Define hardware

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

User avatar
Audrey Racine
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 141
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 6:31AM
Location: Canada, Quebec city

Define hardware

Postby Audrey Racine » Fri, Jan 24 2014, 11:01AM

Hi,

I have a question. I created many hardware, i added new categorie and a lot of thing, i use it to make quote. I would like to transfer this to an other computer. So i click on princing, than export, i selected to expert everything. I toke the excel file that was created, i transfered it to the other computer. I opened eCabinet, i went into define hardware, i cliked on pricing, i clicked on import, select my file. Than it says i need to click on ok or apply. So i click on ok, the window closed, i click on apply, but nothing happend... I am not able to transfer all the hardware i created. Does some one knows how to do it?

Thank you!

Rick Deskins
Thermwood Team
Posts: 828
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:47PM
Company Name: Thermwood
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Thermwood

Re: Define hardware

Postby Rick Deskins » Fri, Jan 24 2014, 11:16AM

You could copy this file over the other computer. It contains all the hardware information.

C:\ProgramData\Thermwood\eCabinet Systems\localstore\LocalStore.mdb

or for window xp

C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Thermwood\eCabinet Systems\LocalStore\LocalStore.mdb
Rick Deskins
eCabinet Systems Programmer
Dell Precision / Xeon E3-1240 / 8GB RAM/ AMD FirePro V4900

User avatar
Audrey Racine
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 141
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 6:31AM
Location: Canada, Quebec city

Re: Define hardware

Postby Audrey Racine » Sat, Jan 25 2014, 10:32AM

Hi Rick,

Thanks a lot it did work! The only thing is that all the pictures I associated to my hardware didn't follow... Do you know how I could work for that?

Thank you!

User avatar
Audrey Racine
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 141
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 6:31AM
Location: Canada, Quebec city

Re: Define hardware

Postby Audrey Racine » Sat, Jan 25 2014, 2:03PM

I have an other question regarding this. I have created a lot a slide in a new categorie. When I go into the door / drawer editor nothing appear. The only place I get add an hardware is in the main view in the right panel window, cabinet buy list. Is there any possibility to have acces to it in the door / drawer editor?

Thank you!
Attachments
Hardware.jpg

Dennis Englert

Re: Define hardware

Postby Dennis Englert » Mon, Jan 27 2014, 8:27AM

The feature that you were trying to use for the hardware list is intended for updating things like unit cost or other data. The spreadsheet is exported with a code that is shown on top of the spreadsheet. That code must match the code on the computer that it is being imported on. The new or second computer did not create that file, thus it could not be imported.

Instead, use the File>Backup and File>Restore feature. You first need to setup the File>Backup and Restore Settings on each computer. The first computer would identify where the backup is being stored, such as USB drive. The second computer would identify the source, which would be that same USB drive. Then it's just a matter of Backup from the first computer, then Restore on the second. That would have taken your hardware database and any other data files you had created unless you filter them out.

With regards to your drawer slides. There is a category for slides, so that is where you would need to place them. As you've found, if you put them in a category of your choosing, then you have to add those manually. If you add them to the Slide category, then the software automatically adds them to the buy list in the required quantities. So in this case, whenever possibly, use the categories that are available.

Dennis

User avatar
Audrey Racine
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 141
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 6:31AM
Location: Canada, Quebec city

Re: Define hardware

Postby Audrey Racine » Mon, Jan 27 2014, 3:22PM

Hi Dennis,

Thanks a lot for your answer.

I tried the backup thing but when I transferred it to the other computer I get this: see picture attached. I try many time but always get the same thing. Does someone know how to solve this problem?

Thank you!

Audrey
Attachments
problème 2.jpg
problème 1.jpg

Dennis Englert

Re: Define hardware

Postby Dennis Englert » Tue, Jan 28 2014, 7:57AM

I sent you a PM

Dennis


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests