snap resolution

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Ralph Balanik
Senior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri, Jul 30 2010, 5:33PM
Company Name: Ralph Balanik
Country: CANADA

snap resolution

Postby Ralph Balanik » Tue, Dec 15 2015, 8:37AM

Good morning,
I am struggling a bit when I try to add dimensions in line drawing editor. Is there a way to tone down resolution or to adjust the pickbox in line editor so that it snaps to the proper place with a little less fuss. When I try to dimension cabinets the pickbox always snaps to a corner of a door instead of a cabinet so I have to zoom in and out in order to make sure it snaps to the right place. I can do it but Iam trying to reduce the time and effort it takes to dimension a drawing. It is easy for me to interrpret what a number with four decimal places means when I have created the drawing but it confuses anyone who is looking at the drawing and trying to install the cabinets. Any help would be appreciated.

I would hope in a future release that dimension lines might be automated so that they could be selected by cabinet, wall, windows, doors etc. and be toggled on or off( in addition to having full manual control :D ). I apologize for putting in a wish list item on the forum.

tim lucas
Guru Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu, Nov 29 2007, 5:18PM
Company Name: Tim Lucas Custom Woodworks LLC
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: bell, florida
Contact:

Re: snap resolution

Postby tim lucas » Tue, Dec 15 2015, 5:26PM

The only thing I can think of is in the "Drafting Parameters" you could set Round to nearest inch = 1.0
Capture.PNG

right click on page for Drafting Parameters

Maybe that will help

Tim
HP Desktop
i5 2400 @ 3.10 GHz
8.0 G Ram
Win 7 Pro
Nvidia Quadro NVS 290

Blessed is the man who finds wisdom,
the man who gains understanding.

Scott Marshburn
Guru Member
Posts: 744
Joined: Sat, Mar 05 2011, 7:29AM
Company Name: Heritage WoodWorks
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Jacksonville Nc
Contact:

Re: snap resolution

Postby Scott Marshburn » Tue, Dec 15 2015, 5:43PM

Hi Ralph. You can hide the doors and/or any other part by clicking on part then select the parts to hide. After you have selected the parts Right click and select hide. You can unhide them after you are finished. Just right click and select show hidden items.
As for the decimals. You can change the settings while in line drawings to inches and fractions or in metric check round to nearest mm. After you are finished you can return to the room, batch or cabinet editor and change the settings back to your original settings. Everything should stay as is in line drawings.
Yes! Oh Yes! I Think We Are Going to make It!
https://www.youtube.com/user/ecabinetstips

Ralph Balanik
Senior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri, Jul 30 2010, 5:33PM
Company Name: Ralph Balanik
Country: CANADA

Re: snap resolution

Postby Ralph Balanik » Wed, Dec 16 2015, 1:51PM

Good afternoon,
Tim, I tried your suggestion and it worked except that the roundoff is too far the other way :D . Scott, I tried your method and found it to be very quick and effective. Thankyou both.


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests