Custom Desktop question

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Michael Billings
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu, Apr 06 2006, 10:57AM

Custom Desktop question

Postby Michael Billings » Thu, Feb 22 2007, 12:54PM

I was reading the forum a couple of weeks ago and read something about customizing the windows desktop so that all the toolbars and taskbars were all vertical, that is, running up the side of the screen instead of across the top. When I tried to find it again, I came up empty. I tried searching and browsing but could not find it again. The windows help was, well, no help.
Does anyone remember this or know where it is? I would like to try it as it would give me more vertical space on the screen for the cabinet rather than toolbars.
Thanks

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4618
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: Double E Cabinets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Postby Kerry Fullington » Thu, Feb 22 2007, 1:15PM

Michael,
Just click on the little grip at the start of each toolbar and drag them wherever you want.
Kerry
Attachments
screen_01.jpg
screen_01.jpg (144.92 KiB) Viewed 5435 times

Kent Holdeman
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri, Oct 20 2006, 6:53AM
Location: Louisville Ga.

Postby Kent Holdeman » Thu, Feb 22 2007, 1:19PM

Michael
Also on the windows taskbar you can grab it with left click anywhere in the center and then drag it where you want. Or you can right click on the taskbar, hit properties and choose auto hide. Then the taskbar stays out of the way until you move your mouse down there.

Rick Palechuk
Wizard Member
Posts: 1896
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 7:54PM
Company Name: Milltech Millworks Ltd.
Country: CANADA
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Postby Rick Palechuk » Thu, Feb 22 2007, 3:22PM

Try dual screens! Workspace on one, bars on the other.

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Re:

Postby DanEpps » Thu, Feb 22 2007, 3:48PM

Rick Palechuk wrote:Try dual screens! Workspace on one, bars on the other.


Why not quads? eCabinets on one, eCabinets Made Easy on one, TV (or video) on one and everything else on the 4th one.

Paul Huff
Junior Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 12:32AM
Location: Lubbock, Texas

Postby Paul Huff » Fri, Feb 23 2007, 12:58AM

Ok I gotta get in on this one. Imagine your whole wall as a monitor and everything you want and more on your wall anytime you want it. Just say computer beam me up. But this is way out in the distant future probably about 3 years or more. I cheated a bit here because I watched a Windows Vista demo and Bill Gates was changing a whole room like changing your Windows background. So in reality this is all already possible.

Rick Palechuk
Wizard Member
Posts: 1896
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 7:54PM
Company Name: Milltech Millworks Ltd.
Country: CANADA
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Postby Rick Palechuk » Fri, Feb 23 2007, 1:52AM

Yes! I believe up to twenty monitors.

Rick Palechuk
Wizard Member
Posts: 1896
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 7:54PM
Company Name: Milltech Millworks Ltd.
Country: CANADA
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Postby Rick Palechuk » Fri, Feb 23 2007, 1:53AM

You have a quad setup don'tcha Dan 8)

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Re:

Postby DanEpps » Fri, Feb 23 2007, 7:23AM

Paul Huff wrote:Ok I gotta get in on this one. Imagine your whole wall as a monitor and everything you want and more on your wall anytime you want it. Just say computer beam me up. But this is way out in the distant future probably about 3 years or more. I cheated a bit here because I watched a Windows Vista demo and Bill Gates was changing a whole room like changing your Windows background. So in reality this is all already possible.


Bill Gates has had a "monitor/TV wall" in his house for about 15 years or so. It used a custom implementation of Windows to tie it all together and this might be where some of the current multiple monitor ideas came from.

Personally, I like the "heads up" display in the bathroom mirror that allows you to watch the morning news/weather while you shave. You know the one I'm talking about--it's on a TV commercial--and it already exists.

I personally think the next 20 years in technology will amaze even those of us that take technology for granted now. The smart phone, in my opinion, will be the "hub" of our working and leisure lives. It will have more computing power than today's workstations and will be able to wirelessly interface with "monitors" built into bathroom mirrors and such. In fact, I see the monitor as we know it becoming a thin, foldable piece of plastic that you can carry in your pocket and unfold when you need it--the cocktail napkin of the future. This "cocktail napkin" monitor will of course be a touch screen that you can write on directly. Keyboards will no longer exist as voice recognition comes into its own as the preferred human interface.

I could go on but I need another cup of coffee... :shock:

Mike Seisser
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 544
Joined: Wed, Feb 22 2006, 11:40PM
Company Name: NCB Inc.
Country: UNITED STATES

Re:

Postby Mike Seisser » Fri, Feb 23 2007, 9:06AM

DanEpps wrote:Personally, I like the "heads up" display in the bathroom mirror that allows you to watch the morning news/weather while you shave. You know the one I'm talking about--it's on a TV commercial--and it already exists.


I was gonna post a picture of a closet cabinet I built a few years ago that incorporated a TV visible through a mirror, (closet/bathroom share a wall), but it seems I've reached my maximum upload quota. WTF? :o We've done a few of these over the years.......
Proper Planning Prevents Poor Production.

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Re:

Postby DanEpps » Fri, Feb 23 2007, 9:18AM

Mike Seisser wrote:I was gonna post a picture of a closet cabinet I built a few years ago that incorporated a TV visible through a mirror, (closet/bathroom share a wall), but it seems I've reached my maximum upload quota. WTF? :o We've done a few of these over the years.......


In the forum topic index, click on your name and you can go to the user control panel and delete old attachments

Mike Seisser
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 544
Joined: Wed, Feb 22 2006, 11:40PM
Company Name: NCB Inc.
Country: UNITED STATES

Re:

Postby Mike Seisser » Fri, Feb 23 2007, 9:46AM

DanEpps wrote:
Mike Seisser wrote:I was gonna post a picture of a closet cabinet I built a few years ago that incorporated a TV visible through a mirror, (closet/bathroom share a wall), but it seems I've reached my maximum upload quota. WTF? :o We've done a few of these over the years.......


In the forum topic index, click on your name and you can go to the user control panel and delete old attachments


If I do that, will the pics I've uploaded remain in their respective posts?
Proper Planning Prevents Poor Production.

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Postby DanEpps » Fri, Feb 23 2007, 9:47AM

Nope. I usually delete old or no longer relevant attachments.

Mike Seisser
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 544
Joined: Wed, Feb 22 2006, 11:40PM
Company Name: NCB Inc.
Country: UNITED STATES

Re:

Postby Mike Seisser » Fri, Feb 23 2007, 9:49AM

DanEpps wrote:Nope. I usually delete old or no longer relevant attachments.


Relevance....hmmmm. I'll have to check all my old posts.

Thanks Dan, happy Friday to ya.

Mike
Proper Planning Prevents Poor Production.

Michael Billings
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu, Apr 06 2006, 10:57AM

Postby Michael Billings » Mon, Feb 26 2007, 8:56PM

Kerry,
When I first read your post on \"simply grabbing the grip on the bar and dragging it to where you want it\", I felt rather stupid. I mean, duh! But as it turned out, I did not have grips and I couldn't grab them. I tried minimizing and making sure my whole window was visible on the screen, but to no avail. However, on my other computer, I have grips and it works! So, it wasnt my stupidity (at least not that time).
An interesting note: You know the little pop-up descriptions that materialize when you point at a button? They dont work when the menu bars are vertical. Go figure.
Thanks
Mike


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 43 guests