DXF help please

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

jason galbraith
Senior Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed, Dec 10 2008, 3:29PM
Company Name: Eastcoast Ultimate
Country: AUSTRALIA
Contact:

DXF help please

Postby jason galbraith » Sun, Apr 03 2011, 7:25PM

Hi. I was wondering if someone more knowledgeable than myself can help me out with this customers DXF files. It keeps freezing up the parts editor when i try to import it.

You will need to change the file extension from .txt to .dxf

Thanks a lot.

Jason
Attachments
Fretwork2.txt
(323.45 KiB) Downloaded 238 times
Fretwork1.txt
(323.1 KiB) Downloaded 223 times
Core i7-2600 @ 3.70Ghz - 8 GB ram - Win 7 Ultimate 64bit - 2 x 24" ASUS monitors - Nvidia 600 Quadro 1GB graphics
www.eastcoastultimate.com.au

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4619
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: Double E Cabinets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: DXF help please

Postby Kerry Fullington » Mon, Apr 04 2011, 6:39AM

Jason,

I converted them from metric to imperial and was able to import them to eCabinets. You still have to be patient, there are a lot of lines and arcs.

Kerry
Attachments
Fretwork1.zip
(111.06 KiB) Downloaded 221 times

jason galbraith
Senior Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed, Dec 10 2008, 3:29PM
Company Name: Eastcoast Ultimate
Country: AUSTRALIA
Contact:

Re: DXF help please

Postby jason galbraith » Mon, Apr 04 2011, 3:45PM

Thanks Kerry, will give it a shot :beer:
Core i7-2600 @ 3.70Ghz - 8 GB ram - Win 7 Ultimate 64bit - 2 x 24" ASUS monitors - Nvidia 600 Quadro 1GB graphics
www.eastcoastultimate.com.au

jason galbraith
Senior Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed, Dec 10 2008, 3:29PM
Company Name: Eastcoast Ultimate
Country: AUSTRALIA
Contact:

Re: DXF help please

Postby jason galbraith » Thu, Apr 07 2011, 9:05PM

Hey Kerry, I managed to get the part into part editor and can cut out the holes, but for the life of me, I cannot get the fancy pattern to cut out. Did you get past this? If so how? I've left the computer running for long periods and it does not seem to help. Thanks. Jason
Core i7-2600 @ 3.70Ghz - 8 GB ram - Win 7 Ultimate 64bit - 2 x 24" ASUS monitors - Nvidia 600 Quadro 1GB graphics
www.eastcoastultimate.com.au

JohnLashuay
Guru Member
Posts: 645
Joined: Mon, Nov 20 2006, 3:39PM
Company Name: Rylex Custom Cabinetry-Close
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Pine Island, New York
Contact:

Re: DXF help please

Postby JohnLashuay » Fri, Apr 08 2011, 9:20AM

Hi Jason!

I had the same results. I was able to cut the holes, but when "creating the part using a closed contour" the "next" button would come up, but the closed contour wouldn't turn green and when clicking the next button, nothing would happen.

Not sure what is going on.

-John
Rylex Custom Cabinetry & Closets
http://www.rylexonline.com
Thermwood CS 43

User avatar
George Davidson
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1585
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 1:16PM
Location: Norwood Pa.

Re: DXF help please

Postby George Davidson » Fri, Apr 08 2011, 2:33PM

Hi Jason
See if this is what you want
In the Zip file it has 3 DXF (left,center and right end)
Put one in and cut it (do that to each one) then it will work
The one I made is out of a display cube.
But you can not open it till someone helps me I need to size a steel I-Baem it has to be 40' Ft long it will have to holed two floor on top of it :joker:
Attachments
Trim_141.732 x 5.125 x .75.esa
(1.69 MiB) Downloaded 206 times
Trim_141.732 x 5.125 x .75.jpg
Trim_141.732 x 5.125 x .75.zip
(42.39 KiB) Downloaded 193 times

User avatar
George Davidson
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1585
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 1:16PM
Location: Norwood Pa.

Re: DXF help please

Postby George Davidson » Fri, Apr 08 2011, 2:37PM

The garage
Attachments
Pictures_SB_3-30-11.jpg
Pictures_SB_2_3-30-11.jpg

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4619
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: Double E Cabinets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: DXF help please

Postby Kerry Fullington » Fri, Apr 08 2011, 7:02PM

Jason,

The problem is that your .dxf is made from 4290 separate lines. I haven't found a way to reduce that number to simplify the drawing.

User avatar
George Davidson
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1585
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 1:16PM
Location: Norwood Pa.

Re: DXF help please

Postby George Davidson » Fri, Apr 08 2011, 7:36PM

Kerry now if you put it in to the parts editor can you cut it out with my 3-DXF
In ViaCAD I come up with 587 put then I group them then it is one for me

jason galbraith
Senior Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed, Dec 10 2008, 3:29PM
Company Name: Eastcoast Ultimate
Country: AUSTRALIA
Contact:

Re: DXF help please

Postby jason galbraith » Sun, Apr 10 2011, 4:43PM

Anyone from Thermwood able to offer any input on this one?

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4619
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: Double E Cabinets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: DXF help please

Postby Kerry Fullington » Mon, Apr 11 2011, 7:06AM

Jason,

I did some research on this and it seems there is some software that will reduce the number of segments (lines) in a drawing like yours but I don't have any of them. It seems that it is much easier to explode a drawing into its individual parts than it is to combine them.
George's method breaks your drawing into three parts which greatly reduces the number of entities eCabinets must deal with abut is not ideal for cutting you part.
I wonder if some of the Cad/Cam software could simplify the drawing.

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1263
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: DXF help please

Postby Josh Rayburn » Mon, Apr 11 2011, 7:48AM

I can do that Kerry, I'll try to take a look this afternoon....I'm swamped at the moment....
jnr
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

User avatar
Scott G Vaal
Thermwood Team
Posts: 1740
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:44PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Location: Thermwood Corp: Dale, Indiana
Contact:

Re: DXF help please

Postby Scott G Vaal » Mon, Apr 11 2011, 1:55PM

Jason,

The dxf's that you posted have polylines and light weight polylines in them. These will get converted into many small lines and creates unnecessary overhead. We recommend that dxf files only contain lines and arc/circles. I have loaded your dxf files into another cad software that we use that converts these polylines into arcs. I have attached them here for you to use (there is a metric and imperial version of the 2 files you posted). I also attached a cabinet that I cut this pattern into if you want it for review.
Attachments
Fretwork_Metric-n-Imperial_sgv.zip
(47.97 KiB) Downloaded 213 times
Test3.hsf
(5.17 MiB) Downloaded 206 times
Regards,

Scott Vaal
-Thermwood/eCabinet Systems-
Dell Precision / Xeon E3-1240 / 8GB RAM /NVIDIA Quadro K2000

jason galbraith
Senior Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed, Dec 10 2008, 3:29PM
Company Name: Eastcoast Ultimate
Country: AUSTRALIA
Contact:

Re: DXF help please

Postby jason galbraith » Mon, Apr 11 2011, 5:08PM

That seems to have done the trick. Thank you so much everyone who has put their time into looking at this for me. Very much appreciated.

Cheers

Jason
Core i7-2600 @ 3.70Ghz - 8 GB ram - Win 7 Ultimate 64bit - 2 x 24" ASUS monitors - Nvidia 600 Quadro 1GB graphics
www.eastcoastultimate.com.au

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4619
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: Double E Cabinets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: DXF help please

Postby Kerry Fullington » Sun, May 01 2011, 9:38AM

I want to address the problem many are having importing .dxf files into eCabinets (discussed in this thread and a related thread on the ShopBot Link forum)
I still feel that the problem lies in the fact that the .dxf files are not created using true lines and arcs but polylines.

eCabinets will interpret true lines and arcs just as you draw them but if your .dxf is created using polylines then eCabinets will interpret arcs as multiple segments of straight lines which can overwhelm the software and cause other problems.

Gary Campbell and I have been discussing this for several days now and have come up with a pretty good solution to the problem.

Download the free cad software Draft Sight located HERE

If you have a drawing created using polylines (eCabinets interprets arcs as segments) then open it in this software, use the select all command to select all entities, and then use the explode command. This will turn the polylines into arcs and lines. Save this as a .dxf. (I use the R12 Version to be safe) It should now work great in eCabinets.

I tried using the explode command on my older version of Intellicad but it would not get the job done. You may try the explode in your cad software but Gary and I have found that the Draft Sight software seems to work quite well.

I was even able to draw a profile in Draft Sight using a spline and explode it (into segments) then open it in eCabinets.

I was able to use this procedure on Jason's fretwork and create a part in eCabinets with no problems.

jason.jpg


Hope this helps


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests