DXF dado cuts wrong?

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1260
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

DXF dado cuts wrong?

Postby Josh Rayburn » Mon, Dec 27 2010, 9:48AM

Is the dado boundary on a dxf layer name supposed to be overcut in length?
I have a dxf file with dadoes and the length of the dado is being overcut by the radius of the tool on both ends. Overall the dado measures the length + tool diameter. Is this by design?
jnr
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

User avatar
Larry Epplin
Thermwood Team
Posts: 644
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:44PM
Location: Thermwood

Re: DXF dado cuts wrong?

Postby Larry Epplin » Mon, Dec 27 2010, 10:20AM

Yes this is by design. It is treated the same as a Full Dado operation to clean up the corners. If you wish to create a dado without this extension being added then you must use a Pocket layer name.

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1260
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: DXF dado cuts wrong?

Postby Josh Rayburn » Mon, Dec 27 2010, 11:54AM

Thanks for the quick response Larry. That's actually less work for me, but it does not help the 5 sheets I've already screwed up figuring that out. :( :cry: :( I wonder if it was always done that way, not that it matters now....Thanks anyway though, hope you had a nice holiday!
jnr
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 2 guests