customising cnc code

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Chris Armstrong
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue, May 19 2015, 7:44PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Country: AUSTRALIA

customising cnc code

Postby Chris Armstrong » Mon, Nov 30 2015, 8:04PM

when sending down jobs to cnc and nesting it then writing the cnc file, with parts im using we may need to cut 1 or 3 identicle parts depending on situation is there a way i can adjust the cnc file to ask if we require 1, 2 or 3 so the quantity of the parts are part of the cnc programme? or is that too far into the programming side of things?

just our benchtop joining cnc file asks what we want and we can select the options given. just unsure how hard it would be to setup. as it may be a feature i could use on later products that we are offering

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: ProSource of Amarillo
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: customising cnc code

Postby Kerry Fullington » Tue, Dec 01 2015, 7:31AM

Chris,

When you load the job into Control Nesting, you can right click on the quantity of any part or cabinet and change that quantity before you nest the .twd.

Chris Armstrong
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue, May 19 2015, 7:44PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Country: AUSTRALIA

Re: customising cnc code

Postby Chris Armstrong » Wed, Dec 02 2015, 6:20PM

yeh i know you can do that,

we just want to use the cnc file instead of having to nest it in all the time. we have a work around so its fine was just seeing how hard it would be to do

Clint Buechlein
Thermwood Team
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri, May 15 2015, 1:21PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corp
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: customising cnc code

Postby Clint Buechlein » Thu, Dec 03 2015, 9:41AM

Chris Armstrong wrote:yeh i know you can do that,

we just want to use the cnc file instead of having to nest it in all the time. we have a work around so its fine was just seeing how hard it would be to do


Just so we are clear on terminology, the CNC file is what is generated by Control Nesting. It is the file that contains all the G and M code. The .twd is what is generated by eCabinets and loaded into Control Nesting.

For example, if you created a cabinet that had shelf pin holes from top to bottom with only one shelf, after loading the .twd into Control Nesting you can do as Kerry suggested and change quantity of the shelves so you can have additional shelves for the cabinet. Then the additional shelves will be nested with the rest of the cabinet. You cannot change a quantity within the CNC code as it is written for the parts within a full sheet. The CNC code does not optimize the parts on sheets, that's the job of Control Nesting.

However, a custom program can be created to cut out a part that requests number of parts to make, dimensions of the part, and dimensions of your material. It does not however pull any information from eCabinets, it is specific part program. If you are interested in something of that nature contact the programming department at program@thermwood.com with details of what you would like created and they can get you a quote.

-Clint-

Chris Armstrong
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue, May 19 2015, 7:44PM
Company Name: Classic Cabinetry
Country: AUSTRALIA

Re: customising cnc code

Postby Chris Armstrong » Sun, Dec 06 2015, 9:05PM

hi clint,

thanks for getting back, a program isn't really required was more of research as to see if it could be done from the cnc file created. as it would not be solely used for this particular part and if we were to get a program it would be for that part only.
thanks for the description it helps to understand what can and cannot be done with the cnc file. i was researching elsewhere how it could be done but as you stated it isnt possible to tell the cnc file the quantity without using control nesting.

thanks

chris

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1260
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: customising cnc code

Postby Josh Rayburn » Mon, Dec 07 2015, 7:47AM

Hi Clint,
It's not entirely impossible actually.
If you ran your machine in incremental mode instead of absolute mode, you could use some AFL with loops to arrange multiple parts on a sheet using a single piece of gcode. You wouldn't have a printout of a nest, and you might have to shift X or Y manually, but it could be done.
Hope this helps,
jnr
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests