Door Materials

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Jordan Skappak
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed, Feb 01 2012, 3:08PM
Company Name: Rainbow Contractors
Country: CANADA

Door Materials

Postby Jordan Skappak » Wed, Feb 01 2012, 5:32PM

Hi,

I have a quick question about changing door materials. Basically, I am looking to change door materials/edging globally across batched cabinets/layouts(havent played with this one much yet).

So far however I have found no way to change door material at all, aside from bringing each cabinet into the door editor -> deleting that door -> opening my default door -> changing the materials -> saving it as a new door -> make this door my new default ->placing the new door back on the cabinet.

The box colors were easy enough to change, however for my purposes, the box could stay white forever, so long as I can easily change door colors as the doors are whatever the customer wants.

I am new to these forums and to E-cabinets so go easy on me. I searched the forums for similar threads and ive gotten the impression that changing door materials is not as easy as I'm thinking it should be.

Am I missing something?

Rick Palechuk
Wizard Member
Posts: 1896
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 7:54PM
Company Name: Milltech Millworks Ltd.
Country: CANADA
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Re: Door Materials

Postby Rick Palechuk » Wed, Feb 01 2012, 8:03PM

Hi Jordan, while in Batch, check the cabinet, or cabinets you want to change. Then hover over your fly-out menu, select Adj. Features. From there you can select from the menu the changes you want. I don't think the cabinet material itself can be changed in Batch. Hope this helps.

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1263
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: Door Materials

Postby Josh Rayburn » Thu, Feb 02 2012, 7:53AM

Hi guys,
You can change the doors and drawer fronts from that "adj features" button and you can change the sheet stock of all the batch cabinets by clicking on "change sheet stock" at the top of the batch list.
Even if they are 'slab doors' which are from sheet stock, they must be changed by the 'adj features' button which will prompt you to designate the door you want in the 'door and drawer front designer' dialog that follows.
jnr
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

JohnLashuay
Guru Member
Posts: 645
Joined: Mon, Nov 20 2006, 3:39PM
Company Name: Rylex Custom Cabinetry-Close
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Pine Island, New York
Contact:

Re: Door Materials

Postby JohnLashuay » Thu, Feb 02 2012, 8:41AM

This is good to know!
Rylex Custom Cabinetry & Closets
http://www.rylexonline.com
Thermwood CS 43

Rick Palechuk
Wizard Member
Posts: 1896
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 7:54PM
Company Name: Milltech Millworks Ltd.
Country: CANADA
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Re: Door Materials

Postby Rick Palechuk » Thu, Feb 02 2012, 10:34AM

Josh, so I'm sitting here staring at it, didn't even realize it was a clickable button. learn something new every day. :wink:

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1263
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: Door Materials

Postby Josh Rayburn » Thu, Feb 02 2012, 10:41AM

So do I Rick, I don't know if you saw the post but I recently discovered the right click option in the main cabinet editor for "construction" which allows you to change the joinery on a part without going into the editor. (ex. a fixed shelf)
I asked how long it has been there and Scott said since he fell off his dinosaur and broke his wooden underwear! :lol:
It has been there staring at me all this time!!
jnr :beer:
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

Jordan Skappak
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed, Feb 01 2012, 3:08PM
Company Name: Rainbow Contractors
Country: CANADA

Re: Door Materials

Postby Jordan Skappak » Fri, Feb 03 2012, 9:15AM

Well now, this is exactly what I was looking for. I don't even have to save the door as a new door, I can just change the materials on a generic door. Perfect. Thanks guys :D

Wally Schneeberger
Guru Member
Posts: 475
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 1:55PM

Re: Door Materials

Postby Wally Schneeberger » Fri, Feb 03 2012, 9:57AM

Jordan Skappak wrote:Well now, this is exactly what I was looking for. I don't even have to save the door as a new door, I can just change the materials on a generic door. Perfect. Thanks guys :D

If you want to show a few different door (or material) colours on a job you can open your job and change colours and do a Save as -- different name-- then close the original job and Don't save the changes and the original is still there unchanged. FWIW.
Image

Nat Wheatley
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 491
Joined: Wed, Apr 15 2009, 8:22PM
Company Name: Plymouth Custom Closets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Plympton, MA

Re: Door Materials

Postby Nat Wheatley » Sat, Feb 04 2012, 1:26PM

Re: 'the right click option in the main cabinet editor for "construction" which allows you to change the joinery on a part without going into the editor. (ex. a fixed shelf)'

Does this normally work? I just tried it on a fixed shelf and an adjustable shelf, and the entered changes didn't take...
http://www.plymouthcustomclosets.com

Dell Precision 490/ Intel Xeon 3.20 Ghz/3 GB RAM/ Nvidia Quadro FX 3450/ Windows XP, sp 3

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1263
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: Door Materials

Postby Josh Rayburn » Sat, Feb 04 2012, 1:32PM

Nat, did you right click on the part you were trying to change? I thought you had to select the part you wanted to change but Scott had corrected me recently and the right click has worked for me every time - it should trigger an immediate rebuild.
jnr
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

Nat Wheatley
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 491
Joined: Wed, Apr 15 2009, 8:22PM
Company Name: Plymouth Custom Closets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Plympton, MA

Re: Door Materials

Postby Nat Wheatley » Sat, Feb 04 2012, 1:45PM

Josh,

I've tried it both ways now a number or time now, and neither has worked. When I have a chance, I'll reboot and see if that helps any.

Nat
http://www.plymouthcustomclosets.com

Dell Precision 490/ Intel Xeon 3.20 Ghz/3 GB RAM/ Nvidia Quadro FX 3450/ Windows XP, sp 3

Nat Wheatley
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 491
Joined: Wed, Apr 15 2009, 8:22PM
Company Name: Plymouth Custom Closets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Plympton, MA

Re: Door Materials

Postby Nat Wheatley » Sat, Feb 04 2012, 2:15PM

FWIW, here's the cabinet I was working with.
Attachments
Test.hsf
(1.02 MiB) Downloaded 172 times
http://www.plymouthcustomclosets.com

Dell Precision 490/ Intel Xeon 3.20 Ghz/3 GB RAM/ Nvidia Quadro FX 3450/ Windows XP, sp 3

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4604
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: Double E Cabinets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: Door Materials

Postby Kerry Fullington » Sat, Feb 04 2012, 3:13PM

Nat,

I was able to change your center shelf to full dado using the right click menu without any paroblems.

Kerry

Nat Wheatley
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 491
Joined: Wed, Apr 15 2009, 8:22PM
Company Name: Plymouth Custom Closets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Plympton, MA

Re: Door Materials

Postby Nat Wheatley » Sat, Feb 04 2012, 3:34PM

I just restarted my computer and still no luck. I'm still in Beta 1, and will try Beta 2, though I don't think that's the issue. Weird.
http://www.plymouthcustomclosets.com

Dell Precision 490/ Intel Xeon 3.20 Ghz/3 GB RAM/ Nvidia Quadro FX 3450/ Windows XP, sp 3

Nat Wheatley
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 491
Joined: Wed, Apr 15 2009, 8:22PM
Company Name: Plymouth Custom Closets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Plympton, MA

Re: Door Materials

Postby Nat Wheatley » Sat, Feb 04 2012, 6:40PM

Tired Beta 2, and still nothing. It works fine for the other parts of the cabinet, not the fixed or adjustable shelves.
http://www.plymouthcustomclosets.com

Dell Precision 490/ Intel Xeon 3.20 Ghz/3 GB RAM/ Nvidia Quadro FX 3450/ Windows XP, sp 3


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests