Improve Dust Pickup CS43

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1262
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: Improve Dust Pickup CS43

Postby Josh Rayburn » Fri, Mar 15 2013, 4:28PM

It's hard to keep up with that router, ain't it Kerry?
:D :beer:
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

Michael Kowalczyk
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 11:35AM
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: Improve Dust Pickup CS43

Postby Michael Kowalczyk » Fri, Mar 15 2013, 4:42PM

Kerry,
Sounds like you got it covered. if you went to 650+ from 500 it would only make you have to work faster. There is an 1,100.00+- (per tool) option that would clean your table very good.

http://www.napgladu.com/news/general-ne ... cn-series/

and a few others all in the same price range...funny how that happens... Aerotool I think is one and there is another. I think Thermwood is testing one...at least there was talk in Atlanta last year at the AWF. I personally like the RCN one since you do not need special tooling or have to send it to them to mount it every time. RCN is just a big cover nut. May need a new tool holder fixture. Watch the video and see if this can solve your dust problem. I would be pretty sure it could solve it but can it be cost-justified
Michael Kowalczyk, GM

HP-Elite Quad Core Q6700-4 MB ram, Nvidia GeForce 512 MB Dual HP 22" flat panels, Windows 7 ultimate 64bit SP1

Jason Lacireno
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu, Mar 14 2013, 7:49AM
Company Name: L-ami Du Bois
Country: CANADA

Re: Improve Dust Pickup CS43

Postby Jason Lacireno » Tue, Mar 26 2013, 7:19AM

This Explains why would be extremely difficult to change Depth of the Bowl...

The tool holders on the C-40 are on stilts wich allow for a deeper grab, unlike the CS-43 wich cant go too far down because of the table...sucks...need try to make the vacuum pathway diameter bigger somehow :?
Attachments
20130326_075140.jpg
20130326_075126.jpg

Jim Carter
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon, Nov 30 2009, 3:51PM
Company Name: Jim Carter Corp.

Re: Improve Dust Pickup CS43

Postby Jim Carter » Wed, Jul 03 2013, 12:24PM

I have a 43 and have always had excessive dust/chip problems.
I am convinced the problem is the restrictions caused by the dust hood, as shown in Jason's post.
The cs40 has two 4" pipes where the cs43 only has one, but with the same work to do. Every book I have read tells me that "when you reduce the size of the pick up pipe from 6" coming to the machine to less then 4" or 3 at the hood you have reduced air volume, reduced velocity, and increased static pressure." Try this. Cut a board the way you normally would, then, with out moving the board from the router, disconnect the 6" flex hose from the spindle and hold it 1 " or so above the board you just cut. move it around and see how much dust/chips are being sucked up. This is what we should have picked up the first go around if not for the restrictions caused by the dust hood. One of these days I have to redesign this because its not just about sweeping the floor the dust on the parts is also a problem to clean up.
jim@jimcartercorp.com
973-224-0221
Ringwood, New Jersey


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests