fixed shelves and doors

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Mark Hesketh
Guru Member
Posts: 366
Joined: Fri, Aug 25 2006, 9:12AM
Company Name: Paris Kitchens
Country: CANADA
Location: Paris, ontario

fixed shelves and doors

Postby Mark Hesketh » Tue, May 11 2010, 1:27PM

Is there a way to add a door to a cabinet after fixed shelves have been applied, that will automatically span the entire cabinet and re-size properly when the cabinet height is changed? I know I can put a door in say the top of 2 openings with a negative inset for the bottom edge, but when the height of that cabinet is changed, the inset is fixed and wouldn't hold to the bottom of the cabinet.

User avatar
Brad McIntosh
Guru Member
Posts: 540
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 6:59PM
Company Name: CNC Automation
Country: CANADA
Location: St. Zotique, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: fixed shelves and doors

Postby Brad McIntosh » Tue, May 11 2010, 2:41PM

Mark,

Try putting the door(s) on first and then adding the fixed shelves.
Brad McIntosh
CNC Automation

Home: http://www.cncautomation.com
Twitter: @bmcncautomation

Mark Hesketh
Guru Member
Posts: 366
Joined: Fri, Aug 25 2006, 9:12AM
Company Name: Paris Kitchens
Country: CANADA
Location: Paris, ontario

Re: fixed shelves and doors

Postby Mark Hesketh » Wed, May 12 2010, 12:52PM

yeah, but is there any way to do it after the shelves have been placed. I find myself making very odd cabinets quite often and only after finally figuring out how to get everything in place do I remember to add the door.

Rick Palechuk
Wizard Member
Posts: 1896
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 7:54PM
Company Name: Milltech Millworks Ltd.
Country: CANADA
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Re: fixed shelves and doors

Postby Rick Palechuk » Wed, May 12 2010, 2:18PM

Mark, you can add the door after you design the carcase by just entering the height of the door in construction settings. The door still won't resize if you change cabinet height. :(

Mark Hesketh
Guru Member
Posts: 366
Joined: Fri, Aug 25 2006, 9:12AM
Company Name: Paris Kitchens
Country: CANADA
Location: Paris, ontario

Re: fixed shelves and doors

Postby Mark Hesketh » Thu, May 13 2010, 12:29PM

Could we add this to the wish list please?

How about the ability to ctrl-click on several openings and have the "add door" feature then look at those openings as one?

It's amazing how often I could use this

jason galbraith
Senior Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed, Dec 10 2008, 3:29PM
Company Name: Eastcoast Ultimate
Country: AUSTRALIA
Contact:

Re: fixed shelves and doors

Postby jason galbraith » Thu, May 13 2010, 4:41PM

I too vote for this. Yes you can fit the shelves afterwards, but I find I might use the same cabinet a few times with different door gaps and that means rebuilding
Core i7-2600 @ 3.70Ghz - 8 GB ram - Win 7 Ultimate 64bit - 2 x 24" ASUS monitors - Nvidia 600 Quadro 1GB graphics
www.eastcoastultimate.com.au


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 36 guests