Cnc is loading jobs slow and slow in general

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

User avatar
Gerry A Brown
Senior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri, May 27 2005, 8:56AM
Company Name: Old Style Woodwork
Country: CANADA
Location: Southern Alberta

Re: Cnc is loading jobs slow and slow in general

Postby Gerry A Brown » Thu, Nov 12 2015, 9:03AM

Hi,

Some ram needs to be installed in banks. You should consult the mother board manual for that information. If you don't have the manual you can find the mother board model printed on the board then do a internet search for the manual. On my board if I am using 2 slots I need to use the first and third slot.

HTH
Gerry

Chris Armstrong
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue, May 19 2015, 7:44PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Country: AUSTRALIA

Re: Cnc is loading jobs slow and slow in general

Postby Chris Armstrong » Mon, Nov 16 2015, 11:53PM

have orderd some more ram, 4 x 1gb sticks of ram, its the same speed. will see how they go when they arrive. fingers crossed.

Michael Yeargain
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1738
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 8:33PM
Company Name: Timeless Cabinetry and Mantles
Location: South East
Contact:

Re: Cnc is loading jobs slow and slow in general

Postby Michael Yeargain » Tue, Nov 17 2015, 10:27PM

MOST older systems wont support 2gig cards, some WILL support 2-2gig cards. But all will/should support 4-1gig cards providing there are 4 slots. Also they need to be "PAIRED".

The BEEPS are error signals and literally has "codes" like a car relative to the "beeps".. for diagnostics.
Windows 7 Pro/10 Pro 64 bit
AMD Phenom 9650 Quad-Core Processor 2.3Ghz 8GRAM 1TB
NVIDIA GeForce GT 220 1GB

Chris Armstrong
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue, May 19 2015, 7:44PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Country: AUSTRALIA

Re: Cnc is loading jobs slow and slow in general

Postby Chris Armstrong » Wed, Nov 18 2015, 1:20AM

thanks michael, i have had a look and there are 4 slots so should have no problems now. will confirm when the ram has arrived

Chris Armstrong
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue, May 19 2015, 7:44PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Country: AUSTRALIA

Re: Cnc is loading jobs slow and slow in general

Postby Chris Armstrong » Tue, Jan 12 2016, 6:30PM

RAM has been received and installed. it seems to be a little bit quicker. i will monitor as it progresses as we are in our quiet period.

thanks all for your help

User avatar
Brad McIntosh
Guru Member
Posts: 480
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 6:59PM
Company Name: CNC Automation
Location: St. Zotique, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Cnc is loading jobs slow and slow in general

Postby Brad McIntosh » Fri, Jan 15 2016, 8:47AM

I am not sure if it has been suggested yet, but...

If you are NOT using the "Recut" feature, set the "Keep Recut History" to 0 days and [Clean] the existing History file. The behind the scenes management of this HISTORY database as well as its growing size can slow things down.

It should be noted that after you load a TWD and you perform a [Nest X] or [Nest Y], Control Nesting adds the "new" information to the "Recut History" even if the job is not written to CNC.

Chris Armstrong
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue, May 19 2015, 7:44PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Country: AUSTRALIA

Re: Cnc is loading jobs slow and slow in general

Postby Chris Armstrong » Wed, Jan 27 2016, 6:55PM

hi brad,

if we need to recut parts we simply reload the program again. so by what your saying we would have alot of those files there as since ive been here ive not known about the recut option or files. so deleting those files as you said would make a difference as there would be quite literally 100s of them.

what are the steps that are required to clear them?

User avatar
Brad McIntosh
Guru Member
Posts: 480
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 6:59PM
Company Name: CNC Automation
Location: St. Zotique, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Cnc is loading jobs slow and slow in general

Postby Brad McIntosh » Thu, Jan 28 2016, 8:12AM

Chris,

In the Control Nesting [Settings] dialog, set the "Keep Recut History" to 0 days and [Clean] the existing History file.

Clearing RECUT History.jpg
Clearing RECUT History

Chris Armstrong
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue, May 19 2015, 7:44PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Country: AUSTRALIA

Re: Cnc is loading jobs slow and slow in general

Postby Chris Armstrong » Thu, Jan 28 2016, 7:03PM

hi brad,

cool thank you for that information, i will set that and see how it operates. if im correct that there is lots there it should be alot better.

thanks again

Chris Armstrong
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue, May 19 2015, 7:44PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Country: AUSTRALIA

Re: Cnc is loading jobs slow and slow in general

Postby Chris Armstrong » Wed, Feb 03 2016, 1:49AM

ok we have some good news, the cnc is loading jobs remarkably faster than it was.

thanks to all of you guys. your help has been much appreciated

:beer:


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests