DXF Pocket problem

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

User avatar
Steve Dyches
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed, May 24 2006, 1:52PM
Location: Beech Island, SC
Contact:

DXF Pocket problem

Postby Steve Dyches » Wed, Feb 19 2014, 10:25AM

Hi Folks,

A couple of questions:

I'm trying to learn how to better use the DXF capability of my controller and have a test part that represents most part features we use. See attached DXF.

Can someone tell me what is wrong with the pocket over the tenon intended to create my tenon (Cutting it down in thickness) for blind dado joint? It will not machine.
It is .25" wide over .25" tenon and has ends rounded for full cut. I have a pocket tool set at .23 and it would not work at that setting or when set at .25.

I also had trouble with the circle pocket until, after reading old threads, I split it into two halves.
Is there anyway to pocket a larger circle without splitting it into two arcs?
I have 20mm, 10mm, 5mm holes which work fine as drill operations (that is what they are).

And lastly, when loading the part which has the outline layer set to .699 the controller would not load it until I selected a material with .7 thickness. I thought the outline layer specified the thickness of the part.
Any idea why it ask for .7 material instead of .699?

Thanks,

Steve
Thanks,

Steve Dyches
http://www.frostkeading.com

User avatar
Steve Dyches
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed, May 24 2006, 1:52PM
Location: Beech Island, SC
Contact:

Re: DXF Pocket problem

Postby Steve Dyches » Wed, Feb 19 2014, 10:27AM

well, I was unable to upload. "The extension dxf is not allowed." any other option or would someone let me send this to them via email?

thanks
Thanks,

Steve Dyches
http://www.frostkeading.com

User avatar
Scott G Vaal
Thermwood Team
Posts: 1741
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:44PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Location: Thermwood Corp: Dale, Indiana
Contact:

Re: DXF Pocket problem

Postby Scott G Vaal » Wed, Feb 19 2014, 11:26AM

Steve,

It is best to create a zip of the file and then attach it.
Regards,

Scott Vaal
-Thermwood/eCabinet Systems-
Dell Precision / Xeon E3-1240 / 8GB RAM /NVIDIA Quadro K2000

User avatar
Steve Dyches
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed, May 24 2006, 1:52PM
Location: Beech Island, SC
Contact:

Re: DXF Pocket problem

Postby Steve Dyches » Wed, Feb 19 2014, 11:38AM

hope this uploads...
Attachments
Sample Part.zip
(7.82 KiB) Downloaded 110 times
Thanks,

Steve Dyches
http://www.frostkeading.com

User avatar
Scott G Vaal
Thermwood Team
Posts: 1741
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:44PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Location: Thermwood Corp: Dale, Indiana
Contact:

Re: DXF Pocket problem

Postby Scott G Vaal » Wed, Feb 19 2014, 12:06PM

Steve,

Seems to work for me and my Control Nesting settings. Please send an export from your Control Nesting. In Control Nesting, load the dxf in question, then select File, then Export. Attach the file that it creates (you may want to zip it).
Regards,

Scott Vaal
-Thermwood/eCabinet Systems-
Dell Precision / Xeon E3-1240 / 8GB RAM /NVIDIA Quadro K2000

User avatar
Steve Dyches
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed, May 24 2006, 1:52PM
Location: Beech Island, SC
Contact:

Re: DXF Pocket problem

Postby Steve Dyches » Wed, Feb 19 2014, 12:43PM

Here is the file you asked for.
Attachments
Control Nest.zip
(827.95 KiB) Downloaded 94 times
Thanks,

Steve Dyches
http://www.frostkeading.com

Dave Poulin
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue, Mar 30 2010, 6:20PM
Company Name: Silver Creek Cabinetry
Country: CANADA
Location: Welland
Contact:

Re: DXF Pocket problem

Postby Dave Poulin » Wed, Feb 19 2014, 1:00PM

To create a pocket, it needs to be a polyline. When you draw a circle in autocad (at least) it is not a polyline. You need to use pedit (in autocad) to convert that circle into a polyline.
CN will treat all circles as a drill operation only.
David Poulin
Shop Manager
http://www.cabinetworksplus.com

User avatar
Scott G Vaal
Thermwood Team
Posts: 1741
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:44PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Location: Thermwood Corp: Dale, Indiana
Contact:

Re: DXF Pocket problem

Postby Scott G Vaal » Wed, Feb 19 2014, 2:02PM

Steve,

The reason it will not pocket is because you have a .05" clean-up amount set. So, even your .1855" tool will not fit in the .25" wide pocket (.1855+.05+.05=.2855). So, if you set the clean up to zero, it will use the .246" diameter tool to pocket it. If you set the clean-up to .03", it will then use your .1855" tool to pocket it. If you would like it to use the .246" tool for this half cut, and you feel you need the .05 clean-up, then you can oversize the pocket towards the outside of the part by .1" and then it will use the .246" tool.
Regards,

Scott Vaal
-Thermwood/eCabinet Systems-
Dell Precision / Xeon E3-1240 / 8GB RAM /NVIDIA Quadro K2000

User avatar
Steve Dyches
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed, May 24 2006, 1:52PM
Location: Beech Island, SC
Contact:

Re: DXF Pocket problem

Postby Steve Dyches » Wed, Feb 19 2014, 2:02PM

Dave,

are you saying CN will treat "ALL" circles as a drill or all that are not converted to a polyline?
Thanks,

Steve Dyches
http://www.frostkeading.com

User avatar
Steve Dyches
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed, May 24 2006, 1:52PM
Location: Beech Island, SC
Contact:

Re: DXF Pocket problem

Postby Steve Dyches » Wed, Feb 19 2014, 2:05PM

Scott,

Thanks. I had not even noticed that setting. I guess that clean up is kind of like a final pass allowance in ArtCAM.

I'll go test. Thanks very much!
Thanks,

Steve Dyches
http://www.frostkeading.com

User avatar
Steve Dyches
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed, May 24 2006, 1:52PM
Location: Beech Island, SC
Contact:

Re: DXF Pocket problem

Postby Steve Dyches » Wed, Feb 19 2014, 2:40PM

Update:

Scott,
That worked as you already know.
Any idea why the CN is asking for .7 material when the outline is .699? Not a big deal just wondering.

Dave,
Converting the circle to a polyline also worked.
However, I was unable to get the "pedit" command to make a polyline out of the circle.
For others who may not have known like me.....I found a tip that suggested using the "boundary" command in AutoCAD.
After starting boundary command click inside the circle and it creates a polyline on top of the existing circle. It machined the circle made from polyline perfectly.

Thanks Guys!
Always helpful forum here.
Thanks,

Steve Dyches
http://www.frostkeading.com

User avatar
Scott G Vaal
Thermwood Team
Posts: 1741
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:44PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Location: Thermwood Corp: Dale, Indiana
Contact:

Re: DXF Pocket problem

Postby Scott G Vaal » Wed, Feb 19 2014, 3:14PM

Steve Dyches wrote:Update:

Scott,
That worked as you already know.
Any idea why the CN is asking for .7 material when the outline is .699? Not a big deal just wondering.


Steve,

Yes, with futher examination, I noticed you do not have the layer names quite correct for stated z depths. For example, you have: outline 0p699 as a layer name and it should be outline z0p699. Just add the "z" to each layer name and it will work as designed/expected.
Regards,

Scott Vaal
-Thermwood/eCabinet Systems-
Dell Precision / Xeon E3-1240 / 8GB RAM /NVIDIA Quadro K2000

User avatar
Steve Dyches
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed, May 24 2006, 1:52PM
Location: Beech Island, SC
Contact:

Re: DXF Pocket problem

Postby Steve Dyches » Wed, Feb 19 2014, 5:45PM

Scott,

That solved my issue with material thickness. thanks.
Thanks,

Steve Dyches
http://www.frostkeading.com

User avatar
Brad McIntosh
Guru Member
Posts: 482
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 6:59PM
Company Name: CNC Automation
Location: St. Zotique, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: DXF Pocket problem

Postby Brad McIntosh » Thu, Feb 20 2014, 10:12AM

Dave, Steve and all...

If I am not mistaken (and someone can correct me if I am wrong)-

With Layered DXFs, if you define ANY circular entity (a full actual circle/arc with no breaks) as a DRILL operation (define it on a DRILL layer) - no matter how large/small in diameter - Control Nesting will use the follow process to figure out how to machine it (all automatically):

  • Control Nesting will try and machine it with a drilling operation IF a DRILL tool/operation is found first that matches the full arc/circle diameter. (Make sure your real drill are always listed first!)
  • If a matching Drilling operation/tool is not found, then Control Nesting will continue through the operations looking for the first one available that can interpolate the full arc/circle. (I don't recommend interpolating past 2x tool diameter)
  • If a matching Interpolation operation/tool is not found, then Control Nesting will attempt to pocket the area using the available pocketing operation/tools and parameters.

Let me know if this proves out.


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests