Cut through depth added to chain

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1262
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Cut through depth added to chain

Postby Josh Rayburn » Mon, Mar 05 2012, 9:12AM

It appears that the last couple of lines on the first chain operations to occur are getting the cut-through depth added. I can't figure out why.
First chain operation in the code goes from .735 to .740"
Not a huge problem for this job but I can see it biting me later.....
Any additional info needed, please let me know.
Thanks
jnr
Attachments
ControlNest5-66.zip
(319.47 KiB) Downloaded 73 times
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1262
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: Cut through depth added to chain

Postby Josh Rayburn » Mon, Mar 05 2012, 9:18AM

Actually on closer inspection the second group of chain operations also seem to have an odd combination of Z values.
Perhaps this is because the vectors for the first pass are identical to (and share vertices with) the second pass?
Is CN getting confused from this?
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

Daniel Vonderheide
Thermwood Team
Posts: 358
Joined: Wed, May 17 2006, 11:25AM
Location: Thermwood

Re: Cut through depth added to chain

Postby Daniel Vonderheide » Mon, Mar 05 2012, 9:27AM

josh,

email me the export from your machine with this job loaded. I will look into it. Program@Thermwood.com

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1262
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: Cut through depth added to chain

Postby Josh Rayburn » Mon, Apr 23 2012, 1:04PM

Daniel, did you ever look into this by any chance?
Just got bit again. I'm assuming that since the original post was a while ago, I actually did send a sample file(s) as requested, but who knows......I have an old "hard drive" in my knot and it don't quite spin up like it used to....
jnr
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

Daniel Vonderheide
Thermwood Team
Posts: 358
Joined: Wed, May 17 2006, 11:25AM
Location: Thermwood

Re: Cut through depth added to chain

Postby Daniel Vonderheide » Tue, May 01 2012, 7:45AM

I never received the files requested. Please send the most recent files to program@thermwood.com along with information on the issue. This way, if I am not the tech that looks at it, they will know what they are looking for.

User avatar
Larry Epplin
Thermwood Team
Posts: 645
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:44PM
Location: Thermwood

Re: Cut through depth added to chain

Postby Larry Epplin » Mon, May 07 2012, 12:13PM

Hi Josh. We ran across this issue working on another problem. It should be resolved for the next update of Control Nesting.

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1262
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: Cut through depth added to chain

Postby Josh Rayburn » Mon, May 07 2012, 3:44PM

Thanks Larry, much appreciated.
jnr
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests