Cnc is loading jobs slow and slow in general

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

Chris Armstrong
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue, May 19 2015, 7:44PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Country: AUSTRALIA

Cnc is loading jobs slow and slow in general

Postby Chris Armstrong » Wed, Sep 23 2015, 8:07PM

we have a Thermwood MTR36004 3 axis machine.

Over the years the machine has been gradually getting slower and slower, for example when i go in to the control nesting it sometimes takes a while for it to load up and then when we go to load a job that also takes some time to load and nest. a simple turn on off, does seem to affect it. when it is cutting it is fine, its just slow on loading jobs, nesting and opening control nesting.

i have removed cnc files and twd files from the machine to clear up space to hopefully give it some speed.
my first thought is if its not the files could it be the ram on its way out? or the ecabinets updates require more ram to read the updated cabinets?
although the machine has a fair amount of ram and unsure if the motherboard would even support more.

do you guys know what else i could be missing? or if there is something else that could be slowing it down?

thanks

Chris Armstrong
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue, May 19 2015, 7:44PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Country: AUSTRALIA

Re: Cnc is loading jobs slow and slow in general

Postby Chris Armstrong » Mon, Oct 12 2015, 7:54PM

disk defragment or disk cleanup cleaned up alot of files but still hasnt really made much of a difference to the speed of loading.

Daniel Odom
Senior Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu, Oct 20 2011, 12:52PM
Company Name: Carlton Kitchen and Bath
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: Cnc is loading jobs slow and slow in general

Postby Daniel Odom » Tue, Oct 13 2015, 7:55AM

Try breaking up your jobs into smaller batches. Also, clear the load list, close the nesting and then open it again between batches. That seems to help me anyhow.

Chris Armstrong
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue, May 19 2015, 7:44PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Country: AUSTRALIA

Re: Cnc is loading jobs slow and slow in general

Postby Chris Armstrong » Tue, Oct 13 2015, 7:12PM

Thanks daniel i will give that a shot, just a tad unsure on what you mean by close the nesting and then open it again between batches do you mean clear what has been loaded?

thanks for the ideas i will give that a try

Daniel Odom
Senior Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu, Oct 20 2011, 12:52PM
Company Name: Carlton Kitchen and Bath
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: Cnc is loading jobs slow and slow in general

Postby Daniel Odom » Wed, Oct 14 2015, 8:22AM

Yeah, I clear the list, hit ok, then exit out of nesting to the main thm screen and then open up nesting and load a new job.

Will Williamson
Guru Member
Posts: 396
Joined: Thu, Dec 08 2005, 6:10PM
Company Name: Williamson Finewoodwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Capac MI
Contact:

Re: Cnc is loading jobs slow and slow in general

Postby Will Williamson » Wed, Oct 14 2015, 1:05PM

So, how much ram do you have?
Will

http://www.willmade.com

KEG/Intel Core i 7 CPU K875 @ 2.93 GHZ/12G Ram
Dual boot XP PRO/Windows 7 Nvidia Quatro 600 1Gig Ram

Chris Armstrong
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue, May 19 2015, 7:44PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Country: AUSTRALIA

Re: Cnc is loading jobs slow and slow in general

Postby Chris Armstrong » Thu, Oct 15 2015, 6:06PM

hi william, we are using 1Gb of ram

Will Williamson
Guru Member
Posts: 396
Joined: Thu, Dec 08 2005, 6:10PM
Company Name: Williamson Finewoodwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Capac MI
Contact:

Re: Cnc is loading jobs slow and slow in general

Postby Will Williamson » Fri, Oct 16 2015, 6:45AM

What operation system? Can you bump it up to at least 4 gig. That would make a big improvement.
Will

http://www.willmade.com

KEG/Intel Core i 7 CPU K875 @ 2.93 GHZ/12G Ram
Dual boot XP PRO/Windows 7 Nvidia Quatro 600 1Gig Ram

Forrest Chapman
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1079
Joined: Mon, May 30 2005, 2:26PM
Location: Anderson SC.
Contact:

Re: Cnc is loading jobs slow and slow in general

Postby Forrest Chapman » Fri, Oct 16 2015, 9:32AM

Chris, buy THM desktop for your computer and you will never look back. I think its $1k to start with and $200 a year renewal. I would assume you have a fairly robust computer for running ecabs or other design software so not only will it free up your router to just run code but control nest will process much faster on your computer.

Forrest

Chris Armstrong
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue, May 19 2015, 7:44PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Country: AUSTRALIA

Re: Cnc is loading jobs slow and slow in general

Postby Chris Armstrong » Sun, Oct 18 2015, 10:30PM

hi william , we are using windows xp so im not sure if that allows for a higher ram to be used? im unfamiliar with xp

thanks for the idea Forrest, but at this time its not practical for us to do it that way.

Will Williamson
Guru Member
Posts: 396
Joined: Thu, Dec 08 2005, 6:10PM
Company Name: Williamson Finewoodwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Capac MI
Contact:

Re: Cnc is loading jobs slow and slow in general

Postby Will Williamson » Mon, Oct 19 2015, 7:36AM

You can add up to 4 gig of ram. it will make a big difference. newegg.com
Will

http://www.willmade.com

KEG/Intel Core i 7 CPU K875 @ 2.93 GHZ/12G Ram
Dual boot XP PRO/Windows 7 Nvidia Quatro 600 1Gig Ram

Chris Armstrong
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue, May 19 2015, 7:44PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Country: AUSTRALIA

Re: Cnc is loading jobs slow and slow in general

Postby Chris Armstrong » Tue, Oct 20 2015, 1:09AM

thanks will

i will organize them and i will report back when they are installed

thanks again

chris

Chris Armstrong
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue, May 19 2015, 7:44PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Country: AUSTRALIA

Re: Cnc is loading jobs slow and slow in general

Postby Chris Armstrong » Wed, Nov 11 2015, 7:53PM

[i have installed new ram they are 2 sticks of 2gb, but on startup makes a continuous beep and does not boot up. which means either the ram is faulty or the mother board doesnt support 2gb sticks
do you guys know if this is the case or?

cnc .ram....jpg

Will Williamson
Guru Member
Posts: 396
Joined: Thu, Dec 08 2005, 6:10PM
Company Name: Williamson Finewoodwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Capac MI
Contact:

Re: Cnc is loading jobs slow and slow in general

Postby Will Williamson » Wed, Nov 11 2015, 10:27PM

You have to replace it with the same style that the machine came with. I called thermwood to find what was in mine originally.
Mine was DDR400 consisting of 4 (1) gig sticks
Will

http://www.willmade.com

KEG/Intel Core i 7 CPU K875 @ 2.93 GHZ/12G Ram
Dual boot XP PRO/Windows 7 Nvidia Quatro 600 1Gig Ram

Chris Armstrong
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue, May 19 2015, 7:44PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Country: AUSTRALIA

Re: Cnc is loading jobs slow and slow in general

Postby Chris Armstrong » Wed, Nov 11 2015, 10:33PM

yeah i read the ram and ours is DDR400 too, but the motherboard must not support 2gb ram sticks, thanks for your help will see what i can find in 1 gig


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests