phantom gable

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Steve Detina
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed, Jul 20 2005, 7:29AM
Company Name: Silhouette Custom Cabinets
Country: CANADA
Location: Hamilton, Ontario

phantom gable

Postby Steve Detina » Tue, Mar 17 2015, 1:27PM

Ok Guys,

I am having a issue from time to time and it is with phantom/duplicate parts that are appearing both in the nest on ecab and when I take it to the control at the CNC.

Attached is a pdf of a nested cabinet in the batch where there is a extra gable, On the first page there is one gable that is missing dado's and one that has the dado's. The second page has a third gable that has dado's. The other two correct gables have the dados.
Attachments
test cab.pdf
(9.8 KiB) Downloaded 104 times

Steve Detina
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed, Jul 20 2005, 7:29AM
Company Name: Silhouette Custom Cabinets
Country: CANADA
Location: Hamilton, Ontario

Re: phantom gable

Postby Steve Detina » Tue, Mar 17 2015, 1:36PM

I am also attaching a copy HSF files
Attachments
W3Dr w-kick 84h 21d 31-25w.jpg
W3Dr w-kick 84h 21d 31-25w.jpg (8.98 KiB) Viewed 1080 times
W3Dr w-kick 84h 21d 31-25w.hsf
(1.82 MiB) Downloaded 30 times

Steve Detina
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed, Jul 20 2005, 7:29AM
Company Name: Silhouette Custom Cabinets
Country: CANADA
Location: Hamilton, Ontario

Re: phantom gable

Postby Steve Detina » Tue, Mar 17 2015, 2:21PM

I don't know how but it looks like some how down the like ecab was able to attach two left gables to the same cabinet.

Part one

I created a new batch and nested the cabinet
three gables appear, two left one right
back to the batch and then I took the cabinet into the cabinet editor
deleted the left end. (unselected it from the tab has left ed in construction settings)
there was the second left gable with no dado's.
when i nested the cabinet again there was only two gables one with dado's and one without.

Part two

I created a new batch with the original cabinet file and nest the cabinet.
three gables show up, two left one right.
from the batch i choose to edit the cabinet and again deleted the left end.
still one left end
I did it a second time (delete the left end) and there was no left end at all
before going back to the batch i did a CTRL Z and the left end was returned
I returned to the batch and nested the cabinet again and now there is only one left and one right gable both with dado's
this is the way it should be.
why did ecab associate to left ends to the cabinet?

User avatar
Scott G Vaal
Thermwood Team
Posts: 1741
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:44PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Location: Thermwood Corp: Dale, Indiana
Contact:

Re: phantom gable

Postby Scott G Vaal » Wed, Mar 18 2015, 1:15PM

Steve,

Is this the only cabinet that you see this issue with? Is this a cabinet you use a lot? I am not sure how it got this way, but viewing the internal history of this cabinet shows it goes way back to Sept 28, 2006 with Version 5.0 Bld 10. At this point I would suggest that you try to fix it or remake it from scratch and verify that all is working with it. Then, if you were to see it happen again, let us know and we will investigate it further.
Regards,

Scott Vaal
-Thermwood/eCabinet Systems-
Dell Precision / Xeon E3-1240 / 8GB RAM /NVIDIA Quadro K2000

Steve Detina
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed, Jul 20 2005, 7:29AM
Company Name: Silhouette Custom Cabinets
Country: CANADA
Location: Hamilton, Ontario

Re: phantom gable

Postby Steve Detina » Wed, Mar 18 2015, 1:46PM

Scott,

thanks for the reply, I guess this makes me a dinosaur with eCab. This cabinet is a seed cabinet from my library, and I have created a couple of other cabinets for this particular project that had problems. I have already remade the cabinet from the standard directory and have cut the project. I was just concerned it was something to do with my process in altering cabinets within ecab. Let me know if there are any issues like this and how they get resolved.

Cheers

Steve

User avatar
Scott G Vaal
Thermwood Team
Posts: 1741
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:44PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Location: Thermwood Corp: Dale, Indiana
Contact:

Re: phantom gable

Postby Scott G Vaal » Wed, Mar 18 2015, 4:13PM

Steve,

At this time we are unaware of any current issues that may cause this double part scenario. If you were to have it happen from a cabinet known to be good, please let us know your steps (or any info you can give us about it). If we can reproduce it, we can fix it. If I become aware of a path for this, I will try to let you know about it and of course we would then resolve it as soon as possible. Have a great day.
Regards,

Scott Vaal
-Thermwood/eCabinet Systems-
Dell Precision / Xeon E3-1240 / 8GB RAM /NVIDIA Quadro K2000


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 9 guests