Sometimes the router is in front of it, but most times it's readily visible. Just a glance and you know how much suck you've got.

Hope this helps,
Dave


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests