Version 6 install location?

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

User avatar
Dale Wills
Senior Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon, Oct 10 2005, 11:09PM
Company Name: none
Country: AUSTRALIA
Location: Camperdown, Victoria, Australia

Version 6 install location?

Postby Dale Wills » Sun, Feb 07 2010, 12:20AM

Can somewhere please explain to me why V6 eCabinets has been installed in a new location to the previous install. When I was installing it I was never given an option as to where to install it and figured it would install straight over the top of the old version. Now it appears I have a double up of install locations. I am also missing material images and can't find where they are saved in the new install location. Any help much appreciated.
Dale

Glenn Warner
Senior Member
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 10:00AM
Company Name: Expressions in Wood
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: FLEMINGTON

Re: Version 6 install location?

Postby Glenn Warner » Sun, Feb 07 2010, 9:53AM

The main program should be in the same place, but the user files (cabs, jobs,etc) are put under user data. Materials are in program data/thermwood/ecabinetsystems. You can see where the user data is stored in the settings/preferences dialog and can change it to a location of your choosing.

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: ProSource of Amarillo
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Re: Version 6 install location?

Postby Kerry Fullington » Sun, Feb 07 2010, 10:18AM

Dale,

I think the new installation procedure was to deal with the security features found in Vista and Windows 7 operating systems. When Microsoft changes something everyone else must make adjustments.

Kerry

User avatar
Peter Walsh
Guru Member
Posts: 460
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 3:15PM
Location: Palm Springs, Ca
Contact:

Re: Version 6 install location?

Postby Peter Walsh » Sun, Feb 07 2010, 2:45PM

Kerry's message refers to an after-the-fact cleanup after V6 has placed files in a spot you don't want. Upgrade messages do not offer you the option of advising where you want your User data files to be placed. This makes a messy install/upgrade. I now have to move files after the fact.
regards,


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests