DXF files with flip ops

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

User avatar
Jeremy Schiffer
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 954
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 9:36PM
Location: Carnesville, GA
Contact:

DXF files with flip ops

Postby Jeremy Schiffer » Mon, Apr 15 2013, 10:32AM

Has anyone had any trouble using DXF files with flip ops?

I have CN set to do flip-ops first. When I load the DXF and write the CNC code, it is not obeying the tool depth for the flip-ops. They are cutting all the way to the wasteboard. I'm setting the depth at material thickness minus depth of cut, as specified in the CN manual. Even if I were setting it wrong, it still shouldn't be going to the wasteboard.

My material thickness is 12mm, and the G code is indeed going to Z-12mm, even though it should only be going to Z-2.5mm for one tool, and Z-9mm for another tool. Both are going to 12.

Am I missing something, or is there an issue with DXF flips?

I'm attaching the DXF file (change the TXT extension to DXF, of course)... would love it if someone could look at it and maybe see something I'm not seeing! Thanks!
Attachments
seatback3.txt
(23.55 KiB) Downloaded 123 times
http://www.corlanecabinetry.com

Intel Core i7-5820 3.3GHz, 16GB RAM, NVidia Quadro K2200 4GB, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit

User avatar
Jeremy Schiffer
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 954
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 9:36PM
Location: Carnesville, GA
Contact:

Re: DXF files with flip ops

Postby Jeremy Schiffer » Mon, Apr 15 2013, 10:42AM

I'm now sure that CN is ignoring the depth specified in the "back" operations in my DXF file. I've changed the depth to several different values, and each time the actual CNC code is written to the same depth, 12.1mm; which is my material thickness plus the cut-through depth of .1mm. Ugh.

Anyone have any ideas for a workaround? Not surprisingly, this is a rush job...
http://www.corlanecabinetry.com

Intel Core i7-5820 3.3GHz, 16GB RAM, NVidia Quadro K2200 4GB, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1261
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: DXF files with flip ops

Postby Josh Rayburn » Mon, Apr 15 2013, 11:14AM

Well there's one I haven't seen before.
Could you attach a CN export?
jnr
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

Daniel Odom
Senior Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu, Oct 20 2011, 12:52PM
Company Name: Carlton Kitchen and Bath
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: DXF files with flip ops

Postby Daniel Odom » Mon, Apr 15 2013, 1:16PM

There is no z value in the layer name, see screenshot. Sometimes I have a problem where layer names that are too long get truncated and values are dropped off the end of the name. To counter this I remove spaces and any unnecessary zeros before decimal point "P".

I don't think that 's the case here though, looks more like a typo.
Attachments
Capture.PNG
screen shot

User avatar
Jeremy Schiffer
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 954
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 9:36PM
Location: Carnesville, GA
Contact:

Re: DXF files with flip ops

Postby Jeremy Schiffer » Mon, Apr 15 2013, 1:55PM

Hmm, good catch, Daniel. Indeed, when I open the DXF file in Solidworks (instead of the .SLDDRW file) I see it is truncating the layer names. I see it also is inserting the underscore between CHAIN and COMPIN/COMPOUT. I didn't have a space there. I did have a space between BACK and CHAINCOMPIN/CHAINCOMPOUT. I'll try eliminating all the spaces, but I bet that still won't get me enough room for the Z to fit.

Thanks for the catch, I appreciate it! I'll post back with my findings.
http://www.corlanecabinetry.com

Intel Core i7-5820 3.3GHz, 16GB RAM, NVidia Quadro K2200 4GB, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit

User avatar
Jeremy Schiffer
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 954
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 9:36PM
Location: Carnesville, GA
Contact:

Re: DXF files with flip ops

Postby Jeremy Schiffer » Mon, Apr 15 2013, 2:08PM

Daniel, I owe you a beer, my friend! That was the problem. :beer:
http://www.corlanecabinetry.com

Intel Core i7-5820 3.3GHz, 16GB RAM, NVidia Quadro K2200 4GB, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests