Ramp-in on arc issue

Discuss Thermwood 3-axis Machinery, Controller, and Software.

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Rich Kasten

User avatar
Jeremy Schiffer
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 956
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 9:36PM
Location: Carnesville, GA
Contact:

Ramp-in on arc issue

Postby Jeremy Schiffer » Fri, Sep 26 2014, 2:26PM

This is with CN 5.79. The part is supposed to be a 1/4 circle. The arc cut through the center of it is the ramp-in created by CN. It started in the lower left and ramped to the upper left, and then proceeded to cut normally from the upper left. (conventional cut direction).

Let me know if you need the job file or any other info. Thanks!
Attachments
IMG00179-20140926-1518.jpg
http://www.corlanecabinetry.com

Intel Core i7-5820 3.3GHz, 16GB RAM, NVidia Quadro K2200 4GB, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit

Daniel Odom
Senior Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu, Oct 20 2011, 12:52PM
Company Name: Carlton Kitchen and Bath
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: Ramp-in on arc issue

Postby Daniel Odom » Sat, Sep 27 2014, 10:55AM

Was the program generated from an ecabinet file or dxf?

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1262
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: Ramp-in on arc issue

Postby Josh Rayburn » Mon, Sep 29 2014, 6:47AM

Jeremy, can you post an export file?
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

User avatar
Jeremy Schiffer
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 956
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 9:36PM
Location: Carnesville, GA
Contact:

Re: Ramp-in on arc issue

Postby Jeremy Schiffer » Mon, Sep 29 2014, 9:28AM

It was created with ecabs, from a cabinet deck (i.e. not a display panel.) There are "left" and "right" versions of this. The lefts cut like this, and the rights cut properly. Unfortunately I can't get an export file right now because the machine is running. If this can't be duplicated by cutting an arc out of a deck, then I wouldn't worry about it, probably just a gremlin. But if it can be duplicated by using ecabs to cut an arc from a cabinet deck, then I figure Thermwood would want to know.

Here's an drawing of how the left and right pieces cut:
Attachments
arc cuts.jpg
http://www.corlanecabinetry.com

Intel Core i7-5820 3.3GHz, 16GB RAM, NVidia Quadro K2200 4GB, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit

User avatar
Josh Rayburn
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1262
Joined: Wed, Jul 01 2009, 2:19PM
Company Name: Halls Edge Inc
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Stamford, CT USA
Contact:

Re: Ramp-in on arc issue

Postby Josh Rayburn » Mon, Sep 29 2014, 12:59PM

I didn't see the "turn cabinet decks into shark-fins" feature in the latest update but now I will have to try it :P
Unfortunately I don't think there's much anybody can do without the export file.
Josh Rayburn
Hall's Edge, Inc.
CNC Machining Service


Dell Precision T3400
Win7 Professional 64 Bit/Core2Duo E8400 3ghz/4 GB Ram/NVIDIA Quadro FX570

User avatar
Jeremy Schiffer
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 956
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 9:36PM
Location: Carnesville, GA
Contact:

Re: Ramp-in on arc issue

Postby Jeremy Schiffer » Mon, Sep 29 2014, 2:29PM

I didn't see the "turn cabinet decks into shark-fins" feature in the latest update


LOL...me either, but it is a rather nice looking thing! :lol:

We're so slammed right now, I can't get to the machine to piddle with it...a GREAT problem to have.

Since my last post, more of those parts got cut, only they were made from cabinet tops, not decks, and they did just perfect (left and right.)

SO.....I'm gonna just chalk it up to gremlins, and if it manifests again, I'll maybe have more time to troubleshoot.

My next little issue to delve into is the blind dados: The initial cut on them seems to be over-running by 3.092mm, then backing up, and continuing the cut normally. It is in the G-code that way, so should be easy to reproduce. Have you noticed any such thing?
http://www.corlanecabinetry.com

Intel Core i7-5820 3.3GHz, 16GB RAM, NVidia Quadro K2200 4GB, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit

User avatar
Brad McIntosh
Guru Member
Posts: 484
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 6:59PM
Company Name: CNC Automation
Location: St. Zotique, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Ramp-in on arc issue

Postby Brad McIntosh » Mon, Sep 29 2014, 3:08PM

My guess is that the issue is due to the total loss of one or both of the "sides" when you filleted them.

I would say that if you left one or two thousandth of an inch on the two edges, Control Nesting (CN) would be able to correctly determine the lead ins/outs. So, if you are starting with a 12" x 12" square, simply fillet the corner by a rad of 11.998. That will leave a 0.002" "flat" or straight segment on each side. The 0.002" "flat" will not be noticeable but should give CN what it needs.

Hope this helps...

User avatar
Scott G Vaal
Thermwood Team
Posts: 1741
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 12:44PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corporation
Location: Thermwood Corp: Dale, Indiana
Contact:

Re: Ramp-in on arc issue

Postby Scott G Vaal » Thu, Oct 16 2014, 12:45PM

Jeremy,

I believe I have reproduce this issue (or at least similar to it) and have added it to the list to get resolved. However, I still would like to have the export from your machine with the troubled twd loaded so I can ensure we are completely resolving the issue (with your settings). If you can find time, please attach an export (or send to cabinets@thermwood.com Attn: Scott V.).
Regards,

Scott Vaal
-Thermwood/eCabinet Systems-
Dell Precision / Xeon E3-1240 / 8GB RAM /NVIDIA Quadro K2000

User avatar
Jeremy Schiffer
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 956
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 9:36PM
Location: Carnesville, GA
Contact:

Re: Ramp-in on arc issue

Postby Jeremy Schiffer » Wed, Oct 22 2014, 2:44PM

Hi Scott, thanks for looking at it. We have indeed had the same issue on a couple of other arc pieces. I'm attaching the export file. (of course, change the .txt extension back to .cab)
Attachments
ControlNest5-79.txt
(410.08 KiB) Downloaded 119 times
http://www.corlanecabinetry.com

Intel Core i7-5820 3.3GHz, 16GB RAM, NVidia Quadro K2200 4GB, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit

Will Williamson
Guru Member
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu, Dec 08 2005, 6:10PM
Company Name: Williamson Finewoodwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Capac MI
Contact:

Re: Ramp-in on arc issue

Postby Will Williamson » Wed, Oct 22 2014, 3:29PM

Should I be holding off on installing 5.79?
Will

http://www.willmade.com

KEG/Intel Core i 7 CPU K875 @ 2.93 GHZ/12G Ram
Dual boot XP PRO/Windows 7 Nvidia Quatro 600 1Gig Ram

Forrest Chapman
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1094
Joined: Mon, May 30 2005, 2:26PM
Location: Anderson SC.
Contact:

Re: Ramp-in on arc issue

Postby Forrest Chapman » Wed, Oct 22 2014, 3:52PM

Will, this is a problem on parts with radius cuts that are being skinned. It has something to do with the cut opposite direction on skin pass. The issue is documented and I would think they are working on it along with another problem I found in profile modeler and mdf doors.


Forrest

Will Williamson
Guru Member
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu, Dec 08 2005, 6:10PM
Company Name: Williamson Finewoodwork
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Capac MI
Contact:

Re: Ramp-in on arc issue

Postby Will Williamson » Wed, Oct 22 2014, 5:00PM

Thanks Forest, I am not having any problem at the moment. So I am going to hold back
Will

http://www.willmade.com

KEG/Intel Core i 7 CPU K875 @ 2.93 GHZ/12G Ram
Dual boot XP PRO/Windows 7 Nvidia Quatro 600 1Gig Ram

User avatar
Jeremy Schiffer
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 956
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 9:36PM
Location: Carnesville, GA
Contact:

Re: Ramp-in on arc issue

Postby Jeremy Schiffer » Thu, Oct 23 2014, 2:03PM

These parts weren't being skinned, they were cut in one pass. So far, we've had no problems with the new skin feature.
http://www.corlanecabinetry.com

Intel Core i7-5820 3.3GHz, 16GB RAM, NVidia Quadro K2200 4GB, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit

User avatar
Jeremy Schiffer
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 956
Joined: Tue, May 10 2005, 9:36PM
Location: Carnesville, GA
Contact:

Re: Ramp-in on arc issue

Postby Jeremy Schiffer » Thu, Oct 23 2014, 2:16PM

Haha... shoulda waited before I said that. After I made that post, I went to the router which was just finishing a sheet with radius cuts and double pass, and it had neglected to make the final cut-through pass on one of the parts. I'm guessing this is the issue to which you're referring, Forrest.
http://www.corlanecabinetry.com

Intel Core i7-5820 3.3GHz, 16GB RAM, NVidia Quadro K2200 4GB, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit

User avatar
Gerry A Brown
Senior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri, May 27 2005, 8:56AM
Company Name: Old Style Woodwork
Country: CANADA
Location: Southern Alberta

Re: Ramp-in on arc issue

Postby Gerry A Brown » Fri, Oct 24 2014, 8:01AM

There is a setting to not do the finish pass on parts under a given size in CN.
I scratched my head for a couple of days before finding that one when cutting small drawer parts. :wall: If your parts are a good size it is likely not that setting.

Gerry


Return to “Thermwood 3-Axis Machinery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest