inset door bead

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

dan fentie
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon, Nov 12 2007, 8:37PM
Location: london ontario

inset door bead

Postby dan fentie » Wed, Nov 14 2007, 5:00PM

New to the software, can you do an inset molding on face frames for inset doors? and if so how?

Geo Noeth
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri, Jul 15 2005, 6:35PM
Location: Charlotte NC

Postby Geo Noeth » Thu, Nov 15 2007, 5:14AM

Dan,

The answer to your question is yes. It is done in the part editor. Probably not the first thing I would want to tackle if just beginning to learn the software.

dan fentie
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon, Nov 12 2007, 8:37PM
Location: london ontario

Postby dan fentie » Thu, Nov 15 2007, 8:19AM

that is good to hear, I might be new but I am learning fast, I used CV for 6 years and was very proficient in it, I use to build thousands of mantels per year and had CV set up to do amazing things with my designs. China has consumed the mantel business in north america, so I am doing mostly kitchens now and not locked into CV and all there upgrade charges, I have also fininshed 3 days of training at CNC Automation. Doing it in the part editor does sound very time consuming if you are talking about a whole kitchen. I was thinking of designing a door that has the bead on it for renderings.

User avatar
George Davidson
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1585
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 1:16PM
Location: Norwood Pa.

Postby George Davidson » Thu, Nov 15 2007, 9:37AM

Hi Dan
This is the way I do it for rendering
I have the frames set up all the time(I can resizes them anytime any size)
Take everything off just keep the face frame_3/8\"w and keep depth at 24\"
Attachments
Shot2.jpg
Shot2.jpg (133.36 KiB) Viewed 3722 times
Beaded Cabinet D.jpg
Beaded Cabinet D.jpg (86.36 KiB) Viewed 3722 times
B.jpg
B.jpg (155.55 KiB) Viewed 3722 times

User avatar
George Davidson
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1585
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 1:16PM
Location: Norwood Pa.

Postby George Davidson » Thu, Nov 15 2007, 9:45AM

How I set the frames in
and how I get door opening size
Attachments
Back .jpg
Back .jpg (134.53 KiB) Viewed 3718 times
Shot3.jpg
Shot3.jpg (50.36 KiB) Viewed 3718 times
Shot1.jpg
Shot1.jpg (107.44 KiB) Viewed 3718 times

Mike Seisser
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 544
Joined: Wed, Feb 22 2006, 11:40PM
Company Name: NCB Inc.
Country: UNITED STATES

Postby Mike Seisser » Thu, Nov 15 2007, 11:11AM

Dan,

I know some shops actually cut the bead on the face frame, some shops add a beaded molding. I do a combination to avoid haunch cuts.

Are you looking for the quickest way to graphically represent the bead? If so, take the rails and stiles into the part editor and run a simple radius tool along the edge, making sure to create a path to start/stop where the rails intersect the stiles.

Click here to read a post from a year ago covering this topic/process.

Mike
Proper Planning Prevents Poor Production.

Joe Soto
Guru Member
Posts: 352
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 7:50PM
Company Name: Fancyridge Wood Products LLC
Location: Greensburg, Ky

Postby Joe Soto » Thu, Nov 15 2007, 12:43PM

Another way to show the bead as a molding and have it show up on the cut list is to take your seed cabinet to the face frame editor open construction settings, set add mid rail inset to negitive .375 left and right for 3/8 bead. On page 2 set the add mid stile and rail to .375 width, I change the material to one of a slightly different color fo it to show up better,hit ok. On your cabinet select an opening, add a mid stile, select the opening on the left of it and change the opening width to 0, add another, select the opening on the right of it set it to 0. Do the same to the mid rails. Repeat for any other openings. In the door editor set up whatever inset and gaps you like. This will give you a square edge but if you need to show a closeup of the molding you can take it to the part editor to shape and/or miter it. Save it as a new seed everything will resize.
Joe

Geo Noeth
Senior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri, Jul 15 2005, 6:35PM
Location: Charlotte NC

Postby Geo Noeth » Thu, Nov 15 2007, 2:44PM

Dan,
Sorry if my original response insulted your ability. I don't know if you just learned anything but I sure did. Best of luck as you get your sea legs with e-cabs.

dan fentie
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon, Nov 12 2007, 8:37PM
Location: london ontario

Postby dan fentie » Fri, Nov 16 2007, 2:19PM

geo neoth
don't worry I was not insultated, and yes i did learn something, I love this forum.


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests