Edgebanding on doors

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

Post Reply
Forrest Chapman
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1233
Joined: Mon, May 30 2005, 2:26PM
Location: Anderson SC.
Contact:

Edgebanding on doors

Post by Forrest Chapman »

When I create a batch file of door fronts with edgebanding from the door/drawer display menu and change the thickness of the banding when writing the twd it doesn't change the size. When I do the same with a cabinet part it's fine.

Forrest
Forrest Chapman
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1233
Joined: Mon, May 30 2005, 2:26PM
Location: Anderson SC.
Contact:

Re: Edgebanding on doors

Post by Forrest Chapman »

I should note it has to do with changing the banding thickness to 0 when writing the twd. We premill the edge thickness off so it takes it off twice and under sizes the fronts.

Forrest
Mark McCallum
Guru Member
Posts: 509
Joined: Thu, Jun 16 2005, 7:53PM
Location: Sydney Aust

Re: Edgebanding on doors

Post by Mark McCallum »

Hi Forrest

I think the edge band thing is associated with a few gremlins
Maybe you have tracked it down. :D

Do you have a edge band material labeled none or do you use the system [None]?

I had a material named none, and even now I can create a edge band material named None with zero thickness and add it to my materials.
As below for illustration.

I have deleted my material none, and replaced it with another name with a zero thickness, I cant say that I've noticed any less problems. But perhaps eventually all my units with none will get overwritten with the system none and get smoothed out.
None.png
Here is another post on edge banding and I still get the random message, edge banding has wrong body.

viewtopic.php?p=82719#p82719

Mark
Clint Buechlein
Thermwood Team
Posts: 698
Joined: Fri, May 15 2015, 1:21PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corp
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: Edgebanding on doors

Post by Clint Buechlein »

Forrest,

I'll pass along to software engineers. I'm not 100% on how it all should work but there may be some other issues. Thanks for letting us know.

-Clint-
Clint Buechlein
Thermwood Team
Posts: 698
Joined: Fri, May 15 2015, 1:21PM
Company Name: Thermwood Corp
Country: UNITED STATES

Re: Edgebanding on doors

Post by Clint Buechlein »

Forrest,

This has not been a feature for Display Doors/Drawers at all, either by using the Change Materials or Global Item Modification. Software engineers are looking at implementing it.

-Clint-
Forrest Chapman
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1233
Joined: Mon, May 30 2005, 2:26PM
Location: Anderson SC.
Contact:

Re: Edgebanding on doors

Post by Forrest Chapman »

Well that's good to know. So when writing the twd it won't change the thickness to 0" either? I guess I'll have to change the banding to a 0" thickness when selecting the door or drawer fronts.

Forrest
Post Reply