Mitered Cabinet

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Clint Buechlein

User avatar
John J. Desmond
Senior Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed, Oct 24 2007, 9:58PM
Company Name: Wood Designs Unlimited
Location: Joplin, Missouri
Contact:

Mitered Cabinet

Postby John J. Desmond » Mon, Aug 04 2008, 8:52PM

I am trying to figure out how to place three face frames on this cabinet. Do I have to use display boards and create the side frames? If it is not to difficult, how do you miter the frames at 22.5'' for presentation as well as to get a frame that is wide enough so all I have to do is miter the stile and have the frame the correct width?

John Desmond
J&S Furniture Design

New Mitered Cabinet.jpg

Rick Palechuk
Wizard Member
Posts: 1896
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 7:54PM
Company Name: Milltech Millworks Ltd.
Country: CANADA
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Re: Mitered Cabinet

Postby Rick Palechuk » Mon, Aug 04 2008, 11:21PM

Hey John, here's one made from a standard corner cab and a standard upper framed. I started with the corner cab and removed the sides. Then using the measurement dialog determined the width of frame I needed. I then brought in a standard upper framed, set the width to the measurement I needed (12"), removed all the parts except the face frame, copied and pasted a second FF. Then hilited and rotated them to the required angle. I then placed them using the Align Items dialog. Finally, I hilited the angled cab and went to the face frame editor and added 1/4" scribe to the stiles, that way the FF would meet in the corner. HTH

Save as an assembly :wink:
Attachments
corner faceframe.jpg
corner faceframe.jpg (11.43 KiB) Viewed 3089 times
corner faceframe.esa
(374.02 KiB) Downloaded 231 times

User avatar
John J. Desmond
Senior Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed, Oct 24 2007, 9:58PM
Company Name: Wood Designs Unlimited
Location: Joplin, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Mitered Cabinet

Postby John J. Desmond » Tue, Aug 05 2008, 4:05PM

Rick,

Thanks for the information. I wondered if that was the only way. This helps alot.

John D.
J&S Furniture Design

User avatar
John J. Desmond
Senior Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed, Oct 24 2007, 9:58PM
Company Name: Wood Designs Unlimited
Location: Joplin, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Mitered Cabinet

Postby John J. Desmond » Tue, Aug 05 2008, 6:14PM

Hey Rick,

I am trying to download your esa. file but ecabs won't open it. I have done this before (I think) and now I can't. Help!!! How do you do this?

John D.
J&S Furniture Design

Rick Palechuk
Wizard Member
Posts: 1896
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 7:54PM
Company Name: Milltech Millworks Ltd.
Country: CANADA
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Re: Mitered Cabinet

Postby Rick Palechuk » Tue, Aug 05 2008, 11:24PM

Hi John, you need to save it to disc. My computer defaults to desktop, so from there I right click on start menu>program files>Thermwood>eCabinet Systems>assemblies. If you haven't got a file other than Standard then right click>New and start a new folder. I have one for downloads I call it Downloads :) . From there just drag and drop, or copy -paste the file in, close everything, then open eCabs and load the assembly. :beer:

Bob Segneri
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed, Oct 22 2008, 11:06AM

Re: Mitered Cabinet

Postby Bob Segneri » Thu, Nov 13 2008, 9:47AM

I followed the directions and I go to programs and put the file in assemblies, it shows up but I can't find it in assemblies when I right click install item.
When I go back to programs/ thermwood/assemblies it is there and looks like a sheet of paper wiht the top right corner folded. I've shearched the forms but still haven't figured out what I am doing wrong. :fire:

User avatar
George Davidson
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1585
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 1:16PM
Location: Norwood Pa.

Re: Mitered Cabinet

Postby George Davidson » Thu, Nov 13 2008, 1:25PM

Hi Bob Like Rick said you have to put it into a folder First

Rick Palechuk wrote:Hi John, you need to save it to disc. My computer defaults to desktop, so from there I right click on start menu>program files>Thermwood>eCabinet Systems>assemblies. If you haven't got a file other than Standard then right click>New and start a new folder. I have one for downloads I call it Downloads :) . From there just drag and drop, or copy -paste the file in, close everything, then open eCabs and load the assembly. :beer:


Return to “Customer Images”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests