Switchspoil Issue, Please Help.

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

User avatar
Steve Dyches
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed, May 24 2006, 1:52PM
Location: Beech Island, SC
Contact:

Switchspoil Issue, Please Help.

Postby Steve Dyches » Fri, Feb 06 2015, 4:22PM

Hi Folks,

I flycut my main spoil board and was going to adjust the switch on the tool sensor. When I search for M999 it takes me to the macro. There I changed the switchspoil value and hit save.

BUT, when I measure the tools afterwards the daylight is not changing. It seems that the M999 I changed is not where the program is pulling from.

Suggestions?


Thanks in advance.
Thanks,

Steve Dyches
http://www.frostkeading.com

Daniel Odom
Senior Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu, Oct 20 2011, 12:52PM
Company Name: Carlton Kitchen and Bath
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: Switchspoil Issue, Please Help.

Postby Daniel Odom » Fri, Feb 06 2015, 9:07PM

Maybe try re-sizing the machine if you haven't already? You can also edit the macro with notepad, doesn't have to be done via THM interface.

User avatar
Steve Dyches
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed, May 24 2006, 1:52PM
Location: Beech Island, SC
Contact:

Re: Switchspoil Issue, Please Help.

Postby Steve Dyches » Mon, Feb 09 2015, 7:26AM

What does "re-sizing the machine" mean?

My change this time was via notepad and a shortcut I had saved on the desktop the last time we changed the setting.

?
Thanks,

Steve Dyches
http://www.frostkeading.com

User avatar
Brad McIntosh
Guru Member
Posts: 482
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 6:59PM
Company Name: CNC Automation
Location: St. Zotique, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Switchspoil Issue, Please Help.

Postby Brad McIntosh » Mon, Feb 09 2015, 11:22AM

Steve,

I assume that you have an older machine that does not use Thermwood's built-in FLYCUT routine? (If you were using it, you would not be modifying the M999 yourself as it is done automatically.)

If you are using the process as it was originally intended, I believe that you are modifying the wrong variable. The SWITCHSPOIL value is what was calibrated originally to the TOP of a new 3/4" MDF spoil board. Unless your ATLS switch gets knocked and relocated, this value usually never changes. I strongly suggest your return the SWITCHSPOIL variable back to the value prior to your change.

The value your are probably wanting to adjust is the ACTSPOIL variable. The ACTSPOIL is used to keep track of your ACTUAL spoil board thickness. The controller then compares this to the ORGSPOIL variable to determine how to adjust the DAYLIGHT on the fly during a tool change. (The ORGSPOIL should reflect the original spoil board thickness that was used to calibrate the ATLS device. ie the SWITCHSPOIL variable) By using the ACTSPOIL to track the spoil board thickness, you never have to re-measure tools after a flycut as the controller can make the adjustments to the DAYLIGHT on automatically.

Alternatively, you may have never been using the ACTSPOIL and ORGSPOIL variables. If so, then they would/should have identical values in your M999 and then instead, you may be replying solely on the SWITCHSPOIL value, in which case - after you flycut your main spoil board, you would have to remeasure ALL tools prior using them.

You may want to refer to your manual and/or contact Thermwood in order to confirm which of the above does indeed relate to your machine/control version or process in place.


Hope this helps some...

User avatar
Steve Dyches
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed, May 24 2006, 1:52PM
Location: Beech Island, SC
Contact:

Re: Switchspoil Issue, Please Help.

Postby Steve Dyches » Wed, Feb 11 2015, 5:54PM

Hi Brad,

Thanks for your reply. The following statement is my situation:

"Alternatively, you may have never been using the ACTSPOIL and ORGSPOIL variables. If so, then they would/should have identical values in your M999 and then instead, you may be replying solely on the SWITCHSPOIL value, in which case - after you flycut your main spoil board, you would have to remeasure ALL tools prior using them."

I've actually never noticed that the ACTSPOIL and ORGSPOIL existed until after you mentioned them. They are BOTH set to .750. The manual I have directs that anytime the main spoil board is flycut the SWITCHSPOIL has to be adjusted in the M999 macro. This is what we have done the few times we have done it. And yes, then remeasure all loaded tools. However, when I alter the SWITCHSPOIL setting now and remeasure there is no change in the daylight of the tools.

It's as though the computer is reading from a different version of the macro that I'm not changing. I look to see where the macro was located and it is the only M999 under THM/ macros.
I'll have to call tomorrow and see if I can get some help.

Thanks
Thanks,

Steve Dyches
http://www.frostkeading.com

User avatar
Steve Dyches
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed, May 24 2006, 1:52PM
Location: Beech Island, SC
Contact:

Re: Switchspoil Issue, Please Help.

Postby Steve Dyches » Thu, Feb 12 2015, 11:16AM

Problem Corrected. For any others behind the learning curve like myself....

Apparently since the last time I have flycut the spoil board perhaps there has been a controller update that has changed the way to alter the SWITCHSPOIL.
After looking at the digital version of the operators manual in the controller I saw instructions to go to Machine Variables (which is under the edit tab). This is different than our original printed documentation.
There I changed the SWITCHSPOIL setting which worked.

Note to self: Refer to digital version of operators manual first as it must be updated along with controller updates.
Thanks,

Steve Dyches
http://www.frostkeading.com

Will Williamson
Guru Member
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu, Dec 08 2005, 6:10PM
Company Name: Williamson Finewoodwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Capac MI
Contact:

Re: Switchspoil Issue, Please Help.

Postby Will Williamson » Thu, Feb 12 2015, 1:37PM

What year and model machine are you running ?
Will

http://www.willmade.com

KEG/Intel Core i 7 CPU K875 @ 2.93 GHZ/12G Ram
Dual boot XP PRO/Windows 7 Nvidia Quatro 600 1Gig Ram

User avatar
Steve Dyches
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed, May 24 2006, 1:52PM
Location: Beech Island, SC
Contact:

Re: Switchspoil Issue, Please Help.

Postby Steve Dyches » Thu, Feb 12 2015, 3:31PM

CS45-249 is the machine.

Purchased new approximately 2008.
Thanks,

Steve Dyches
http://www.frostkeading.com

Will Williamson
Guru Member
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu, Dec 08 2005, 6:10PM
Company Name: Williamson Finewoodwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Capac MI
Contact:

Re: Switchspoil Issue, Please Help.

Postby Will Williamson » Fri, Feb 13 2015, 9:14AM

Mine is an 2007, CS 45-060, I had not noticed any difference, in way I adjust my settings after surfacing.
Will

http://www.willmade.com

KEG/Intel Core i 7 CPU K875 @ 2.93 GHZ/12G Ram
Dual boot XP PRO/Windows 7 Nvidia Quatro 600 1Gig Ram

User avatar
Steve Dyches
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed, May 24 2006, 1:52PM
Location: Beech Island, SC
Contact:

Re: Switchspoil Issue, Please Help.

Postby Steve Dyches » Fri, Feb 13 2015, 10:16AM

Just curious, how do you change it? Through the M999 macro or in the Machine Variables table under the edit tab? Or other?
Thanks,

Steve Dyches
http://www.frostkeading.com

Will Williamson
Guru Member
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu, Dec 08 2005, 6:10PM
Company Name: Williamson Finewoodwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Capac MI
Contact:

Re: Switchspoil Issue, Please Help.

Postby Will Williamson » Sat, Feb 14 2015, 9:07AM

I am still changing the M999 macro. That is why I ask. So, are there other options now, for doing this on my Machine? I guess I will have to read the manual
Will

http://www.willmade.com

KEG/Intel Core i 7 CPU K875 @ 2.93 GHZ/12G Ram
Dual boot XP PRO/Windows 7 Nvidia Quatro 600 1Gig Ram

User avatar
Steve Dyches
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed, May 24 2006, 1:52PM
Location: Beech Island, SC
Contact:

Re: Switchspoil Issue, Please Help.

Postby Steve Dyches » Mon, Feb 16 2015, 8:54AM

Will,

The way I found out there was another way was the "old way" of changing the M999 wasn't having any affect on the tool measures.

When you are at the machine open up the digital version of the operators manual, I think it's under the top tab far right tab.
Type in "Switchspoil" in the search box.
When I did it gave me instructions different than my original printed operators manual. It refereed to the "machine variables". So, I then typed a search for "machine variables" which brought me to a screenshot showing they are located under the edit tab.

The short of it is that, on my controller, there is a table of machine variables that includes the "switchspoil" variable. I changed it in that table and everything worked fine.
Much easier than the old way.
Thanks,

Steve Dyches
http://www.frostkeading.com

User avatar
Brad McIntosh
Guru Member
Posts: 482
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 6:59PM
Company Name: CNC Automation
Location: St. Zotique, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Switchspoil Issue, Please Help.

Postby Brad McIntosh » Mon, Feb 16 2015, 9:17AM

Gentlemen,

The Machine Variable Database (or MVD as I like to refer to it as) was introduced around THM version 7.2. This was the same time as the built-in "FLYCUT" system added to the controller. The MVD tool on the functionality of the M999 "system macro". Note: The M999 macro still exists on the newer machines but is there solely for legacy support and is usually empty.


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests