Installing over a network

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

jason galbraith
Senior Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed, Dec 10 2008, 3:29PM
Company Name: Eastcoast Ultimate
Country: AUSTRALIA
Contact:

Installing over a network

Postby jason galbraith » Mon, Apr 29 2013, 6:57PM

Sorry it's probably been asked a lot before, but can Ecabs or even library, materials etc.be installed on on nasbox or server and then all the other computers link back to that. We now have 5 computers running Ecabs and the Librarys are on each computer and of course changes get made to one library and not the other and it's getting really messy.
Core i7-2600 @ 3.70Ghz - 8 GB ram - Win 7 Ultimate 64bit - 2 x 24" ASUS monitors - Nvidia 600 Quadro 1GB graphics
www.eastcoastultimate.com.au

User avatar
Jason Susnjara
Thermwood Team
Posts: 1722
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 1:26PM
Location: Thermwood
Contact:

Re: Installing over a network

Postby Jason Susnjara » Wed, May 01 2013, 9:15AM

Hi Jason,

I understand your issue and realize that a lot of our users have this problem but at this time, eCabinets is not capable of running on a server.

thanks,
Jason Susnjara
V.P., Marketing
Thermwood Corp.

On YouTube:
http://www.youtube.com/ThermwoodCNC
Thermwood Blog:
http://blog.thermwood.com

Rick Deskins
Thermwood Team
Posts: 828
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:47PM
Company Name: Thermwood
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Thermwood

Re: Installing over a network

Postby Rick Deskins » Wed, May 01 2013, 10:17AM

While eCabinets can not be run on a server, the user data directory can be placed on a network share and all the computer can map the network drive to a drive letter and point it to this directory. All users will see the same cabinets, assemblies, doors, drawers, jobs, etc. The settings is found under Settings/Preferences under User Data Path. A couple things to note. 1. Materials is not be shared between computers 2. The Hardware database is not shared between computers. The only way to sync those is to do a backup and restore. 3. There is no file locking. So users can save over each others work.
Rick Deskins
eCabinet Systems Programmer
Dell Precision / Xeon E3-1240 / 8GB RAM/ AMD FirePro V4900

jason galbraith
Senior Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed, Dec 10 2008, 3:29PM
Company Name: Eastcoast Ultimate
Country: AUSTRALIA
Contact:

Re: Installing over a network

Postby jason galbraith » Wed, May 01 2013, 4:09PM

Thank you.
Core i7-2600 @ 3.70Ghz - 8 GB ram - Win 7 Ultimate 64bit - 2 x 24" ASUS monitors - Nvidia 600 Quadro 1GB graphics
www.eastcoastultimate.com.au

jason galbraith
Senior Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed, Dec 10 2008, 3:29PM
Company Name: Eastcoast Ultimate
Country: AUSTRALIA
Contact:

Re: Installing over a network

Postby jason galbraith » Mon, Aug 26 2013, 11:46PM

Hi there, so we finally got around to insalling a NAS and I've shared my library - copied the entire thermwood folder over to the NAS - and shared it and it SEEMS to work, but it keeps throwing up this error whenever i save or open jobs, does it pretty much all the time doesn't matter whether I click yes or no. Do you know what might be causing this?
Attachments
Error 1.JPG
Core i7-2600 @ 3.70Ghz - 8 GB ram - Win 7 Ultimate 64bit - 2 x 24" ASUS monitors - Nvidia 600 Quadro 1GB graphics
www.eastcoastultimate.com.au

User avatar
Brad McIntosh
Guru Member
Posts: 480
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 6:59PM
Company Name: CNC Automation
Location: St. Zotique, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Installing over a network

Postby Brad McIntosh » Mon, Sep 16 2013, 8:49AM

I will quickly guess that it may be the apostrophe " ' " in the directly path. When it is being parsed by the "scripting sub-system" that "symbol" in "jason's library" may be messing things up. Try keeping apostrophe's, double quotes, @ and &'s out of the directory path names and see.

jason galbraith
Senior Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed, Dec 10 2008, 3:29PM
Company Name: Eastcoast Ultimate
Country: AUSTRALIA
Contact:

Re: Installing over a network

Postby jason galbraith » Mon, Sep 23 2013, 4:15PM

Great thinking. I'll give that a try. Thanks.
Core i7-2600 @ 3.70Ghz - 8 GB ram - Win 7 Ultimate 64bit - 2 x 24" ASUS monitors - Nvidia 600 Quadro 1GB graphics
www.eastcoastultimate.com.au


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests