THM Desktop on 10 year old machine

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

David Egnoski
Senior Member
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 1:05PM
Company Name: Richmond Cabinet
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Delavan, WI

THM Desktop on 10 year old machine

Postby David Egnoski » Mon, Dec 04 2017, 10:32AM

I've purchased THM Desktop and can't run the sync program on my Windows XP control. Anyone using this on a machine like mine? Please PM me if you can.

Thank you.
Dave Egnoski
Richmond Cabinet & Millwork

User avatar
Jeremy Schiffer
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 956
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 9:36PM
Location: Carnesville, GA
Contact:

Re: THM Desktop on 10 year old machine

Postby Jeremy Schiffer » Tue, Dec 05 2017, 2:29PM

I'd like to know the answer to this as well. Been thinking about getting the desktop version to interface with our CS41.
http://www.corlanecabinetry.com

Intel Core i7-5820 3.3GHz, 16GB RAM, NVidia Quadro K2200 4GB, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit

David Egnoski
Senior Member
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 1:05PM
Company Name: Richmond Cabinet
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Delavan, WI

Re: THM Desktop on 10 year old machine UPDATE

Postby David Egnoski » Fri, Dec 08 2017, 3:18PM

With a little help from Thermwood, we resolved the problem I was having. The desktop version has all my settings and tooling from the control.

I would still like to hear from those that have been using the desktop version for a while. Have you encountered any issues running programs created on the desktop version?
Dave Egnoski

Richmond Cabinet & Millwork

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1262
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: THM Desktop on 10 year old machine

Postby Josh Rayburn » Thu, Dec 14 2017, 8:02AM

Dave,
We have been running THM Desktop instead of using CN at the controller for years. It works great. No issues.
Josh
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

David Egnoski
Senior Member
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 1:05PM
Company Name: Richmond Cabinet
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Delavan, WI

Re: THM Desktop on 10 year old machine

Postby David Egnoski » Thu, Dec 14 2017, 9:18AM

Thanks Josh. Ran my first job out of THM Desktop yesterday and no issues. It saved me a whole bunch of time.

Do you export from THM to the desktop version when tooling changes?
Dave Egnoski

Richmond Cabinet & Millwork

User avatar
Jeremy Schiffer
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 956
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 9:36PM
Location: Carnesville, GA
Contact:

Re: THM Desktop on 10 year old machine

Postby Jeremy Schiffer » Thu, Dec 14 2017, 2:06PM

My next question is, how does one go about purchasing it? It doesn't seem to be referenced anywhere on the Thermwood website that I can find.
http://www.corlanecabinetry.com

Intel Core i7-5820 3.3GHz, 16GB RAM, NVidia Quadro K2200 4GB, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit

Clint Buechlein
Thermwood Team
Posts: 182
Joined: Fri, May 15 2015, 1:21PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corp
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: THM Desktop on 10 year old machine

Postby Clint Buechlein » Thu, Dec 14 2017, 3:58PM

Jeremy Schiffer wrote:My next question is, how does one go about purchasing it? It doesn't seem to be referenced anywhere on the Thermwood website that I can find.


You can contact Pat Dauby for pricing and information. (812)937-4476 ext 217, or email at PNDauby@thermwood.com.

-Clint-

User avatar
Jeremy Schiffer
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 956
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 9:36PM
Location: Carnesville, GA
Contact:

Re: THM Desktop on 10 year old machine

Postby Jeremy Schiffer » Fri, Dec 15 2017, 10:15AM

Thanks Clint, I've sent Pat an email.
http://www.corlanecabinetry.com

Intel Core i7-5820 3.3GHz, 16GB RAM, NVidia Quadro K2200 4GB, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit

Forrest Chapman
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1094
Joined: Mon, May 30 2005, 2:26PM
Location: Anderson SC.
Contact:

Re: THM Desktop on 10 year old machine

Postby Forrest Chapman » Fri, Dec 15 2017, 2:51PM

Hi David, I don't use the sync for various reasons. What I do is make all my tooling the max size at the desktop version. IE: the 3/8" compression for the outline tool is always set at .375". It can be whatever size under that it needs to be at the controller and offsets will compensate for it. Same goes for pocketing tools. Drill bits are always consistently sized since we don't sharpen them. I've yet to run into a problem with that.

Forrest

David Egnoski
Senior Member
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 1:05PM
Company Name: Richmond Cabinet
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Delavan, WI

Re: THM Desktop on 10 year old machine

Postby David Egnoski » Fri, Dec 15 2017, 3:31PM

Thanks for the tip, Forrest. I'm enjoying how quickly I can nest, print and create the cnc file with the desktop version.
Dave Egnoski

Richmond Cabinet & Millwork

Forrest Chapman
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1094
Joined: Mon, May 30 2005, 2:26PM
Location: Anderson SC.
Contact:

Re: THM Desktop on 10 year old machine

Postby Forrest Chapman » Fri, Dec 15 2017, 5:26PM

It absolutely saves processing time. I have a 15 year old controller that runs code fine but gets bogged down when trying to nest large jobs. Plus you can process the next job while you're running a job. The other issue I started running into is finding printer drivers for new printers that work with windows 2000.

Forrest


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests