Graphics card for Dell laptop

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Geo Noeth
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri, Jul 15 2005, 6:35PM
Location: Charlotte NC

Graphics card for Dell laptop

Postby Geo Noeth » Wed, Jun 20 2007, 6:49AM

I have a friend who is running a Dell inspiron 6000 laptop I also use the same model since the later versions of ecabs wouldn't run on my desktop. His machine leaves tracks when positioning cabinets, mine seems to work fine. Both of us recently upgraded to two gig of memory and saw an improvement in ecabs performance. But he still gets the tracks.

My machine has a \"Radion ATI Mobility\" graphics card. While he seems to have no graphics card. So because I am a real smart guy I advised him to get a graphics card. Now we are trying to figure out what he can get that will fit in his machine and work with ecabs. Neither of us is real bright as to the ins and outs of PCs. He is on a limited budget so we thought we might check here for advise before calling Dell. Can anyone help us out?

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4624
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: Double E Cabinets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Postby Kerry Fullington » Wed, Jun 20 2007, 7:25AM

Geo,
Someone that knows something will probably have to chime in here but I think that in most laptops you are stuck with the graphics that came with it. There is no way to upgrade graphics.
Kerry

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Postby DanEpps » Wed, Jun 20 2007, 7:29AM

Kerry is correct, especially with the Insipron line of Dell laptops. The only Dell laptops that have choices in the video card are the XPS gaming systems and the Pricision Mobile Workstation systems. For eCabinets you want the Precision Mobile Workstation M90 for best performance. It is expensive but as with any tool, you get what you pay for.

User avatar
Dean Fehribach
Site Admin
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 2:10PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Thermwood

Postby Dean Fehribach » Wed, Jun 20 2007, 8:00AM

Well, there are people that offer used Dell parts. Here's a Dell ATI 128MB Radeon X300 for Inspiron 6000's.

Don't know if a laptop with an Intel Integrated can be upgraded to one of these or not.
Dean Fehribach
I.S. Mgr., Thermwood
Dell Workstation T1650 / XEON E3 / 8GB RAM / 1GB nVidia Quadro 600 / Windows 8 Pro x64

Geo Noeth
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri, Jul 15 2005, 6:35PM
Location: Charlotte NC

Postby Geo Noeth » Wed, Jun 20 2007, 8:52AM

Thanks guys. Dan you are certainly right but you seem to have little tolerance for those of us trying to get by on the cheap. I see your replies all the time and while I know you are right if we can solve this problem for $100 bucks instead of 3 to 4 thousand we are going to try it. Can you respect that?

Dean thanks for the thread I'm trying to follow up with them and see if it can be done.

If anyone has any direct experience any info would be appreciated.

mikesand
Senior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri, Jul 28 2006, 11:53AM
Location: Dallas Texs

Postby mikesand » Wed, Jun 20 2007, 8:56AM

My desktop does the green tracers also when placing cabinets. If you use the arrows it won't happen. I don't think that his laptop will accept a video card, but a quick call to Dell will confirm it. Have the service tag ready.

Mike

Geo Noeth
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri, Jul 15 2005, 6:35PM
Location: Charlotte NC

Postby Geo Noeth » Wed, Jun 20 2007, 11:48AM

Well it appears you guys know what you are talking about. they say that the only way of doing it is to replace the mother board. Thanks for the help and the good advice.

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Re:

Postby DanEpps » Wed, Jun 20 2007, 12:11PM

Geo Noeth wrote:Thanks guys. Dan you are certainly right but you seem to have little tolerance for those of us trying to get by on the cheap. I see your replies all the time and while I know you are right if we can solve this problem for $100 bucks instead of 3 to 4 thousand we are going to try it. Can you respect that?

Dean thanks for the thread I'm trying to follow up with them and see if it can be done.

If anyone has any direct experience any info would be appreciated.


I don't mean for it to sound that way Geo. I'm just passing along information based on over 30 years experience in the computer industry.

Not only that, but if you look at the recommended systems for eCabinets, you will note that the only laptop recommended is the Dell M90 mobile Workstation. This is because it has the necessary "horsepower" to run eCabinets in its current incarnation. Hopefully, future versions will have reduced the memory and video requirements to tolerable levels.

Again, please don't take it the wrong way, I'm just stating facts.

Joe Soto
Guru Member
Posts: 352
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 7:50PM
Company Name: Fancyridge Wood Products LLC
Location: Greensburg, Ky

Re: Graphics card for Dell laptop

Postby Joe Soto » Wed, Jun 20 2007, 11:12PM

[quote="Geo Noeth"] His machine leaves tracks when positioning cabinets, mine seems to work fine. quote]
Try backing down the acceleration and uncheck the box that says enable write combing
Joe

Geo Noeth
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri, Jul 15 2005, 6:35PM
Location: Charlotte NC

Postby Geo Noeth » Thu, Jun 21 2007, 7:09AM

Thanks Joe. How would one go about doing that?

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4624
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: Double E Cabinets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Postby Kerry Fullington » Thu, Jun 21 2007, 7:19AM

Right click on your Desktop
Choose Properties
Click on the Settings Tab
Click on the advanced button
Click on the Troubleshoot tab
This is what you are looking for

Kerry

Joe Soto
Guru Member
Posts: 352
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 7:50PM
Company Name: Fancyridge Wood Products LLC
Location: Greensburg, Ky

Postby Joe Soto » Thu, Jun 21 2007, 7:25AM

Geo, Right click on an empty space on your desk top, then properties, settings, then advanced, then troubleshoot. Back the slider down a little then try it. If it doesn't help go a little more.
Joe

Theodore R Fountain
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed, Jul 05 2006, 12:00PM
Location: New Hampshire
Contact:

Postby Theodore R Fountain » Thu, Jun 21 2007, 7:27PM

I don't think this has been brought up. But they were working on some external graphics cards for laptops. http://www.asus.com/news_show.aspx?id=5369 also check out the review at http://www.engadget.com/2007/01/08/hands-on-with-the-asus-xg-station-external-gpu
I have heard any buzz about these things so we'll have to wait and see if they even make them...

James L Aldrich
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri, Aug 12 2005, 5:20PM

Graphics card solution

Postby James L Aldrich » Fri, Jun 22 2007, 9:00AM

Thanks to Mr. George Noeth and Mr. Joe Soto. , The green tracks problem has been resolved. Thanks again!!!


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 52 guests