Poor Render Quality

Moderators: Jason Susnjara, Larry Epplin, Clint Buechlein, Scott G Vaal

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4614
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: Double E Cabinets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Poor Render Quality

Postby Kerry Fullington » Sun, Oct 21 2007, 3:02PM

I am working on some moldings for pediments and even though everything is created in eCabinets, the segments show in the rendered views. Imported curved or turned items also render poorly. This wasn't the case in version 4. What has changed?

Kerry
Attachments
curve.jpg
curve.jpg (159.89 KiB) Viewed 3669 times

Todd Miller

Postby Todd Miller » Mon, Oct 22 2007, 12:26PM

Kerry,
I am not aware of any changes to our rendering functions. Try turning up the level of detail under \"settings/preferences\". But I am not telling you anything you already know. I will check with our programmers on this one.

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4614
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: Double E Cabinets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Postby Kerry Fullington » Mon, Oct 22 2007, 12:38PM

Todd,
It seems like eCabinets used to create more segments to make a smoother render when you model something.
I also noticed that when I save geometry for a tool that I have created using a spline, When I open that geometry again the spline is now segmented lines and can't be used .

Kerry

Todd Miller

Postby Todd Miller » Mon, Oct 22 2007, 1:55PM

Kerry,
The programmers say that there may have been some adjustments to the tesselation factors to help with performance. Also, we will look into a means of offering this adjustment to the user in the future.

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4614
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: Double E Cabinets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Postby Kerry Fullington » Mon, Oct 22 2007, 2:06PM

Thanks Todd,
I can turn the curved moldings into display parts for rendered views. This will accomplish what I want for now. I would like to be able to toggle to get better quality in rendered views.

Kerry

Joe Dusel
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1117
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 9:40PM
Location: Vista, CA, U.S.A.
Contact:

Postby Joe Dusel » Mon, Oct 22 2007, 2:10PM

Kerry,

I'm surprised that you didn't realize that this was probably a problem with the \"tesselation factors\". That was the first thing that came to my mind. 8)

We need to be able to adjust the darn \"tesselation factors\" even if we are clueless about them.

Joe

Paul Huff
Junior Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu, May 19 2005, 12:32AM
Location: Lubbock, Texas

Postby Paul Huff » Mon, Oct 22 2007, 7:00PM

I like the bends you put into this Kerry. Nice work!

By the way tesselation factors control the number of lines in a 3D model. More lines use more memory and computer resourses but produce the smoothest look. I think programmers try to find a balance between performance and the final appearance.

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4614
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: Double E Cabinets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Postby Kerry Fullington » Mon, Oct 22 2007, 7:23PM

Joe,
I thought it was the tessellation factors all along but I didn't want to say anything.


Paul,
That isn't the correct curve for the piece yet. I was trying out the tool to see how it is going to mate with the straight moldings. I still have a little problem. I have already created eight tools to model this piece and still have at least three more plus some carvings.

I hope the programmers realize that as woodworkers we should never sacrifice quality for performance or profit. :wink:


Kerry

Michael Yeargain
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1738
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 8:33PM
Company Name: Timeless Cabinetry and Mantles
Location: South East
Contact:

Postby Michael Yeargain » Mon, Oct 22 2007, 8:55PM

Contrary to the most obscured belief regarding the tessellation factors there is a reality that needs to be addressed here. The scientific community dating back for years now it has been sporadically referring to this as the redundancy of chiliad.

This is an overbearing controversy compared to the never ending debate concerning the vectorization module. In fact it was quoted by a major leader in the scientific community, \"The graphical matrix is getting' a junk value in the display parts translation vector\"

Regardless of the outcome there is hope. Thermwood

Thanks for reading. :P
Windows 7 Pro/10 Pro 64 bit
AMD Phenom 9650 Quad-Core Processor 2.3Ghz 8GRAM 1TB
NVIDIA GeForce GT 220 1GB

Joe Dusel
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1117
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 9:40PM
Location: Vista, CA, U.S.A.
Contact:

Postby Joe Dusel » Mon, Oct 22 2007, 9:57PM

Thank you so much Michael for clarifying that. 8) It's like I always tell people, you don't need to be a rocket scientist to use eCabs. I have no problems and I only have a BS in engineering.

Joe

Rick Palechuk
Wizard Member
Posts: 1896
Joined: Wed, May 18 2005, 7:54PM
Company Name: Milltech Millworks Ltd.
Country: CANADA
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Postby Rick Palechuk » Tue, Oct 23 2007, 12:41AM

It looks to me like you also hold a BS in something Michael. :wink:

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Postby DanEpps » Tue, Oct 23 2007, 5:52AM

Hey Rick...I think Mike confused tessellation with tesla and got zapped :lol:

Michael Yeargain
eCabinets Beta Tester
Posts: 1738
Joined: Tue, May 17 2005, 8:33PM
Company Name: Timeless Cabinetry and Mantles
Location: South East
Contact:

Postby Michael Yeargain » Tue, Oct 23 2007, 6:12AM

I hold a BS in my home and sometimes on the net. But that is only acceptable if the people have accepted the credidation from my former school of HK.

It could have been the zap from a telsa but I was clearly out of my mind when I quoted the scientific leader; Scotty from the USS enterprise. There is merit.

Here is a quote from Larry Epplin refferencing this as well.

I did find the problem though. It has to do with the graphical matrix getting a junk value in the display objects translation vector. If an object gets loaded that does not have a pre-existing matrix (such as a cube which is generated on the fly) the problem occurs. This is why ... They have a pre-existing matrix.


You see. I am not crazy! :roll:
Windows 7 Pro/10 Pro 64 bit
AMD Phenom 9650 Quad-Core Processor 2.3Ghz 8GRAM 1TB
NVIDIA GeForce GT 220 1GB

User avatar
DanEpps
Wizard Member
Posts: 5852
Joined: Thu, Jul 28 2005, 10:18AM
Company Name: Dan Epps
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Rocky Face GA

Postby DanEpps » Tue, Oct 23 2007, 6:25AM

That doesn't prove you're not crazy...just that you and Larry are playing in the same sandbox :wink:

The attached shows how easy it is to hit the tesla switch when one means to hit the tessellation switch.
Attachments
Toggle Switches.jpg
Toggle Switches.jpg (19.75 KiB) Viewed 3473 times

User avatar
Kerry Fullington
Wizard Member
Posts: 4614
Joined: Mon, May 09 2005, 7:33PM
Company Name: Double E Cabinets
Country: UNITED STATES
Location: Amarillo, TX

Postby Kerry Fullington » Tue, Oct 23 2007, 6:44AM

While in high school, one of my science classes built a Tesla Coil. They did a demonstration on stage at school once but couldn't play with the coil much because at that time (late 60's) most of the houses still received their television signal via antennae and the arc from the coil gave off enough RF signal to destroy reception for blocks around the school. Science is great until it causes someone to miss \"As the World Turns\".

Kerry


Return to “eCabinet Systems Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests