Problem during tool length opp

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

Forrest Chapman
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon, May 30 2005, 2:26PM
Location: Anderson SC.
Contact:

Problem during tool length opp

Postby Forrest Chapman » Tue, Sep 03 2013, 6:07AM

After having a little episode on the router last night during which I emergency stopped, I sent the router home and turned everything off. I booted up this morning and put the tool back in to do a tool length. The head moved over but not down and hovered there reporting that it was "Waiting for router to stop". I've tried rebooting and pulling the tool out and back in but no luck. The program is stopping on an M60L-21 command. I can't find any loose wires or connections either.

Anybody got an idea whats going on?

Thanks, Forrest





viewtopic.php?f=7&t=8299&p=45959&hilit=Router+has+not+stopped+moving#p45959

Forrest Chapman
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon, May 30 2005, 2:26PM
Location: Anderson SC.
Contact:

Re: Problem during tool length opp

Postby Forrest Chapman » Tue, Sep 03 2013, 6:53AM

As an addition the other part of the error is "The program/manual switch must be in the program mode".

Still waiting on Thermwood to open.

Forrest

Rob Davis
Guru Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Mon, May 23 2005, 5:43PM
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Problem during tool length opp

Postby Rob Davis » Tue, Sep 03 2013, 11:15AM

Before you estopped, did you take speed dial to 0? head will traverse but not go down if speed variable is on 0. Just wondering if you are like me and sometimes can't see the forest in the middle of the trees.

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: ProSource of Amarillo
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: Problem during tool length opp

Postby Kerry Fullington » Wed, Sep 04 2013, 6:27AM

Forrest,
I had a similar problem once and it turned out to be nothing more than dust under the tool sensor.
Something to try.

Kerry

David Egnoski
Senior Member
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 1:05PM
Company Name: Richmond Cabinet
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Delavan, WI

Re: Problem during tool length opp

Postby David Egnoski » Wed, Sep 04 2013, 6:48AM

I had this same problem yesterday. Dust under the sensor was the issue.
Dave Egnoski
Richmond Cabinet & Millwork

Rob Davis
Guru Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Mon, May 23 2005, 5:43PM
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Problem during tool length opp

Postby Rob Davis » Mon, Sep 09 2013, 7:48AM

Forrest, was it dirt under the sensor??

Forrest Chapman
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon, May 30 2005, 2:26PM
Location: Anderson SC.
Contact:

Re: Problem during tool length opp

Postby Forrest Chapman » Fri, Sep 20 2013, 8:14AM

In the 10.5 years of having the machine I've encountered dust in the sensor many times. As a habit now before a tool change I tap on the sensor a few times. The problem ended up being the variable speed drive. Not an inexpensive fix. The guys at Thermwood were great though and sent me the program settings so I could do it myself.

Thanks, Forrest


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests